We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proximity to Jan Alor/Bkt Bintang but quiet for a good night's rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117, Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Proximity to Jan Alor/Bkt Bintang but quiet for a good night's rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked for a one night stay atthe hotel for business meetings but want to get the sights and taste of Jln Alor where local food and people hang out. In case there was a need to get to the shopping aisles of Pavilion and Low Yat. The Swiss Garden hotel is very good in terms of value and location. Staff were friendly and the rooms are clean and well equipped. Watch out for the taxi operators who hang out especially the Blue coloured ones as they tend to overcharge! It would be better if you flagged one as taxis are aplenty. Opposite is conveniently located a 7-11, coffeeshop and 168 store. Downside is no free wifi in room but the lobby and coffee lounges have free wifi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    184
    78
    28
    21
See reviews for
161
84
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in March 2013, in the residences, and found it to be very convenient and better than expected. It has new furnishings, modern and very spacious rooms. The only downside was the construction that you to had to cross over the road to get to, and the bathroom shower was very slow to drain.

I found it strange though that we had a semi self catering apartment with a stove, fridge, microwave and all the utensils but no pots and pans? How were we meant to cook without them?(not that I wanted to!!!)

Breakfast was satisfactory, just be sure to get there before 9.30 as it can get very busy and you'll be left with the scraps!

Jalan Alor is just across the road, but you don't hear the noise from it. Everything was in good walking distance, the massage parlours, Times square, bb plaza, all very easily accessible from the hotel. Will definitely recommend to others and be back myself!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We decided on the Swiss-Garden residences based on the reviews we read here. Our initial choice was to book the family room at the hotel side of the business but later decided to switch to the 2 bedroom units at the residences. Swiss-Garden allowed us to upgrade and we paid the difference between the 2 rooms.

Our stay turned out to be quite a mixed bag.

Compliments to the staff. We had problems with the shower in the master bedroom, air con leaking water in the dining room, wireless internet access, breakfast and missing air con remote. They fixed it all quickly and efficiently.

That aside, those things above should not have happened in the first place. after all, it is only a 5 year old property. So it was a little irritating to encounter such problems.

Also, on checking in to our property,our bags were left on the baggage trolley for a long time. I was told the bell boy was not available. i was concerned that someone could have just walked in the taken our bags. From a security perspective, not good at all. A front office staff did finally push our bags to our rooms and I do want to thank him for his initiative.

So all in all, a mixed bag. great staff, great location, not so great managing the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wong_008, General Manager at The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear KC T

Thank you for staying at the Residences recently.

We appreciate your valuable feedback although it is sincerely regretted that certain aspects of your stay with us was not as expected. We have taken your comments onboard and shall re-double our efforts to improve on areas which are lacking so as to ensure your next visit will be more enjoyable not only for you but also for your family as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From outside this hotel might not be surprising, but first step inside and you change your mind. Very gentle and hepful staff is at your disposal all the time. Interiors are elegant and cosy. Room was spacious and nicely furnished, with all needed comforts. Soundproof windows provide quiet and calm atmosphere right beside the nig and noisy street. Supermarket and restaurants are just opposite the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here and was regretting that it lasted only 1 night. I'll definately choose this hotel again, when in Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wong_008, General Manager at The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Agata W

We are delighted to know that your short stay with us (1 night) was a memorable one and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully your next visit will be longer. Rest assured, it will be just as memorable as your first one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of the city central so you can always walk to lots of bars, restaurants and even train station. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Staff there are friendly as well but they don't speak very fluent English. We also tried the restaurant for one dinner but food was so-so. However their breakfasts were pretty good and diverse, with a buffet style serving a wide range of breakfast dishes (milk, cereal, bread and butter, porridge, some Asian noodle, fruit, coffee and tea, etc.)

It is not near to Petronas Twin Towers so we took a cab (and fare is not expensive if you bargain in advance). We accidentally found out that the hotel is near to the train station so we opted for that means of transportation whenever we wanted to move around. It is highly recommended if you are going backpack as you can get to know more about the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wong_008, General Manager at The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Alittlesoul

Location wise, well said! Indeed we are within walking distance to numerous shopping malls, restaurants, bars, etc of bustling & vibrant Bukit Bintang. Of course we also offer our guests a myriad choice of dining options within the hotel / residences itself at our F&B outlets.

We do provide our guests complimentary shuttle to the Golden Triangle area but for those who are more adventurous, you can opt for the public transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed. we (me and my Fiance) had a on bedroom apartment and enjoyed every second of it. The rooms are very clean and have high ceilings with grate light and grate view. even the shower have a grate view. the staff are friendly and the location is close to all the action in Kuala Lumpur ( walking distance) . I highly recommend this hotel and I am sure you will not regret staying there.

Room Tip: higher levels better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wong_008, General Manager at The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Farhad F

Thank you for staying with us recently with your fiance.

We are pleased to hear that everything was lovely and certainly look forward to your return visit anytime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's been quite a while since we last stayed at Swiss-Garden KL. That used to be the original block facing Jalan Pudu. Now they have a "twin tower" residence blocks where we tried for the first time during the pre-Chinese New Year weekend.
We requested for connecting rooms, but got the 2-bedroom unit instead, at level 13, the south tower. Our unit was on the west side with strong sunshine from aftenoon towards evening.
The unit caters well for 4 adults with king size bed and bathtub shower in the master bedroom and twin beds with shower in the next room. The unit should be enough for family with 4 kids. The living-kitchenette area is big enough for a family.
The gym with sauna is at level 6 as is the swimming pool and restaurant.
For those wanting to shop and dine outside, Bukit Bintang is just a walking distance from Swiss-Garden. Good exercise.
Overall the tower residences is a welcoming change when we want to stay in Kuala Lumpur. Though quite a distance from the Petronas Twin Towers, on a weekend should be alright with less traffic for us to take the public transport.

Room Tip: Choose your unit at higher levels and the preferred side to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wong_008, General Manager at The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear melabid

Welcome back to Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur.

We are pleased that you found our Residences to be a refreshing change as it has been garnering numerous positive comments from our esteemed guests and is generally well received not only by locals but also foreigners as well.

If you are concerned about the distance to Petronas Twin Towers, you will be pleased to hear we offer our guests a complimentary shuttle. All you need to is to reserve your seat with our friendly concierge team anytime during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur

Address: 117, Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.