We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionist” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Malaysia Hotel

The Malaysia Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Malaysia Hotel to your Saves list
The Malaysia Hotel
67-69 | Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
damansara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude receptionist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend said this was a good budget hotel close to shopping areas. Called to reserve 2 rooms. Big mistake.The receptionist was terribly rude. Should've booked online. Totally put-off and have decided to stay somewhere else. Not worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel was well priced and situated right in the heart of Bukit Bintang
Room was neat and clean with air conditioner working well
5 minute walk from mono rail and 5 minute walk to ultra modern shopping
Everything I needed for short stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdaneta City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we booked a suite room for 4 days but stayed only for 3 nights. the room we occupied is very big. the toilet and bathroom is also large although the shower needs fixing. water from the faucet is not strong also.

what is good of the hotel is its location since it is near to shopping areas. Across the street is jalan alor where food stalls abound. petronas towers and klcc-acquaria is just a long walk. although what is good is that the walkways are airconditioned.

the malaysia hotel has lost its grandure. it needs a lot of upkeep, repainting and cleaning. the place is littered with cleaning materials, bedsheet cart is left along the alley.

wi-fi is not very strong too and what was bad, there was a power outage three times during our first night.

service is good but needs more improvement.

Room Tip: choose the back part since this is adjacent to a not very busy road. rooms fronting jalan bukit bint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got the room at discount price, certainly wouldn't pay the rack rate. Very sleazy foyer with two massage parlours operating from different parts of lobby area. Rooms tired and drab though large enough and reasonably clean, found the beds comfortable but the air con very noisy. Certainly handy to the shops and sights of the area. Seems to be catering more to the local market; didn't see or hear much from the staff once checked in.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from te street frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Pro
Free wifi
Storage area at the lobby
Friendly staff
Great location
Near 24hr shops
Three power points or socket

Con
Room facing the jalan bukit bintang can be very noisy
Old decor
Limited channels
Smell old
Thin walls

I bought via agoda.com and the rate is cheaper.
The real rate will not justified the room as it was noisy even with the window closed.
Situated at jalan bukit bintang so there is no problem looking for foods or shopping.
The wall is thin so u might hear adjacent room.
The hotel could use a new paint

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. We are a group of 9 so we got 3 family rooms.

The rooms are clean, decent, spacious enough and are all carpeted. Each room has a small refrigerator, tv, phone, electric thermos. WiFi signal are available in our rooms. Hot & cold shower are also available.

The staff are very accommodating. They even let us borrow an electrical adapter, free of charge. And everytime we ask for directions on how to get to places, they are always helpful to assist us.

We didn't avail of package tour when we went to Malaysia, so the hotel assisted us in renting a van. We booked the van in their front desk upon check-in. The rate of 1 van for 9 persons is around RM400 per day (9am - 5pm), just within KL area (city / country tour). If going to Genting, will be out of KL, it will incure additional charge of
around Rm200. The driver also served as our guide. He is very accommodating, he accompanies us until we purchase tickets or until we get to the entrance of the places that we visited.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the hotel through its website. It was moderately priced and looked ok. BUT we didn't check the reviews on tripadvisor. The water was brown, no cable tv, smokey, smelly room, run down hotel and the mattress was appalling - grunted and creaked with every movement. The inhouse massage parlor wouldn't leave us alone on walking in and out. We complained and got moved to a room with clear but smelly water and ONE cable tv station. However, the band that played in the street under the window was still going at 3am so no sleep. Big mistake to stay here.
Oh - and on checkout we asked about a taxi - they said sure - then after waiting a while I went outside and found the organiser haggling with taxis for a cut of our fare, we took a taxi and sure enough what should have been a 10-15 ringit fare turned into 40 and a trip up and back on the freeway. Just plain dishonest.

Room Tip: Stat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malaysia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malaysia Hotel

Address: 67-69 | Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malaysia Hotel is a budget hotel located at Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It offers 53 air-conditioned rooms, all of which have in Internet connection, a mini-bar, and a shower with bathtub. Some of its amenities include 24 Hour Reception & Customer Service Desk, IDD Telephone, and a foot reflexology center. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Petronas Towers, Low Yat Plaza and Chulan Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Malaysia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malaysia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.