We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Explorers Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Explorers Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Explorers Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I can only recommend this guesthouse. It is reasonably priced and offers a small but tasty breakfast. Some of the rooms do not have windows, but on the other hand this means no mosquitos. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    111
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
92
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hostel is in a great location in Chinatown. The staff were extremely welcoming, very knowledgable and accommodating (they let us into the staff room to use their clothes iron, allowed us to leave a large bag in the luggage room for 2 months whilst we completed our round trip free of charge and remembered us on our return). Breakfast is included but basic (toast and jam), tea and coffee all day. Rooms are clean, if simple, and most without windows but with near arctic AC if you desire it. Above the first floor the wifi won't reach you but this just means you might spend more time in the lovely common area with computers, books and tv. Ample toilets and bathrooms which are kept very clean, free shampoo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

a very clean and centrally located guest house, just across china town (pentaling street) and a short walk of Pudu Central Station with majority eating places in and around the guest house, highly recommended for couples and group of friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great butget hostel, super clean and all the facilities are brand new. I spend a night in one of the dorms and really was one of the best hostels I slept at in Malaysia. The only thing that I would add are individual reading lights in every bed... and the wifi connection sometimes was very slow/disconnected, but probably it was a temporary problem. I would definitely go back and have recommended it to other travellers in Malaysia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked this guesthouse for a 3 night stay in KL. Easy to find from the directions given. We received a warm welcome and could check into our private double room early. We were given towels and sheets. Room was basic but clean and had air conditioning! Looked out onto the bus street where the buses go down and our room was only the 2nd floor. However, after walking round exploring KL in the heat every day, the noise didn't stop us from sleeping!! The guesthouse requests you be quiet after 10/11pm and we didn't hear any noise from any other guests. Was quiet busy when we stayed there but still no disturbance. Free wifi in lounge and some computers too. Plenty of books, guide books and board games to borrow and a tv too. Guesthouse sells cold drinks. They provided us with breakfast too. This was only toast and jam/peanut butter but it's better than nothing! The place is so central that you literally walk out the door and there are loads of places to eat.
The one thing that always tells me if a place is clean or not is the bathroom. This place had shared bathrooms which were spotless!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cant even explain how incredible this place was! Without a doubt the highlight of my 3 month trip through Asia. The staff are friendly and so helpful, whatever advice you may need they are there. The older lady who works the night shift was without a doubt my favourite, she is so sweet and gentle, and after 3 months of no parents, it was nice to have someone just love me.

Fantastic location, right in the heart of KL city, close to Central market, Petaling streets literally around the corner, the city centre (where the towers are) only a 20 minute walk and a bus stop right outside the door. Fantastic Indian restaurant across the road, pub around the corner and a grocery store across the road. Great vibes in the downstairs communal area, I spent all my evenings just curled up reading and drinking tea. It has a true 'home' vibe, which after alot of travelling is something I missed.

Toast and spreads for breaky (all you need) and tea/coffee 24 hours a day. Great and clean bathrooms, showers, and pristine cleaned rooms. Cutest rooftop (where I spent an entire night once) and a TV with movies one each floor.

I could rave about this place all day.
As a young 18 year old solo female traveller, I always felt safe here, and safe in that location, its impossible to get lost in KL since its so close to landmark sites (Petaling street and Central Market)

So much recommendation for this place I cant even handle it.
100% Satisfaction rate guaranteed.
I will definitely be coming back soon.

Room Tip: If you plan to just be there to sleep, go for a communal room, everyones polite and friendly so no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was far the best place in SEA. The room wasn't too big and it didn't have window, but it was ok. The room was spotless clean and it was cleaned everyday if you let them know you wanted it to be cleaned. The bathrooms are shared, but that wasn't a problem at all and they were always clean. The internet worked really well downstairs and the breakfast was very basic, but it does the job. The staff was really helpful. After we checked out, we left our luggage in a room cause we had a night flight. When we returned to pick it up, we asked the reception guy if we could take a shower before leaving and he said yes and he did even lend us two clean towels!!!!!

I absolutely recommend this hostel!. Ask for a lower room as it has four floors and taking up all your luggage is not fun at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Explorers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorers Guesthouse

Address: No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Explorers Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your The Explorers Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Explorers Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Explorers Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.