We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali in KL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi to your Saves list
Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 65000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bali in KL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Villa Samadhi is located in the most coveted residential enclave of KL. A true hideaway from the bustling metropolis that is KL.

When we arrived, the security guard checked that we were on the list before opening the gate and informing the staff inside to come out to greet us. And we were promptly whisked to our Luxe Crib, recommended by others, after a cursory glace at my passport. EXCLUSIVE !

Throughout our stay, the staff were ALWAYS WARM and WELCOMING !

The jacuzzi in the bathroom was welcomingly bubbling when we got there. NICE !
But there was a lingering smell of mould and mildew from it.

There was a double rain shower next to it. SPACIOUSNESS !
Which was what the entire room was.

The height of the bed made us feel like little kids in our parents room. Having to literally climb up into the bed. NOSTALGIC !
So was the slight lumpiness of the futon/natural-fiber filled mattress and pillows.

No locks to the room when you leave, just like HOME !
Unless you request for one.

A dedicated wine fridge in the room with different full-sized bottles wines to choose from. OPULENT !

Unfortunately, the mean cocktails at the roof top bar with unobstructed views during happy hour and our long day's drive prevented us from such further INDULGENCE !

Most all available rooms/villas were occupied during our stay but we wouldn't have believed it if not for seeing others during breakfast the next morning. PRIVATE & SECLUDED !

Breakfast was served a la carte, the bread, jam and kaya, tasted fresh and homemade. Eggs Benedict and the Chinese Noodle Soup are highly recommended. The Roti Chanai, less so.

Next time, we will try to ground floor rooms which open to the meandering free form pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    60
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
250
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Cherie and her crew at Villa Samadhi, especially John, made our stay there unforgettable. The pictures on the site are quite correct. There was work going on updating a couple of rooms but we never heard a sound. The villa is located close to the heart of KL, it is a slow 10 minute walk to the nearest train station that drops you into central KL and connects into the transport system to get you anywhere you could want to go. The villa is very small and this makes it very personal. The staff know you by name, pick up on your likes and needs, such as my wife’s like of hot chocolate or my problems walking around, so every time they offered to get a coffee or hot chocolate or if I went near a step, a staff member appeared to help. Cannot say enough good things. We intend to return.
The food was lovely both breakfast and the restaurant. The fresh juices were lovely and we enjoyed the ginger based drink. The visit to the Tamarind Seed restaurant was a highlight with a great setting and food. If you don’t want to stay at a large hotel and want a personalized small resort styled relaxing hotel then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Quiet hideaway in the City, Great Service, wonderful Flair, Great Place for arrival! Amazing Spot in the City jungle. Located in the ambassy Quartier, footwalk to the twin Towers, Taxi ok too wie felt so Warmluft welcome and hosted!

Room Tip: No matter - every room is Great! If you are smoker, take a room with direct Pool Access, which is Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Villa Samadhi is a little gem hidden away in a busy city. The host is wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and she makes you feel as though you are indeed somewhere special. The villas are beautifully appointed. The restaurant serves thoughtfully prepared menus and the presentation is first rate.Overall staying at the villa was a peaceful, happy and very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is excellent. Close to the front but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here just one night to catch a connecting flight the next day while being on our honeymoon.

Even though we arrived late in the evening, the resident manager Cherie was there to greet us in person, she made us very welcome.

Since their restaurant had already closed she had arranged for a complimentary plate of sandwiches, cheese, smoked salmon, fruit to be waiting for us in our room.

As my wife had also not been feeling too well the manageress arranged for us to be able to have a late breakfast and a late checkout so that we had the room available to us right to the moment when we were picked up for our connecting flight.

We had stayed in KL just a week and a half before in a big hotel for a couple of nights and we were pleasantly surprised by how much more personal and hospitable the Villa Samadhi was compared to the big hotel.

When we next come back to KL we will most definitely stay at the Villa Samadhi again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been planning to find some special spot where we can celebrate our anniversary. Not wanting to go very far this time, my hubby has showing me this amazing villa samadhi website. After looking at those amazing pictures and the place has to offer, we decided to stay at villa samadhi under double retreats package, and yes....it turn out to be one of our favorite holiday spot. And for the local...don't worry to come and stay at this villa, because you will get an equal treatment as compare to other 5 star hotel/resort, where they only more attentive to caucasian.
The food is very nice, but the only downside is you can't have you dinner at mandi mandi if you are in a very hungry state, they serve food very slow. Overall, everything is perfect. Thanks to Cherie and the staff at Villa Samadhi. We really enjoy ourself there, and can't wait to stay there again....

Room Tip: If you can choose, do opt for sarang room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked this place for a night for my bf's birthday surprise present. We were quite excited as we are from KL and yet there is such villa in the city? This place was recommended to us by my cousin who visited this place.
Anyway, we arrived here via GPS (not very hard to find). We were surprised at how small the place looked. We drived right in and parked at the lobby.
Check-in was very simple and fast and we were brought to our room immediately.

The room:
Our room was located on the second floor and we were so excited to have a look at the room (since they say every room has a different unique design). The door was already interesting (very Balinese). As we entered the room, we were delighted with the huge space. Our room had a lovely day bed over looking the pool. The bed was extremely tall however (not sure why haha). The bathroom was massive and LOVE the rainforest shower head thing - very cool.
The only thing i personally didn't like about the room was the overly huge desk/cupboard area in front of our bathroom. I guess it functions as a walk-in wardrobe but i honestly felt the need for it is totally redundant. There were a whole bunch of huge cupboards which i wonder for what? Because i'm sure most of their guests would be staying for a few nights only which they wouldn't need all that storage space. The random study table thing is really redundant as well as there is NO mirror (so it is not a dressing table). I felt this whole area was a waste of space, they could have installed something more useful over here. The space could fit a personal jacuzzi! or a nice couch. I just don't get it.

The whole day we spent lounging in the room and basically relaxing. The room was perfect for relaxing, everything was so comfy :)
We didn't take a dip in the pool but we did go down to lounge on the sunbeds.
By evening, we went upstairs to redeem our free drink. The rooftop mini bar was quite cute and private. We were the only ones there. We could select our free drink from a variety on the menu. Personally really liked the choices as they were all Villa Samadhi special made drinks.

Next morning, we went down for our complimentary breakfast for two. We had a choice of the buffet or the a la carte menu. We chose the a la carte menu. Yummy i'd say. Lovely breakfast and a cozy dining place by the pool.

Overall, we enjoyed our peaceful stay. There was not much activities to do but i guess this isn't a place for activities since it seems to be strictly a couple place. Hope to get a room with personal jacuzzi next time though!

Room Tip: Since your already paying so much, i think might as well pay a little more to get the room with a pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi

Address: 8 Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 65000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self.Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-foot of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a façade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.