We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Summer View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Summer View to your Saves list
Hotel Summer View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #165, Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | Off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Borocay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I sit at KL LCCT writing this review, well slept and refreshed - despite only arriving into KL at midnight, and it now being 11am! I cannot fault this hotel at all and it is great value and only a 3 minute walk from the airport shuttle bus.

We arrived at the hotel at 2am and were greeted with polite and helpful staff. Check in was quick an easy and we were helped with our baggage. The room is amazing value for money (way nicer than other hotels in the area I have stayed) and the linen is soooo soft! I slept like a dream and woke up at 8am to a nice plentiful breakfast with fresh fruit, toast and hot buffet. Again, the staff were really nice (especially the waitress at breakfast!). We left at 9am feeling like we had washed away all our travel cobwebs and ready to hit the road! I wish we could have slept long though, the bed was so good and air con great!

I was concerned about being in a dodgy area reading reviews on other hotels but at no point was I worried when I arrived, even though it was 2am. It is on the main street so I think possibly the dark street that other hotels are on may have been a bit sketchier.

Overall, a great transit hotel, but also one I could happily have stayed longer. Fantastic value for money, if I am in KL again I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: 507 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    152
    60
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
99
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was close to KL Sentral. Discovered the very friendly and efficient staff, clean big rooms and that the monorail is seconds away.. So returned. Would recommend for anyone staying in KL. Even tho it's not in the centre, it is a good spot and well connected. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to KL Sentral and the airport express train for a flying visit to KL.
I could see it clearly from the station, but it was impossible to walk there because I could not find any way that wasn't blocked by dual carriageways with no pavement so I had to get a taxi to travel a few hundred yards (the answer turns out to be go down the escalator to the bus terminal underneath the station, which is accessible on foot).
The hotel itself was fine. The room was comfortable and a decent size - not luxury, but good for the price. Excellent free WiFi. The breakfast was OK. Staff were friendly and helpful.
It's easy to get into central KL using the monorail - the nearest stop is a couple of hundred metres away.
If you're not looking for 5-star luxury I would certainly recommend this as a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Checked in quite late , and yet the receptionist was very polite and explained the room rate very patiently . Room was just nice and big enough for the both of us . Bed was very comfortable . Checked out the next day . Process was very smooth and once again very polite . Very near to KL Sentral . Lots of choices of food around the area . To all at Summer View Hotel , well done .!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night only and to be honest, it was enough. I can not claim the location, it is close to the KL Sentral station, from which you can get everywhere. The staff was very kind, polite and helpful. The breakfast was fine, good coffee, no complains. But the room was disappointment for me. It was smelly after smoking. There was a balkony or terrace connecting I think 3 rooms, but none of the rooms had doors to enter it. You could find some garbage there, most probably from the guests in the rooms above. The room had no fridge. Bathroom could be renewed and cleaned better. If I choose this hotel again, I would definitely ask for a different room, especially in case staying there for more then 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Located in Brickfields, a 5 minute walk from KL Sentral. Checkin was smooth, and the staff friendly. Room was clean, free wifi was alright. Decent breakfast too. Lots of options for Lunch/Dinner around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The advantage of this hotel is the location - in KL Sentral, a few minutes walking distance from the monorail and the local train station. KL Sentral, as in the name is the central transportation hub of the city. When at this location you can purchase a 'touch n go' travel pass at the train station and conveniently use the trains and monorail to explore the city, saving on taxi fares.

I had booked online through Agoda, and got a superior room for USD 47/night, which was good considering the location. Later found other hotels in the vicinity but were not sure about their reputation, some looked seedy. The room provided was tidy, with good central aircon and a comfortable king size bed with the usual amenities provided as mentioned in the other reviews here. The rooms located on the front side of the hotel provided a good view of the city. Its better to take the higher floors to distance yourself from the din at the traffic junction. The wifi was good, but the TV had limited channels.

What I found odd was an open wardrobe - basically two racks with hangers on it. So there were no drawers or cupboards to unpack your bag. Also they had a strange toilet faucet which I found not practical to use.

The housekeeping staff were profesional and maintained the room tidy. The buffet breakfast was moderate with mainly local and some western dishes.

Overall had nothing to complain about and found it convenient to come back and rest after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: The rooms located on the front side of the hotel provided a good view of the city. Its better to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Summer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summer View

Address: #165, Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | Off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Summer View 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Summer View is nicely located within a 7 minutes walking distance from the famous KL Sentral Station in Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur. Being in such close proximity to this transportation hub of 6 major railway networks and public transport, travelers have easy access to many major tourist spots, shopping centres, cultural venues and other places of interests in city. At Hotel Summer View, our 98 guestrooms come with either Super Twin or King-sized beds. Our tastefully furnished and cosy rooms are equipped with various amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. All our rooms have in-room individually controlled air-conditioning, attached bathroom with water heater, television, IDD telephone service, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and complimentary drinking water. Our friendly reception staff is ready to serve you at any time of the day or night as we have 24 hours Front Desk Reception Service. With your safety in mind, we have 24 hours CCTV Security System. At Hotel Summer View, we will make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Summer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Summer View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.