We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Party Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Party Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean & new contemporary apartment! Location wise is not really convenience as little bit far by walking to crowded area but it wasn't far by taxi or car.
The room had full facilitate with a clean kitchen, full kitchenware, a big 2 door fridge, a washing machine (didn't use it), and a wide dining table!
Most of all, the room, bed, floor, toilet is clean as we didn't expect an apartment can be this clean like a hotel.
The living room had a clean and comfort carpet but the rug threat was falling around the floor...
There is 2 bath room and the master room bath tub was fantastic!
There is not much view from the window maybe our room direction wasn't right.
We're late to the breakfast and the there is not much food left.
Room service was good and efficient!
Carpark was complimented free for only 1 car but extra car can request for flat rate at RM10 per day.
The roof top swimming was fantastic with a great view of KL city and the gym room was full facilitate!
Overall for the 3 room apartment, in between value and quality, this will be the best choice! (anyway, i still think it's too pricey~!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    127
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
120
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Me and my wife have just spent 2 very enjoyable weeks here. The hotel consists of self service apartments. We had the one bedroom premier which was a massive apartment, so big we didn't use one room. Positives - location 2 min walk to Ampang Park tube station, 15 min walk to twin towers, friendly staff, infinity pool is awesome as u get a view of KL & the towers! Negative - Only slight downfall is the breakfast at souled out restaurant which is not brilliant but does the job to fill a hole in the morning.
Word of wisdom - use the rapid KL tube for travelling. Stations are marked clearly on maps. It will get you to any part of the city for less than 3RM with minimal walking to places. The taxi drivers rip you off by not using their metres and plucking figures out of thin air.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from Petronas towers & klcc, we had 1 bedroom deluxe which was great coz it consist living room with flat tv, bedroom with another flat tv & dressing room, bath, fully equiped kitchen & extra samll room which was perfect for the extra bed for our 14 years old son while our 8 years old daughter slept in the living room.
The room service & cleaning was very good, the staff was very nice & kind.
the brakefast was an average and u have to get a voucher from the receiption to use at the next door resturant for the brakefast.
overall the hotel is very very good.

Room Tip: one dedroom deluxe is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are confortable, spacious, kitchen and Salon are well equiped, even the soap for washing machine is provided, room rate are acceptable.
Infinity pool is clean, lounge on the roof.
All perfect

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Actually before we went for this business trip, a Malaysian friend has suggested another hotel close to Bukit Bintang area instead of this place.

We came quite late around 10pm. The check-in process was quite fast and efficient, so we can drop the bag quickly. Then we decided to have a quick supper before going to bed and realised that there was no other option except a cafe next door (...and the next morning, we also found out that this cafe was used by the hotel to serve the breakfast...LOL). Food was okay, but in the night there was no other option except PIZZA...well, better than nothing, we thought.

The apartment room consists of a living room, a kitchen (with a big fridge and a washing machine), a bathroom (with shower and bathtub) and a closet. There was no regular amenities in the bathroom (as we always find in hotels), except a small body lotion and a shower gel. You must ask the room service to get the others (comb, shaver, etc).

Location was okay, although you need to spend around RM 6 to reach KLCC by a taxi. There was no neighbourhood facilities, except a cafe and a medical centre. That's the time when we regretted our decision to choose this apartment instead of the recommended hotel which is very close to the attractions KL can offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Checked out few days ago. Check in only for one night, very satisfied with the room but very poor service from the front dest and the bellman. First of all when my friend arrived early in the morning and asked the receptionist to assist her to my room, the receptionist NOT SMILE at all. Not even welcoming. Then bellman assist her to wrong floor and let her walk alone to the room which is occupied by a man and my friend need to go back to the lobby. She ask the bellmam to send to my room again and inform him about the incident, he only insist to the right floor without apologize!! How if anything happen to her??? Problem with checkout, the housekeeping simply accuse us STOLED the LAUNDRY BASKET. For what purpose??? We dont even realize there is a basket inside the room actually. The management said that they saw thru the CCTV there are many ppl go in and out from the room and probably our friends tke out the basket. If the management have that much time to see the cctv so why dont they check whether my friends are the one who take out the things or the housekeeping forget to put in upon check in and simply blame us when check out. I am really upset and not even think to go there anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MissNDD,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We are very sorry about the incident you experience during your recent stay with us. We have noted of your comment and rest assure that I will personally work with our Housekeeping and Guest Service Manager to ensure that such incidents will not occur again.

Thank you for your patronage and we hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. We arrived in the midnight and was welcomed by staffs although it was about 3am. All the staffs there including securities and cleaners are so polite and always smiling. The apartment was sparkling clean when we arrived and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen has all the things you need ranging from pots and pans to cork opener. On the day of our check out, I asked the reception staff if they had super glue as my shoes were giving way. One of the staff actually went to get his personal super glue and gave it to me. He also rejected when i offered to pay him. Overall, I am very pleased during my stay and I would definitely suggest everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: I stayed in #18-13 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Eileen_su,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Should you require any other assistance or information for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us at enquiry.kualalumpur@the-ascott.com

Sincerely,
Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.