We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy but tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalan Alor

Jalan Alor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 187 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A must for adventurous foodies, sample your way through this bustling road at night for fantastic street food.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Touristy but tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

You only go to Jalan Alor for one thing, and that is to feast.
We had fun at Fat brothers as the owner was very kind in showing us how to eat, cook and which sauces to use! This place is great for a cheap eat and something thats very fresh.
We came by and even picked up some late night treats around midnight before heading home.
TIP: don't eat at the places with large menus. Eat at places with smaller menus. Smaller menus means fresher and they probably will taste better as they specialise in it! Make sure you try EVERYTHING.
My theory is, if they ask you to sit then keep walking. The best are filled with locals, not tourists.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    790
    316
    84
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Your place for hawker food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Take a walk and eat along the way, it's like heaven ... If heaven were hot and crowded and filled with grilled fish. The food we had did not disappoint and was pretty reasonably priced (Thai meal with three dishes cost us about $20 US for two). I recommend trying some of the fruit jelly, it was a sea weed based pudding with mango flavor and assorted tasty goodness.

Not for the faint of heart though as we did see two giant rats fighting under the table where our food was being prepped.... So yeah... There is that

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We ate here as often as we could, spoilt for choice, lively and fun to people watch. Lots of different food choices to choose from!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Head For The Bottom...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

... of the street,there you will find a man furiously cooking a lot of BBQ chicken wings. This is Wong Ah Wah and folk come from far and wide to sample them.
Ask for a plate of four pairs - it's enough for one.
Be warned - seriously sticky fingers will result.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lakwatsera in MALAYSIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Jalan Alor.. Bintang walk.. Etc.. It's really a good place to LAKWATSERA like me... I promise to be Back again in Malaysia by 2016 looking forward to shops more there..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalan Alor also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Batu Caves, Selangor
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Jalan Alor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalan Alor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.