We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay there again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of My Hotel @ Sentral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added My Hotel @ Sentral to your Saves list
My Hotel @ Sentral
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 1 Jalan Tun Sambanthan 4 | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will not stay there again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I reached the hotel in the morning around 11am and was told that there was no room available as the earliest check out time for their guests was at 12pm. The staff was helpful and offered to keep my luggage for me first so I could go out and settle my work.

I returned to the hotel at around 11pm. Wanted to take a shower but realised that the heater was not working. Called for help and they told me that I have to wait for around 10mins for the heater to work. Waited for more than an hour, called them several times, staff came up and still the issue was not resolved. In the end, after calling them several times, they said there was a problem and had to be fixed tomorrow morn.

It was very noisy at night with loud door banging noise whenever other guests closed their doors.

In the morning, the heater was still not fixed and I realised that the toilet flush was not working too! Decided to check out even though i booked for 2 nights. Even though I was offered a bigger room, I have no more confidence in the hotel and do not want to take my chances again.

Good thing was that they refunded me for one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    142
    95
    21
    13
See reviews for
66
71
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at least 2 to 3 times already. I always booked this hotel due to its proximity from the KL sentral terminal.

I booked for a Quad room more than a month ago before our travel date. However, when we arrived at the hotel, i was advised that all QUAD rooms are fully occupied because some guests have decided to extend their stays. They offered me 2 Double bed rooms instead with the rate similar to what they offered for my Quad ROOM which is MYR160 per nite (No BF). We stayed at Room 507 and 509. The cold shower on the higher floor has very low water pressure, although HOT shower has stronger water pressure. So it is little bit difficult mixing the water considering that the water is really hot. Free wifi is no problem.

We took a taxi from the hotel front to Midvalley megamall with total fare of only MYR 5. When we returned to the hotel at night and due to traffic, the fare reached MYR10. Monorail station is less than 5 minutes walk and the KL Sentral bus terminal to LCCT is approximately 5 to 7 minutes walk.

I noticed that the Summerview hotel is just several meters away from the hotel. I might consider trying this new hotel the next time we stay at KL.

Room Tip: Try the lower level rooms to get better water pressure from the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just returned from Kuala Lumpur last week and staying at this great hotel.
Its a budget hotel with compact room and clean wet bathroom. They regularly clean my room everyday and serve me a complimentary of 2 water bottle, a kettle with adequate coffee or tea to drink, the receptionist and all the staff is very friendly, its really give me a wonderful experience for my first trip to KL.

The best about this hotel is the location.....its A prime location. You can go anywhere with public transportation less than 10 minutes from the hotel (Monorail & LRT), You can get bus to LCCT from their bus stop in front of their hotel....very convenience.

Please keep it in mind that this is budget hotel, no swimming pool or concierge to assist you, the staff doing the best they can and that's enough. I will comeback again.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to find room in a high floor with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihui, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

this is the only hotel i use when i stay in KL, which on average is a few nights every 4 weeks. Just a 10 minute stroll from the railway and bus station from airport (both klia and lcct). So forget the taxi, even with luggage. Rooms are a good size and the bathroom is a wet room but remember to put the toilet paper out of harms way!! Nice flat tv on the wall with sufficient choice of english language channels and epl in season. Free wifi upon request but make sure you get signal on your floor. Hotel has no restaurant but there is old town coffee shop next door so even if its rainy season you can get food and drink and not get wet. Plenty of buffet style indian and malay restaurants in the area and also a leisurely stroll to monorail to city centre, and to metro lines in station. There are now 3 my hotels in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

It's quite a budget hotel. there are not many features in this hotel, besides i love the free wifi at each floor, so the network bandwith is quite good.
The hotel location is near monorail station, genting bus station, bus stop, mrt station.
The room is big and clean. Voucher for breakfast at old town white coffee.
Recommended hotel for tight budget tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms facing the busy street below are not double-glazed, and so most of the noise of bus horns, people taking loudly, was hardly slowed down.

It's not the hotel's fault there are no laws against driving on the horn, but it does not make for a restful night.

The room was clean, comfortable, but spartan. Maybe the toilet roll could have been moved away from the shower.

My advice - if there is one, get a room away from the street.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street must be quieter. No pool, no fitness centre so unfair to grade them as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is very near to KL Sentral about 400 metres away or within 10 minutes. Your travelling in Malaysia to anywhere is much easier via KL Sentral. The monorail is only 2 - 3 minutes away from the hotel.The room is clean and value for money. I booked only the room without breakfast in my package. I stayed for 3 nights at the room no 314 which was noisy from talkative people from the adjacent building. The facilities included 2 bottles of water, coffee-sugar-creamer and Free Wi-Fi in the room.Also, you can ask for hair dryer
if needed without any additional charge.

Room Tip: The room on the same side of the room no. 314 should be avoided because of noise from the adjacent b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to My Hotel @ Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel @ Sentral

Address: No. 1 Jalan Tun Sambanthan 4 | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — My Hotel @ Sentral 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax in one of the hotel's 49 guestrooms, all designed with guests' comfort in mind. Every room in the hotel offers guests television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, shower. Featuring elevator, safety deposit boxes, smoking room, this Kuala Lumpur hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. Offering guests quality accommodation since 2012, this hotel combines first-class service and the most modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your My Hotel @ Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Hotel @ Sentral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.