We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice, and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is location.
Just 5-10 min. walk to the Petronas.
And 3 min. walk to metro station

Rooms are nice, the only thing is that it's a smoking building, so everything smells like cigarette.
Not nice for kids.

Another good thing is that the hotel is two blocks away from a Hopin Hopoff station, which I think is a great way to know cities when you don't have a long stay. (very cheap in this city also!)

Breakfast is good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    127
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
120
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

While the room is adequate for the price paid, there is no personal factor or feeling of being valued. The front desk staff are simply the worst I have experienced. The only words they know are "NO" or "we need to charge you more". The breakfast that is included is a disgrace and very unhealthy. The only thing that benefits from eating this is your cholesterol! When entering this establishment there is no feeling of being welcome. They are suspicious and do not treat their guests with respect. I witnessed and encountered confrontations between the front desk and guests and all over trivial matters. Do not expect this organization to do anything special as the culture is tainted, they are not transparent, there is no integrity or leadership and they do not understand that they are in existence to "SERVE" a guest. Also the location is not great and there is nothing within walking distance - you are totally reliant on one rip-off restaurant for your food name Souled-Out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Cherryruby,

Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your recent stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that his/her concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making his/her stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

Please contact me at +603 2723 8882 or gary.loke@the-ascott.com so that I can take remedial action to ensure incident like this will not happen again. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had an excellent stay at the Somerset Ampang.

Hotel is in a great location, in the embassy district, only 10 mins walk or 2 USD in a taxi to the KLCC (city centre). The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The roof top pool, kids pool and gym were excellent, with great 360 degree views.

Taxis were always on hand out front, and cheap. The restaurant attached to the residence provides a decent buffet breakfast (free), but an even better lunch/dinner/drinks venue with extensive happy hour. Great food, and they can deliver to your apartment.

But best of all was the quality, design, layout and sheer size of the apartments. We stayed in a Deluxe Apartment, which is middle of the range for them I believe. The space that we had made it feel like home, and was very welcome with a rambunctious 2 year old running around. Having a separate study/nursery was perfect so that we could still enjoy the evening in the living room in peace, and with the lights ON!.

Second best of all was the value - the room, and it's quality/size was an utter bargain for 120 USD per night. You would spend 3 to 4 times that amount in Singapore.

Overall, I was very, very impressed. We loved KL itself, and will most certainly be back (we only stayed 3 nights this time). And when we do return, it would be very difficult to look past the Somerset Ampang!

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The apartments are the ones to go for, but my friend who stayed at the same time as us was upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear FlyingClogHongKong,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Should you require any other assistance or information in your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us at enquiry.kualalumpur@the-ascott.com

Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Somerset Ampang apartments are excellent and I would recommend them to anyone visiting KL for business or leisure. The apartments are very modern, spacious and well-appointed. Though the wifi may be patchy my apartment has a wired connection which was broadband speed and allowed me to Skype home.

A lot of people moan about the breakfast but the selection is great and it is only next door and if you do your research before booking this should not be a surprise. The food selection is also great, I love the egg station where you can order your eggs or omelette however you want it.

The apartment block is a mere five minute walk to Ampang Park metro station and there is even a regular shuttle bus which goes on to KLCC which is useful when carrying luggage - trust me, you do not want to get a cab in KL, the traffic is horrendous!

The jewel in the crown is the rooftop pool and gym which is a great way to wake up in the morning or refresh in the evening. I also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating and a credit to their employers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear ShinBoy,

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Should you require any other assistance or information in your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us at enquiry.kualalumpur@the-ascott.com

Sincerely,
Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaz
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got a free upgrade. The room included living area, sleeping room, kitchen, bathroom. The breakfast is outside the Hotel and ok. Room rates include WLAN. The gym and the Swimming pool are great with view to the Twin Towers. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_SAKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Herbert B,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Ampang as your accommodation during your holiday in Kuala Lumpur.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our
service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Should you require any other assistance or information in your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us at enquiry.kualalumpur@the-ascott.com

Sincerely,
Gary Loke
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment from 22-26 June. During check-in,front desk said I was only entitled to breakfast for 2 adults whereas my booking on hotels.com showed breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child. I pointed this out to them. The next 2 days-no problems asking for 3 breakfast coupons. On days 3-5,they insisted on giving me only 2 breakfast coupons before I pointed out to them that my hotels.com booking showed I paid for breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child. Exasperating having to repeat my explanation to the front desk. As for the apartment,it was very clean and spacious. The fridge,microwave,toaster,washer/dryer and iron,ironing board was in good working order. The only downside was the in-room wifi,it was painfully slow at 450kbps-the speed I had 15 long years ago. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Do not ask for extra mineral water,they will charge you $2RM per bottle!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the apartment to stay if you do not want to get stuck in KL crazy traffic jams. Located about 5 mins drive from KL CC and Ampang Park Shopping Mall, it is beautiful, clean and a home away from home. A mini kitchen allows you to do simple cooking and the apartment is equipped with an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. The living room gives you a wonderful view of the city and a comfortable king-size bed in the master bedroom ensures a good night sleep. There is a smaller room furnished with a wardrobe and a table but no bed. There is wifi as well as wired internet. Breakfast is at a restaurant next to the lobby. I thought it was a good spread, not the 1001 mediocre stuff at most buffet breakfast but a small selection of good local favourites as well as the must-have egg station where you can get your fix of eggs as you like it. The pool and the jacuzzi were great although the haze put a damper on the length we could stay outdoors. Will definitely come back when I am in KL.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.