We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap cost and the nearest to Petaling Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tang City Hotel

Tang City Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tang City Hotel
Save
You added Tang City Hotel to your Saves list
95-97 JLN Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheap cost and the nearest to Petaling Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Please dont expect five star hotel service from here. Only for travellers who wants to travel cheap and convenient. Definitely for price bargaining lovers !

If you enjoy bargaining food and getting cheap food around and does not mind the crowd.
Come to the famous Petaling Street (Chi Chung kai). This is the place where you can buy cheap imitation items. Enjoy bargaining ! Nearby are some of the famous food stalls (water chest nut, longan drinks, spicy stingyray and squids, etc) which you should try it out as well.

Ive been staying at this hotel whenever i reach Kuala Lumpur.
Ranging price of RM 50 (for students) and RM 60 and above (depending on how many people staying in a room). Clean and very friendly staffs. They offered a place for you to put your bags if you decides to check out earlier.

Note 1: A night, sometimes it can be a bit noisy. As i heard people move around and children crying. This proved the hotel accommodate the family type, also for people travelling and reaching Kuala Lumpur late night.

Note 2: This place is no where nearby the MRT/Monorail. It is about 20-25 minutes walking distance. It can be tiring to face the traffic jam when you travel by cab. Make sure you dont meet the peak hour whereby everyone is rushing out for lunch or return from work.

Early reservation will save you a lot of hassle.
You can email them at info@tangcityhotel.com.my
www.tangcityhotel.com.my
Or ring them at (6)03-20702823 Fax: (6)03-20702822

Room Tip: Upper rooms are usually reserved for families. Any rooms is alright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The tang city hotel is located right in the centre of china town. The hotel has 5 floors however the lift only reaches as far as the 4th floor. The rooms are spacious with smoking hot water. Beds are reasonable and the staff are there to help with anything you may need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

the service is excellent!! i reach puduraya around 4am and need a place for prepare myself for the next day interview. most of the budget hotel will charge 1 night price if you check-in that hour but tang is the best which they really care about your need and allow you to check in as long as rooms availability without charging you extra. the hotel is quite old and the bedsheets have cigarette-burned holes and the heater for shower is not functioning. location is good as you can get foods just upon the entrance of the hotel. abit pricey during school holidays as you can get better place to stay with the same price. anyway, their service is good!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I came here on our first night in KL after a disastrous experience at the hotel we had originally booked. Thankfully they had rooms available.

There is nothing flashy about the hotel but it more than meets your needs and at 80RM per night is good value for money. The room was very clean, had a TV, A/C, free WiFi, and a kettle. Sheets and towels were changed daily.

The location is very good for sightseeing and there are numerous food stalls just outside the hotel.

We originally planned on staying for two nights and ended up staying for seven. Would definitely come back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to the budget/mid range traveller.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel itself is nothing special, you have to negotiate a mass of plastic tables to get to the entrance and then get a lift or climb the stairs to the lobby.

Once you get there however the lobby itself is nice and clean with friendly and helpful staff (one of whom even ran after me with my camera after I stupidly left it on the counter! I really owe her big time!!!)

The room was windowless which was a bit of a drawback but nothing worth putting you off (turn the lights out and it's a fantastic nights sleep away from the hustle outside), but it was spotlessly clean, en suite, air con, TV, etc, and the price was good too. Well worth the money.

They have internet access which they charge for, but it is reasonable.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, right at the end of Petaling street, the main tourist market in the centre of Chinatown. Yes there are flashier hotels with nicer rooms, but the price was perfect for midrange accomodation and you can't get a better or more central location. It was only a five minute walk to the LRT station too.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tang City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang City Hotel

Address: 95-97 JLN Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.