We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plan B

Plan B
G5, Ground Floor, Bangsar Village 1 | 1 Jalan Telawi 1, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,053 of 2,518 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've never been to Plan B in Publika as I always stick to their Bangsar outlet.
So far, the caesar salad is nice, so as their breakfast menu - the menu with eggs i.e. Eggs Benedict/Ben/Royale. I've tried their Peking Duck Sliders, couldn't finish the meal even though I was hungry! It was bad.
The Teowchew porridge was nice. And the desserts and coffee did not disappoint.
The ambiance is relaxing and the complementary self-pour plain water is a nice touch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    24
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been coming to Asia for 5 years now and the first thing one must learn to live without is good service. Out of all SEA countries (and I have been to all), Malaysia probably has the worse service culture. So when I went to Plan B this Sunday for brunch, it is easy to say that my expectations were not high. However, the level of arrogance, incompetence and contempt that the employees of Plan B showed did surprise me. Having the worse service, in a country that is known for terrible service, in a region where service culture is lacking is quite a feat! Congrats Plan B! I gave you a rating of 2 just because your food is ok (not even that great)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went to the Plan B outlet at Publika Solaris Dutamas last Friday, slightly just after lunch time (2.30pm) and the place was relatively quiet. Thinking that we would be able to get a quick lunch ended up to be an hour of labourious service. Took at least 5 minutes to be seated since there was a sign for the servers to sit us. Then it took another 10 minutes and a flurry of hand gentures to attract the attention of the servers to take the order. Order was for a Cesar Salad and a Morrocan Lamb Pie and a couple of drinks. Salad arrived after 15 minutes and the pie was no where in sight until I had to ask the server to check on it. Apparently it had been sitting on the service window for a while and when it had arrived, the side salad was already parched. The Salad was good but not the pie. It was salty beyond comparison and had loads of water to drown the saltiness. Very dissapointing after a pleasant experience at Plan B Bangsar Village. Give it a miss as there are better restaurants at Publika.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food in Gotham settings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The name may give an impression of afterthought when all other eateries are full. As we were early, we easily got a table and perused the clipboard menu. Good range of choices with veggie-only options and nuts clearly marked out. We settled on the typical Malaysian style of dining ie. sharing.
Roasted eggplant added smokiness to the leafy salad, salty feta crumbled atop with sprinking of various seeds. Nice change from the usual Caesar's. Yum.
Pasta portion was pretty large for 1 with quite a number of lamb meatballs, juicy eggplant pieces (not mushed up) bathed in rich tomato sauce. May be a tad oily for those watching waistlines but yummy to the last bite. Oh yes, being Moroccan, cumin presence was strong and kinda drowned out the lamb taste/odour. Not necessarily a plus for lamb lovers...
Chicken percik was served with nasi kerabu (tinted bright blue by bunga telang juice?) topped with a thick blanket of finely chopped raw long beans/angle beans & bean sprouts. A large piece of grilled chicken (thigh & drumstick) smothered in rich gravy occupied a quarter of the plate. Again, generous to a tee. Crispy fish crackers, a solok lada (green chili stuffed with fishpaste/coconut filling and steamed/boiled, Kelantanese sorta yong-tau-foo) and a small bowl of flavouring sauce (budu?). After mixing rice, veggies and gravy well, we tucked in. Chicken was tender, pulled away easily from the bone (perhaps cooked unlike the usual percik grill). Rice grains separated easily - looked like basmati. 3 thumbs up!
Wrapped up the meal with a portion of banana cake (3 layers sandwiched by caramel icing) and topped with walnuts and a latte (same price as long black and flat white).
A ready bottle of water served at each table is a good idea. Looked like one of those dark-glassed bottles commonly found in a science lab. No need to flag waiters for top-ups. Under-table hooks for hangbags & shopping bags removed the need for "bag" chairs (just remember to take them along when leaving). Win-win for all.
Food-wise was satisfying. Service-wise, always room for improvement. Chicken percik took a long time to be served - had to ask the waiter to check. Cake order seemingly got lost until the waitress who attended to us noticed our empty table. Water bottle refill too. Perhaps due to the place filled to full capacity.
Decor was quite dark, coupled with service staff in black. Our table was made up of 2 tables which didn't join well - different heights. Table arrangement quite close to one another ie. unintentional eavesdropping of neighbouring conversations. Interesting light bulbs. Don't look up as ceiling covers are non-existent. Worth a return visit to try out other options on the menu & dessert showcase.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another good food outlet from this group!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Been to Plan B a couple of times and finally decided to pen down a review. So far the food has always been good - only thing we didn't like was the barley (And was it chicken?) soup. Now that's a soup for a sick day. Tried all their pasta dishes - all good. This time, I tried the turkey ham & cheese toastie - my my...the smell of butter on the toast itself made me drool! It is difficult to get a seat if you visit during peak hours. There's a waiting list. Last night's meal of 1 toastie sandwich, 1 pasta carbonara and a side snack of french fried cost us RM47. They've got a good selection of dessert as well! They serve drinking water on the house (which is really rare in KL these days) and the service is acceptable (waiters are not over friendly but are good enough to get you a seat and get your order right). Ambiance wise - its a pretty decent place with a bit of a cosy effect. Good news for ladies - all their tables come equipped with a handbag holder underneath.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plan B also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Plan B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plan B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.