We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel YY38

Save Saved
You added Hotel YY38 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel YY38
No. 38, Tengkat Tong Shin | Off Jalan Bukit Bintang,, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 258 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying this hotel as I like the location, low price and tiles floor (I do not like carpet floor which some are smelly). Its a small but clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel have no fridge and kettle for boiling water but they do have a water dispenser on every floor you can request for cups from them if you need it but its not provided in the room.

We reach the hotel at around 10plus in the morning but the check-in is at 2pm but upon request (as I have a baby with me) they actually let us check in early as there is available room. When I 1st steps in the room I feel the floor is dirty and dusty and it seem like they have not clean yet (Maybe because they try to give me a room early) but the next day & rest of my stay the room is clean and well. Their bed sheet have stain (I think which can't be remove while washing)but its clean cause I have very sensitive skin and I did not itch while sleeping on it. Noise level was quite ok but if you really have inconsiderate neighbours it is really noisy as whoever talk in the lobby outside the room we can actually hear it.

On my last day as my flight was in the evening, (upon request) I was given a room to wash up my baby when I return at 4pm for my luggage which was really a good will from them.

Last but not least do not ask the hotel to arrange for taxi as they charge 90RM and if u when 1 yourself going by meter its only about 60+RM

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
7
15
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

great location - unfriendly staff - no service - express 7 hr laundry service 50 % surcharge turns out to be 24 hr - management does not complaints - room rate collected in advance - insist on a proper printed receipt - on mine the crucial informations like room rate, deposit was illegible - this visit was another try to stay at yy38 - stayed there some years ago and got overcharged

Room Tip: insist on a room not facing the very noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

the hotel was average, small room but clean. the location was ok, close to jalan Alor and 5 minutes walk from Bukit bintang monorail station. we stayed here because was close of Bukit bintang road and we can say it was a good and cheap stay. I think is one of the cheapest hotel in that area.
has no restaurant but down the street are few restaurants and whit a 2 minutes walk you are reach jalan Alor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights, but this inexpensive boutique hotel was comfortable with good sized rooms with aircon. The staff are very helpful and the owner/manager loves a chat. There is fresh drinking water available from water coolers on every floor. Hotel is close to everything, with food and shopping and monorail only hundreds of metres away. I would recommend YY38 to the budget traveller who also likes to be close to the action and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

YY38 is a great hotel for travelers looking to be in the mix of KL for not too much $$. The staff here are the thing that stand out in my mind. They were extremely helpful and very security consciousness, which is great for travelers towing along a tablet and some camera equipment. The location is fantastic, being only a couple streets away from tons of bars, food and most importantly, the stalls and restaurants on Jalan Bukit Bintang. The room itself was not as clean as we would have preferred it, but nothing that would make us leave. The one thing was the sheets, which when we arrived had a couple of holes and unidentified stains on them. This was easily solved by going back to the lobby and asking for new ones, which the staff made very painless and did so immediately. The noise level was fairly low at night and the wifi was free as advertised. The metro is a 5-10 minute walk and the surrounding area is alot of fun to explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i've arrived at the hotel slightly before noon and they let me to check into the room. the room was big enough for a solo traveller.basic amenities were provided.keycard had to be scanned at the elevator panel to go to the intended floor.not to mention the hotel was strategically located. hair dryer and drinking water were not provided. overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My group had a 1 night stay at one of the themed loft rooms and it was a really comfortable rest after our Xmas outing where everyone partied hard. The staff were friendly and helpful in many ways. The room was beautifully decorated and was big enough for the 5 of us. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. There's limited parking available and drivers will have to be careful not to miss the entrance road as my friend had to take another 45minutes to make a turn back when he missed the entrance. The hotel is near many malls and eateries. But be careful of cars in the area after midnight, eps if you have friends who are drunk and can't walk straight.

Room Tip: Give the theme loft rooms a try even though they are a little pricier. It's higher and away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel YY38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel YY38

Address: No. 38, Tengkat Tong Shin | Off Jalan Bukit Bintang,, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel YY38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel YY38, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.