We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy DoubleTreeats Deal!
Ranked #19 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfy as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great place, it is my my favourite hotel in KL at this stage. This time is very busy period for the hotel. I still enjoyed the room and my overall stay.

Couple of little things which was mentioned many times before that they would improve but yet to be done since Hilton took over it.

Firstly, free in-room internet. Even if it is right now, we have to spend time at the lobby to connect to the internet for free. At least provide a faster internet speed, current speeds are too slow.

Secondly, free parking for guests. Not yet available but is troublesome to always go to a specific floor to the autopay station then again to the car.

Service is pretty good, but can be better if it was across the board. Room cleaning was a little bit stingy on the bath gels...when there is half a bottle left, for a few days they did not provide me with new ones the next day. This may be a small thing, but it irritates me alot. What is the big deal for soaps and shampoos when we are paying guests and regular customer?

Another thing was the lingering smell of sewage (bad smell) in the bathroom...I think it's from the drainage...not sure but it does linger the whole day.

This is just what I have found to be areas of improvements based on my last stay. It is NOT to say that I didn't have a positive overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Francis G,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I have noted your various comments and the teams are very focused on improving all aspects of the hotels service and facilities. The guest feedback we receive helps us identify the key areas. Please be informed we are presently having the in-room Wi-Fi installation and this will be operational by early March. Hence, there will be Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    581
    160
    45
    30
See reviews for
264
467
149
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It looks like newly renovated hotel . Booked this hotel for 1 night .Being Hilton gold we were upgraded to club room. This hotel lobby is on first floor. Club room was compact with modern interiors. Bed was very comfortable . Tried Club lounge breakfast - Nice variety with good service standard. Club lounge had ample space with good views . We were promptly given free wifi in room as being gold member. Service is prompt & courteous & there was feed back call from front desk regarding service . We did not try fitness centre nor swimming pool. Overall very good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ranju30,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you both enjoyed the stay especially the room, our Sweetdream bedding and Executive Lounge facilities. I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was given a room on the 22nd floor having a nice view of the non-downtown side of KL. While checking in they welcomed me serving chocolate cookies! It was my first time in any Hilton. The breakfast has a very typical Malay feel about it where I enjoyed a range of cuisines including Chinese and Indian. I tried the swimming pool, which was truly wonderful and it was in the open so that you can get a nice sunbath. One one of the evenings in my week long stay, I came across a Filipino music band performing a gig near the lobby. Overall, I liked the room and its contemporary decor.I also liked the room for having speakers which I could jack up with my phone to listen to music etc. From a location standpoint, it is ok and I did not face any hurdle in getting a taxi from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lagnajeet,

Thank you for staying with us, and I really appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the stay especially the room design, breakfast spread in Makan Kitchen and our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookies.

I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

this hotel is situated at jalan tun razak. nearby ampang park station. not far from KLCC. however, there is no signboard outside the LRT station directing to this hotel. as a result made a wrong turn towards klcc. called the hotel then only i got the right direction.

check in was a bit slow as the system is slow. given the cookies which is very nice. if u wanted more u can buy at RM42++/tin of 7.

got a room at level 24. nice view. the front is KLCC view and the back is ampang view. the room is nice - beds r comfy!! plus the pillow is just what i need.

bathroom is sexy as it is a see thru bathroom. feels like having bath right in the middle of KL. but if u dun like it, switch it off with a button next to the sink area.

free shuttle service to KLCC, pavilion

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear az412,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay especially the location, room, our Sweetdream bedding & pillow. I have noted your comment on the directional signage at train station. Certainly we will work with the LRT management for improvements.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Was ushered into the room different from the reservation staff mistake.
Prices paid by card to the travel agency, the request came from the hotel on the card as well.
There is no reply I sent the e-mail and fax to the hotel and I want a refund.
Correspondence of the hotel is very disappointing. Are you the money should be returned.
I will never come here again.

11月に宿泊しましたが、ホテルのミスで別の部屋に間違えて案内された挙句、その部屋の料金をデポジットのカードから引き落とされました。料金の二重請求です。
料金は旅行会社に支払い済み、もちろんバウチャーも印刷してホテルに渡しました。
ホテル滞在は問題なかったですが、返金を求めて支払い済みのバウチャーのコピーをFAXしたが返事もなし。その後メールもしましたが返事無し。
もう2度と泊まりませんがお金は返して欲しいです。

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear mika3067,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the challenges you have faced with your recent stay. I do acknowledge the team received your email early Jan 2013 and I am sorry for the delays in responding you. I appreciate you allow us another days to review your feedback.

Please accept my apologies again for the inconvenience caused.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Book two nights for two room.....check in is slow....taking their own sweet time. Many guess but only two counter use for check-in. Got my 2nd room at 4pm!. Was told that room was not ready but nothing is done (connecting room, I'm at next door) until 4pm they came and gave the key...(so i guess room is ready but they miscommunication between housekeeping and front desk.) Duty manager was ask to call back but only returned call after 2nd room key is handed over to me (4.15pm). He took care of the situation by giving me breakfast for full stay. Should i say thank you? Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Hidzir11,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I do understand your disappointment with the check in efficiency and the slight delay as many rooms were being turned over from the previous night. However, the reception should have asked housekeeping to ensure we had one quickly available for you. The teams are very focused on improving all aspects of the hotels service. The guest feedback we receive helps us identify the key areas.

Please accept my apologies again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed in Doubletrees in other countries and this is the worse one. The problem is not the hotel itself, which is very clean and elegant, it is the customer service.

My sister arrived, before us, from London after a very long flight. When she tried check in, she was told that she would have to pay MYR300 for "incidentals". She didn't have a credit card or cash at the time so she was not allowed to check in even though the room was fully paid for beforehand. She had to wait 3 hours in the lobby for me to arrive as I was coming from Bangkok. She hadn't slept for nearly a whole day so was starting to doze off in the chair. The staff approached her and told her that she could not sleep in the lobby and so she had to leave. I thought that this was disgusting treatment of someone who, not only had a paid for room, but was extremely tired after a 12 hour flight and naturally wanted to sleep. Shame on you guys. It's just disgraceful.

When I finally arrived, they again asked for this deposit, which I had not been previously made aware of, and again, since we don't use credit cards we were made to pay the deposit in cash. Other hotels just close your account if you don't want to prepay your incidentals. Why couldn't they just adopt this approach.

We booked 2 twin rooms which we asked to be close to each other. I was placed on the 24th floor and my daughter was on the 16th. ?????

You need to use your room key to operate the lifts and lot of the time the keys never worked. On several occassions I ended going up and down in the lift not being able to acutally press the floor I wanted. When I asked a member of staff if they could press the floor for me, I was told that they couldn't do this. It was completely ridiculous. I was in that lift for 10 minutes.

I would never return to this hotel. I was actually contemplating staying at Le Meridien hotel and I wish I had now. Very disappointment by Hilton standards.

Room Tip: However high up you are, you still hear the noise of the trains going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Abeigh,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I do understand your disappointment with the arrival experience and I apologize that your sister has to face the challenges after the long journey. Nevertheless I don’t want to review each point, as obviously your general disappointment is the main concern. Please directly write to me at Ian.Barrow@hilton.com with your reservation details and I can then provide you a better response.

Please accept my apologies again, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.