We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BackHome KL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BackHome KL to your Saves list
BackHome KL
30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Amazing experience here at Backhome. Stayed at other different hostels in KL and other parts of Malaysia but still prefer here more than anything. Awesome staff and cozy cafe next door. Internet was also pretty amazing. Staff super knowledgeable and knows what are the best deals in town.

walking distance to metro.

Lovely place. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackHomeKL, Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your positive feedback for us. We hope that you had a great experience during your stay at BackHome. We hope to see you again in future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    118
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
66
142
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I can't add anything more positive that has been expressed. Location, staff, rooms and facilities, value, all aspects are outstanding.

If anything they could get a better wi-fi router for signal strength but I'm reaching...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackHomeKL, Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your feedback.
We did notice that our signal for WIFI is low. We are now trying to fix it and we will try our best to ensure that all area will get the strong signal for WIFI.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakorn Si Thamarat, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a few nights there last week with some friends. No issues with anything. Staff are super helpful, call you by name, super safe, good internet connection but only in main area, clean bathrooms, good location to some delicious India food, close to transportation, good price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackHomeKL, Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your positive feedback on us.
We are glad that you were really enjoy your stay at BackHome and we also hope that you get a great experience at here.

Hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We choose this hostel because of our travel guide recommendation and we were not disappointed. The building looks like a very spacious loft. The staff is very friendly. We stayed there for 3 nights, two in a 4 beds dorm and one in 2 beds room. Both were spacious and clean. Bathrooms were also clean, the offer free breakfast, it is not great but you can still have a better breakfast in LOKL cafe but it is not free.
Since we were finishing our trip in KL, we gave all clothes for their laundry service and it was washed, dried and folded the same day.
I will recommend this hostel to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackHomeKL, Manager at BackHome KL, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your positive feedback & thank you for trying to recommend us to your friends. Hope that you got a great moment at BackHome & LOKL cafe.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent two nights here with a group of friends. We had one 6 person room, and a private room for two people.

We really liked:
- The location (5-7 minutes from Masjid Jamek LRT Station)
- How clean everything was!
- The towels were soooo good. Much better than what we are used to at hostels/hotels even.
- The customer service. Staff were very, very friendly and really helpful. We got food recommendations, directions, and anything else we asked for (within reason, of course!).

We didn't like:
- The private room for two people was great, but it's location was right next to the common room area, and just a bit down from the lobby. So, if you are a light sleeper like I am, bring earplugs, because it will be louder than the other rooms.
- Wi-Fi signal worked only in the lobby area, and sporadically in the common area. Regardless, we couldn't get wi-fi in our private room (no signal at all), despite it literally being next to the common area/lobby. Our friends upstairs had no connection either. It was more annoying for them b/c they had to leave their room and go downstairs if they wanted to get wi-fi, while my gf and I only had to step outside our room.

Miscellaneous Notes:
- Breakfast was fine. Help yourself to bread, toast, etc. But with a McDonalds down the street, and coffee shops nearby, you definitely have better options.
- Bring a lock if you can. You can rent locks from the staff as well like we did. The key is very tiny though, so don't lose it!
- You have to give them a deposit for the blankets, room key, and towels. If I remember correctly...

Room Tip: If you're booking a private room for two, and you're a light sleeper, ask the staff beforeha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, 27th - 29th July, for a concert. Strategic location for public transportation (3-5min from Masjid Jamek LRT station), and not far from Chinatown. The room is clean and tidy, and locker is available in the room (remember to bring your own pad lock. Bed sheet is clean and blanket is provided. Hope the cafe is open when I next go to back Backhome KL. Strongly recommended for backpackers or any weekend layover who needs a budget room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is so clean and tidy it almost seems like a hotel... I stayed here for over 2 weeks, it is centrally located, close to public transport and cheap places for food. The beds are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only things that could be improved are the breakfast (it's just bananas and toast) and there is only one small fridge for your own food (although they're getting a bigger one next week). Apart from that it's great and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a dorm room in 602 or a double room to avoid the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BackHome KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackHome KL

Address: 30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BackHome KL is a boutique backpacker's hostel located in the heart of KL's historic district. We have converted a row of colonial-era shop houses into contemporary spaces with an emphasis on natural materials and light. Since opening in July 2009, Backhome has been ranked by Hostelworld as No.1 in Malaysia, one of the Top 3 Hostels in Asia, and Top 10 Hostels Worldwide. What makes us so popular?SPACE: We don't believe in cramping your style. You get large beds designed for privacy, with individual reading lamps and power-points. Our common areas are bright and airy, so it's easier to socialize.CUSTOMER SERVICE: Our team will passionately share their insider knowledge about local food, customs, and hideouts.SECURITY: We have 24-hour security cameras, individual lockers and a night-watchman to ensure your safety. CLEANLINESS: We have dedicated housekeepers and vacuum our mattresses regularly to ensure that our beds and rooms are exceptionally clean. We are the only hostel in Malaysia with a GUARANTEE. We promise that you will receive as much care, comfort and peace as you do at home... or we will give you a free night's stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your BackHome KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backhome Kl Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackHome KL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.