We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, funny smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of d'Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added d'Garden Hotel to your Saves list
d'Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 45, Jalan Jejaka 5 | Taman Maluri, Cheras, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Decent stay, funny smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for five nights in a windowless twin room with air-con. The room's pretty small as is the bathroom and there was a funny smell in the room that never seemed to dissipate. I hope it wasn't mold, but the ceiling in the bathroom looked a little suspicious and I got a cold during my stay. The air-con unit seemed to be capable of freezing the room no matter how high you upped the temperature. Also the free wifi in the hotel was quite unreliable, though it worked most of the time.

Those are the bad sides. Luckily there were plenty of good sides, too. The price of the room isn't bad for Kuala Lumpur (we paid promo prices of about 410 ringgit for five nights = 82 MYR per night) and the location (Cheras) is pretty quiet with many restaurants and an Aeon department store nearby. d'Garden is about one km (maybe less) from the Maluri LRT station, and from there exploring the city is easy. The room was clean and there were water dispensers in the public area on each floor, which was a nice plus.

The staff was alright, especially one hard-working girl who was very kind. Some seemed to speak very good English and the hotel's restaurant was decent. Breakfast was included in the room's price and though it usually had little protein in it, it was different each day and the buffet style guaranteed a full belly.

All in all, we had a quite pleasant stay at d'Garden Hotel. Without the smell and the crazy air-con unit, I could stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
7
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed there for about a week in mid February. Were plesantly suprised after reading all the bad comments. Got a free upgrade and for the price that we actually paid for the room it was very resonable.
Plesant staff at the reception, clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The room is slightly dusty and caused my wife and I to sneeze when the air-con is on... (not flu btw) For everything else it is great. Really convenient place to get to anywhere (if you drive) within Kuala Lumpur. Easy to park your car. Friendly staff and Great Breakfast (if you like it the Malaysian style)..

The room is rather small and not much place to put things but it is a budget place and for cleanliness of the room and bed its nothing to complain..

Big ups.. ill b there on my next trip..

Room Tip: Book in advance through their website.. It is way cheaper then calling in.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

From Maluri Station, we got upset where the locations of d'Garden, we tried to follow from the map but we didn't get the directions, after that we asked someone at 711 near station, and he told us that we have to cross the street by bridge and take a walk. After 15 minutes, we walked, and there you are, d'Garden hotel! I was so "super like" when I entered the lobby. The lobby and the rooms as I imagined before. Comfy, small and clean. The bathroom is too small, but its okay because its worth it from the price. The locations is so peaceful, no noisy sounds. In the morning, we had a nice breakfast, like muffins and kwetiauw also oranges juices.
If we will back again to KL, we would love to stay again at d'Garden hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The receptionist Winnie gave us a free upgrade and we really appreciate it. The room is really small but there was nothing much to complain about as we were out most of the time. Breakfast wasn't impressive but managed to keep us full until lunch. Location is a bit out of town (Cheras) and it is a 7 minutes walk to the Maluri Station. It is pretty safe to walk back at night as it is just located minutes away from Jaya Jusco Taman Maluri. The place is also safe as there will always be policemen hanging out at the lobby for their coffee breaks throughout the night. Overall a good value for those with low expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

d' Garden hotel is a good choice for budget travellers. Although its is not centrally located, the impressive breakfast set and cozy ambience makes up for it.

Our family stayed in this hotel for two nights and we are satisfied with the service, we were attended to promptly when we arrived and breakfast was ready for us as early as 7am (service time starts at 7:30 am).

Some noteable points:

1) rooms are small, as well as the bathroom. good thing there's hot/cold shower and bidet
2) the hotel sells drinks at the lobby
3) it has two internet ready computers at the lobby that guests can use for free for 30 minutes
4) Hotel also has free wifi for their guests (fast service) though since my room is at the end corner, so getting a signal is quite difficult
5) Breakfast constants: tea, coffee, juice and bread;
other breafast fare: on our first day, there was pancit/noodles, mixed vegetables and assorted rice cakes; on our second day, there was sticky rice wrapped in leaves and ham and cheese croissants
6) the hotel is also a place where their local police peacefully hang-out, which for me gives a sense of added security so i do not mind their presence there
7) to get a taxi, you have to walk around two blocks from the hotel


Overall, i highly recommend this hotel for budget travellers in KL.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

not worth it for money i spent.the room too small and ugly carpet.no mirror.dont trust the picture.its all fake.btw,there are waste water pipes in my room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to d'Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about d'Garden Hotel

Address: No. 45, Jalan Jejaka 5 | Taman Maluri, Cheras, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — d'Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
d’Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur | Best Budget Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia with 72 cozy rooms; family-owned hotel strategically located within the fringes of Kuala Lumpur with popular shopping complexes and night entertainment centre in Golden Triangle, Bukit Bintang just 10 minutes drive away. HOME AWAY FROM HOME! Guests on a trip to Kuala Lumpur can expect a pleasurable stay at d’Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur, feel the genuine hospitality and services that will make your visit like staying right at home. Our hotel offers affordable accommodation without compromising guest comfort, with modern amenities. We built our rooms to suit the needs of business and leisure travelers. Families who require both convenience and peace of mind will find our connecting rooms sufficient to complement the needs of the discerning travelers. The price is right for any budget-minded traveler, the location is strategic and most importantly we are CONVENIENT, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. Experience the spectacular sight of our indoor rock garden and mini waterfall. Convenient location and competitive prices are two advantages of booking a stay at d’Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your d'Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage d'Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.