We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Family Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lotus Family Hotel to your Saves list
Lotus Family Hotel
No.45, Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is one big advantage, right next to the train station and markets right at the front door. The rooms were clean and had everything that we needed. Staff were friendly. About 50% of the time there was no hot water which can be my only real complaint about the hotel. The wifi connections were good, beds reasonably comfortable and bathrooms were very clean. The breakfast voucher system did not really work for me, as often the restaurants were not open for breakfast at the time that I needed to leave the hotel, and for this reason I found myself eating breakfast elsewhere but for the price we payed we were very satisfied. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
29
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel has good location, it's easy to explore around, the room was large enough and clean.The breakfast was so so, issued the voucher at check in then show at restaurant in the vicinity,we lost our vouchers and had to explain at reception, it was complicated but all in all we felt ok with this hotel and recommend this to friend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Their location (some meters away the entrance of the Masjid Jamek LRT station in KL) is almost unsurpassed for exploring the city. Really convenient, above all expectations.
Breakfasts - the hotel is offering vouchers for some restaurant in the vicinity. No opinion: didn't have time to try one.
Rooms appeared good and clean, hotel staff helpful and efficient.
Room prices were quite attractive.
Wireless internet in rooms was adequate.
Soundproofing their room windows should really have been done better, especially given the early and late calls for prayer from several mosque minarets in the vicinity. Although a hotel guest who dislikes the air-conditioning would open the room windows anyway (so that soundproofing wouldn't work there too).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

A relatively nice hotel for the price, the location is great. We had to spend a night in KL before an early flight. However, unfortunately the staff said it was not possible to provide our complimentary breakfast an hour earlier as we had to leave early :( But again, for the price, it is an ok hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights.

The location is great. It is just next to the Masjid Jamek LRT station. You can go anywhere from here easily. You can also walk to many places in Kuala Lumpur. In the heart of Little India. Many Indian restaurants available to provide good quality and reasonable priced Indian food.

Good sound prove from the outside. Although outside the hotel is a busy area and next to the LRT station but you won't hear anything from the outside. But you will hear some noise from people closing and opening their doors on the same floor... Not really disturbing.

Our room has no windows. And so, after a long flight, this is a very good place to sleep in for as long as you like to recover from traveling.

The room has very good air-conditioning, bottle drinking water everyday, clean towels everyday, room cleaning everyday, tea making facilities and a few packets of biscuits provided everyday, wardrobe, safe box, IDD phone, shower gel and shampoo, good hot and cold shower, clean toilet, writing table and chair, good lighting, big TV with local channels, Indian channels, and a few English channels (movies, cartoons, sports and news). They have laundry service as well.

No problems leaving your things in the room as it was really safe within the hotel area with good hotel staff.

Simple breakfast included but we didn't take them as there were so many things to eat in Kuala Lumpur especially the China Town area about 10-15 minutes walk from here.

Great coffee at the O'Briens next door to the hotel but the sandwiches there is not great...

The LRT brings you to many places within Kuala Lumpur.

There are somem people sleeping on the balcony in Little India and China Town area but they don't disturb tourists, so no worry about that. But do hold on to your belongings on the streets, as snatch thieves do exist in Kuala Lumpur area. You can see there's sign on the streets saying "beware of snatch thieves".

It is not the cheapest place (promotional price for standard double room is about Ringgit Malaysian 140++) but it worths for what you get. Single room is slightly cheaper at Ringgit Malaysian 100++. Superior rooms are Ringgit Malaysian 20++ more but it is bigger room with windows. Some have nice views of the river.

Great value for comfortable stay.

Recommended if you are stopping by Kuala Lumpur for a few days.

The best thing is the super king size bed is super comfortable and the pillows are great! You will be guarantee a very comfortable sleep for sure.

hotel phone number - +603 26921881
email - lotus_mj@lotushotel.com.my

Up to date their website is not ready yet.

Hope you will have a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The location was excellent. Right next to the LRT, which easily linked us to the places which we wanted go to (KLCC, Berjaya Times square). The room was spacious and clean. Although we had to shift the furniture a bit to accomodate an additional bed. Service was basic - we had to make our own extra bed, which came at first only with a bedsheet and a pillow. We had to make additional requests for a comforter and an additional bedsheet.

There was no fridge in the room. We needed to keep some medicine cold and it was a good thing that we brought our own ice box. The staff kindly provided us with ice, though they could not provide a lot.

Breakfast was provided via a RM5 breakfast voucher for any of the coffeeshops (they call it restorans), and 6 vouchers were nearly enough for our group of 4A 5C. (We just had to top up about 5RM).

However, we had difficulties finding Chinese food but there was KFC and Macs nearby, although we were not keen on those. So we mainly ate elsewhere in KL.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I got this hotel via agoda.com and Lotus did not disappoint. It's right next to a subway station and the room I got was clean and awesome. I got a view of the stream and despite being right in Little India, it wasn't noisy. My room was clean and the bathroom was nice and big. The staff are also very nice as I got to check in quite early since I got in early in the morning.

My complaints with the place are minor, like more channels on cable and hand soap but I still give this hotel my highest rating and will stay here again should I visit KL in the future.

You can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Family Hotel

Address: No.45, Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Masjid India, you will be pampered with the abundance of shops selling traditional clothings and soveniers.The Masjid Jamek LRT Station is right beside our Hotel.Guests will be able to tour attraction spots such as the Twin Towers, Merdeka Square, K.L.Tower, China Town,National Monument and many more places with public transport that is so very easily avaialable right at our doorstep.At the Lotus Hotel, you will experience "HOSPITALITY IN A TRUE MALAYSIAN WAY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lotus Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Family Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.