We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #14 of 254 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Their restaurants are great. Location is also pretty good. Clean and modern.
The foreign staff is far more polite than the locals when it comes to front desk. The restaurant experience was great: food and staff included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Atekka S,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed the stay especially the location and dining experience. I have noted your comments regarding the front desk staff, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused. The teams are very focused on improving all aspects of the hotel services.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    406
    128
    37
    24
See reviews for
192
347
111
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice stay with modern room design that transparent mirror view from both room to bathroom.
Just no nice view from guest room.
Memorable of their welcome/signature cookies. So good~
Should get a try to their in room dining foods if you have no idea where to eat outside.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Alvinscobyz,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay especially the room design and our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie. I appreciate your notes on the in-room dining menu.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Writing this from the property's EL (#3119). Second time staying here and the first time experience was sooo much better.Upgraded to Exec both times as Gold.

This 2nd visit is woeful. At check in, staff questioned if I knew any Hilton staff apparently because I had a low (THANKYOU) rate. Thought the question was totally unnecessary. When I pointed out that he did not return my HHonors card, he bluntly said No and went on serving next customer. I had to reach behind the counter and remove some printouts to show him that my card's there!

No newspapers in the morning, had to grab shared copies at Makan Place for breakfast. After the greeter at Makan Place noted my room no, me and another guest was made to stand for a full minute despite there being plentiful seats available. She seem more engrossed w her clipboard than the guests. After I'm finally seated, no offers of coffee/ tea. Had to ask a staff for tea and he went on to do other non-essential things like re-setting tables when the crowd is thinning out. Forgot my tea, had to ask his supervisor before tea is finally poured! Told myself breakfast at EL from now on!

Called for housekeeping at 6pm, but for 2 hours nobody showed up! Had to call "Careline" 2 times before the room finally gets made.

Despite the woeful service levels, the staff at the EL are great and highly trained. If only this attitude extends to the entire hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After staying in some rather questionable places (my travel partner's booking results) during my Malaysian trip, I was a little further put off when we arrived at this hotel especially when no help was forthcoming to assist with luggage from our taxi. Some kind guests then helped carry our bags up the escalator to the check-in area. My first reaction was quickly altered when experiencing the apologies firstly from reception re: the baggage, then staff going out of their way to assist us thereafter. The rooms were so comfortable and all services provided with the exception of wi-fi which could only be connected from in the lobby area. The views from the room were great, especially a very clear view of the Petronus Towers as well as KL Tower. Breakfast offered a great variety in a very well-run restaurant. The hotel itself is within walking distance of the Petronus Towers or a short taxi ride for 3-4 ringit. Overall, and though our stay was a much too brief one night I was extremely happy that our last night in Malaysia was here in this hotel. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear EricaD,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed the stay especially the location, room, breakfast spread and hotel facilities & services. I have noted your comment on the arrival experience, and I apologize for this. Nevertheless, I am glad the team were able to make it right for you.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc,Wisconsin,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I and my wife had a short stay at the hotel. We have had nothing but the best of evrything;Checking,room and especially the concierge service heade by Johan Antoin who went out of their way the help us with memorable kindness and compassion.

The Indian Rstaurant on the premises served the best Indian food we had any Indian Restaurant and they really helped my wife with Jain Meal.

But the best was the concierge service and the conceirge Johan. We highly recommend this hotel for the view,shopping,services and cleanliness. Wish they had more facilities for physicaly disabled people.

Room Tip: Choose one with a good view and the service desk will guide u well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear shah-71,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you both enjoyed the stay especially the arrival experience, room and how team looked after you. We are very proud of the team in DoubleTree by Hilton and we see regular examples of how the teams make those little gestures that mean so much to our guests. I will certainly pass on your message to the Johan.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you both back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is one of the best I've been in. Our room was very comfortable with enough wardrobe space for 4 people (even though it was just a double room), large TV, well stocked fridge and a beautiful 'wet room' style bathroom. Our views were great too. We had all the usual stuff provided in our bathroom; shampoo, conditioner, showergel, hand cream and soaps. Our towels and linen were changed daily (unless we hung the DND sign on the door nob).

Breakfast was the highlight for my other half; you could spend all day in the top floor dining area, with panoramic views over KL, sampling all the delights on offer. We didn't have to queue and were offered a seat on arriving.

The staff were friendly enough but not overbearing and were on hand whenever you needed them.

We stumbled upon the pool on our second day and from then on went there every afternoon to soak up the last of the day’s sun after being out and about on walks and tours of KL. The pool itself is rather cold as it doesn't get much sunlight due to being in the shadow of other buildings but this was a relief from the heat to be honest! We sunbathed and ate at the poolside's Italian restaurant, Tosca, before heading to our room to shower and change for the evening’s activities.

The hotel itself is in almost like a 'Mall' environment; the space you enter into is huge! There are a few shops dotted around, including some lovely bars and restaurants.

All in all a fantastic and comfortable stay in a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to a friend visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear jenloubro,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you both enjoyed the room, amenities, breakfast spread and hotel services. I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you both back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pleasant stay at this modern hotel. Check in reception with Fairus was quick and efficient, especially after a 20 hour plane ride. He welcomed us with warm chocolate cookies and even remembered my name during our 3 night stay. We had requested a non-smoking room before arriving and our room was clean, smoke free and modern. We especially loved the shower. We found all the staff, from the bellman, the reception desk, to the concierge very helpful and made our stay very comfortable and memorable. We ate at Tosca restaurant twice. Food and service was good.
A word of caution, stay away from the Austin Chase restaurant. It is located on the 2nd floor and is not part of the Doubletree Hotel. Worst breakfast ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MahTaiTai,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you both enjoyed the room, rain shower, foods quality and how Fairus looked after you. We are very proud of the team in DoubleTree by Hilton and we see regular examples of how the teams make those little gestures that mean so much to our guests. I will certainly pass on your message to the team.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree chocolate cookie and I look forward to welcoming you both back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.