We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Bukit Bintang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Furama Bukit Bintang to your Saves list
Furama Bukit Bintang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EXTRA 10% OFF & FREE WIFI
Ranked #47 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Feltham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Room was large, with good air conditioning. However, the room was not particularly clean. It looked clean, but I found a half eaten chocolate bar under the sofa and other items under the bed. Front desk was fairly slow during check in, but friendly. Surrounding area is poor, with not much in the immediate area. A short, cheap taxi ride away, however are great restaurants and bars. Nice pool area. Internet a little slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear toandfromtheairport,

Thank you for your recent visit to Furama Bukit Bintang

It is our objective to meet the expectations of our customers and we are sorry that in this particular case we have failed. The situation you encountered is certainly not the usual high standards of our hotel, and we have discussed your comments with our team in order to ensure this does not happen again. Please rest assured that our housekeeping staff concerned has been counseled and corrective training has been put in placed in order to avoid such a lapse in the future in terms of cleanliness.

On a separate note, we are very delighted that you find our room large and spacious and air-conditioning to your liking.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback and we very much hope that you will return again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    450
    246
    96
    60
See reviews for
266
357
84
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We are staying for 3 nights,and the hotel have a good location,service is average,price is average,but on the 8 floor they need to do some remodeling because the basin have stains,the vanity have stains and some ciment around and the wall papers are following from the wall close to the bathroom.so they need to do a deep cleaning on this room,but is a good and spacious room,don't recomend the back side ones because they have a terrible view of the old butik bintang.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Vyron 1974,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your positive review and feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location as well as services offered to you by our wonderful team that is constantly looking for opportunities to make each guest have memorable experience.

However, we are sorry we fell below your expectation on the housekeeping & maintenance of the room and we assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel online...big mistake. The rooms were filthy and out dated. The showers were terrible. Service was slow, they lost our booking and were very blazé about it. This hotel needs a serious clean.. Even if to only match the images that they use on their site.
The breakfast was good...something for everyone.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear MiEl M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate feedback from our esteemed guests as it provides us the opportunity to gauge our overall service delivery standard and products. It is with great disappointment to learn that on this occasion we have fallen short of your expectations.

Rest assured, all the issues concerned will be given due attention accordingly. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced throughout your stay here and we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just had 6 days in KL at the Furama-hotel it self is fair-old rooms but tidy. As for location, very old area that was unhygienic-dead rat carcass on foot paths on street. Strong smell of sewers. As for food in the hotel, it fails. From breakfast to lunch and dinner the selection only suites middle eastern and Muslin cultures. They advertise western culture food which is false. No bacon and eggs, fruit selection was poor, 2 x types only. Yoghurt selection only 2. As for the rest of the food it was not pleasant, curries and vegetables is not my chose for the morning. Lunch and dinner was much the same as breakfasts. The location of the hotel is in an area under major road construction, away from transport and has no views. The pool was nice, but it to closes for use at 8.00pm, so much for cooling off after a hot day. Look else where. I am one that do not complain, but this was not good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Routina 1983,

Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang.

Thank you for sharing your review and it seems that you weren't very pleased with the surrounding location of the hotel. Similar to any developing country, road works by the town council is being carried out in certain areas of the city. We have received positive feed backs from many reviewers that one of the hotel's strengths it its competitive location.

Our restaurant and in room dining menu have both Asian and western cuisine served at Spices restaurant as we caters for international clientele. I'm surprised that you mentioned that there were no eggs served during breakfast as we have life eggs station prepared instantly by the hotel's chefs.
We truly regret that, however we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us under better circumstances, in the near future!

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampit, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I arrived at the hotel at night, and very grateful thanks to the check-in staff who gave us a free upgrade to a suite. The rooms are very big but I do not understand why there is not have tooth brush, hairdryer and bath tub in suite room.
breakfast is very nice and very complete.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Wie T,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to know that you you had enjoyed your stay overall.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed the upgraded room though you were little disappointed that it didn't come with a bathtub. Our suite rooms comes with complete amenities and I'm surprised that there were not hairdryer & toothbrush in it which is something that we have to investigate further.

We are happy to hear that the buffet breakfast is to your liking. It is our pleasure to deliver our best service to you. We look forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff here are very friendly and efficient. They up graded us to a suite (from DeLuxe) which was spacious and clean. However, the toilet seat was broken and the shower would suddenly go Cold and then back to Hot. There were some nice mirrors but the only place to use the hair dryer was where the tea and coffee was?! There were 2 televisions but not one single International News Channel just CNBC, and not many other good channels either. We were looking forward to breakfast but it was disappointing although the fruit was excellent. Very little choice for those that do not want Nasi Lemak or other Asian delights. Coffee was lukewarm and the staff response was Zero! The location was quite good, 10 mins walk to Berjaya Times Square, although there are big road works on Jalan Pudu.
We doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Denis146,

Thank you for choosing Furama Bukit Bintang…and for taking the time to post this review. I am never proud to know that we failed to delight a guest but I am always grateful for feedback so that we may learn and improve.

I was sorry to read your comments regarding the room shower temperature & broken toilet seat which we have already rectified it accordingly. I'm not sure if you've realized but regarding the use of hairdryer, we have plug points located next to the writing table and not necessarily only at the coffee / tea facilities.

I also note on your comments regarding breakfast and have share it with the food & beverage team. We do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have a short stay-cation over the weekend for my Girlfriend birthday celebration. Booked for a club floor room and pay additional for the balloons decoration in room. I was delighted by the free upgrade to a club suite with a spacious space.

I was very enjoy there during my stay, and appreciated all the kind service from all the hotel personnel. I would like to take this opportunity to compliment few staffs: Heeda,Kopila., Mr. Rafael and all the staff at club lounge. They could easily remember our name and greet us with a very welcoming manner. I can't remember all the staff name but indeed all of you have make my stay a perfect one, especially Mr. Rafael, who is very kind understanding and friendly.

However, below are some recommendations to improve that I would like to highlight to management team:

1. Suite should come with a tub.
2. Newspaper should provide to club floor guest.
3. To add on more variety for breakfast.
4. Should indicate clearly for the charges of local call. (I was charged for a call make to Johor even the call was failed, and i thought that Johor is considered as LOCAL as it is within Malaysia)
5. To improve cleanliness in room, perhaps some renovation needed as the furnitures look old.

Overall, my stay is a perfect one.
Definitely, I will be back in the near future and will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Bukit Bintang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.