We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Summer View

Save Saved
You added Hotel Summer View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Summer View
165 Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | Off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Its in a veryyy veryy nice location... near KL Sentral and little india r jus across the street.. on the other side of the hotel is train station so it becomes very convenient to travel and roam around spl for vegetarians lik us. hotel is quite gud and friendly only thing they hav to do is increase there menu for veg for the buffet breakfast there is only fruits and bread for vegetarians.. rest the hotel is quite gud... wud luv to stay there for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    113
    44
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
72
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The reason behind choosing this hotel was its ‘location’. Situated within 300 meters of KL Sentral terminal , it really was an advantage for me as I reached there at the midnight. It was a mere 5 mins walk from the KL Sentral terminus. The hotel can receive an average rating considering the rooms, breakfast & other amenities but the location advantage adds to it. But the area is super quite, hence no disturbance for my sleep. The rooms are clean & have broad windows to enjoy the view of the city (the famous petronas twin towers are visible from all parts of the city). As we had plans to visit Genting Highlands & other attractions of kualalumpur, it was very convenient & affordable to avail the Bus, MRT & BRT from KL Sentral. The KLCC & Bukit Betan area is just a few stops away where you can spend the evening & indulge yourself in shopping & more shopping. Airport connectivity (both KLIA & LCCT) is super easy as you have the options to chose between Taxi, Bus & Airport Trains (City line & express line). Overall, a pleasant stay & friendly staffs are ready to help you (borrowed a travel adapter for my mobile instantly). The dining options outside the hotel is plenty. You can have plenty of options especially Indian & middle eastern cuisines within walking distance.

Room Tip: Take the rooms at higher floors as they are more quite. Pl ensure the tariff as they differentiate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This new hotel offers reasonable value. The location is good, the free Wifi has good speeds and the breakfast is reasonable. The breakfast area is pleasant enough but the fried eggs were always cold and coffee almost undrinkable.

The Hotel demands a 100 Ringgit deposit at check in, even with prepaid accommodation.

On the 2nd night (of a 5 night stay) we were woken by a Security man knocking on the door at 1030 pm to hand me a typed notice that 2 face washers were reported as missing from our room by Housekeeping. These items were listed as 5 Ringgit each by the hotel.
I was furious. No face washers were ever provided in the room at all and to wake someone at 1030 pm over such a matter is inexcusable.

The Hotel Manager apologised and acknowledged that there was a Housekeeping error and that we were not at fault and that the Security man should not have woken us.

I would probably not stay there again given the last experience.

Room Tip: There are several casual eating options on the road with 7 Eleven on the corner. The place right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are not big fans of business hotels and much prefer to stay in small local accommodation, but after trying a couple of hostels which were fully booked we opted for Summer View as both the price and reviews seemed reasonable.
The location was great as all the public transport links run through KL Sentral, a 5 minute walk from the hotel. On first impressions the street outside seemed a little bit run down, however we soon became used to this and felt safe.
The hotel is everything a business hotel should be, good service, clean rooms, nice showers, good internet connection and wide choice of breakfast, unfortunately let down slightly by the fact that the buffet was always a bit cold.
We extended our stay from 3 to 5 nights and what made it was the incredibly comfortable bed, we had the best sleeps in all our 5 weeks travel around Malaysia.
If you are looking for a good nights sleep and convenient location at a reasonable price then you cant go far wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Most convenient location. Very friendly staff. The rooms are small but clean. The staff really goes out of the way to help you. You can go to almost every place in and around KL from this place either by Metro or Bus or all other public transport. The breakfast was not so fancy but decent. I really liked overall staff.

Room Tip: ask for the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

First of all, I really liked this hotel. It's a few steps away from the massive KL Sentral interchange, it's really quite cheap and all my needs for comfort, cleanliness and courtesy were met.

I spent 4 nights last December at Hotel Summer View during my Cameron Highland - KL trip and I was pleasantly surprised to be able to find the hotel in close proximity to KL Sentral. It was on a side road so it was not as busy too.

Check-in was smooth and courteous, room was clean, tv, air-con and shower all worked fine. Breakfast was provided and was basic but we were alright with it.

With that said, I'll have to admit that I'm quite a basic traveller and I'm not expecting luxury from something that does not aim to cater for that. I think that Hotel Summer View definitely lives up to its name as a nicely managed basic hotel for budget travelers and I enjoyed my stay there.

If you're interested to have a small glimpse of a local market, do check out the small market that spring up in the alley next to the hotel on sundays. (or saturday. can't remember)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We always stay at this hotel, because it is very convenient situated. A short walk to KL Sentral and the Sky train. Also some nice Chinese restaurants are just around the corner.
Rooms are very clean, but nothing special. Very small bathroom, but a nice hot shower. TV is not good, bad reception and 2 foreign channels. Breakfast is not good at all. Free wifi in the rooms is working well. But we also stayed here because the service and staff are excellent.
But we see a change, due to that they get good reports the service is going down hill.
Lots of groups are coming and they are making so much noise! If it is 10:35 the breakfast lady will come to you twice that breakfast is finished at 10:30. They already cleared all the food before 10:30, so you are not even allowed to drink your coffee after 10:30? If it is a toll free telephone number they will charge you for this call? There is no laundry service, nor pool, nor terrace, nor fitness. So overall you can find a much better deal for this price range.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back side, very quiet and no street noise. If you sleep at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Summer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summer View

Address: 165 Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | Off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Summer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Summer View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.