We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family Liked It!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D-Villa Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added D-Villa Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our Family Liked It!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We, kids 6 and 9 and partner, stayed in suite 1003 for 4 nights. It had 5 separate rooms , if you include the small kitchenette, and was spacious and clean and reasonably quiet with the balcony doors closed. It had an excellent view of KLCC and the towers about a kilometre away. There were 4 separate aircons but no separate TV in the main bedroom. (I like to watch tv in bed.) The shower was a generous size and clean. The hot water needed to be manually turned on and ran out once but was okay once we got the hang of it. There is a universal power point for shavers. The beds are typically firm and we had high pillows originally but these were changed for lower and softer ones at our request. The traffic in Jalan Ampang can get tedious around peak hour. The bus stops 30m from the hotel but the hotel has an excellent driver that would run us to the towers for 5RM (and about 5 mins) and to the Lake Garden for 10RM (we gave him 20). There is no close-by metro, unfortunately, and the area immediately surrounding the Villa has very few restaurants or shops. There is a small general shop at the rear of the Villa. On the first morning the small buffet breaky in the downstairs cafe was good, with Mortarbak and Rotis on offer as well as eggs and toast. Not as good on the other mornings but still okay. The first night we stayed they told us that the power would be turned off from midnight to 6am and we were concerned about the heat. When we woke, after a good sleep, we couldn't tell how long it had actually been off. The kids enjoyed using the pool and we had dinner in the restaurant on one night and it was fine. We did not smell any of the cigy smell, mentioned in other posts, in our room. As an economical base for a family to get to the the KLCC and surrounding sites, we thought it was good.

  • Liked — Size of the room, value.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
38
13
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which was ideal for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We stayed here twice and on the second occasion got upgraded to the deluxe apartment. Both styles are great. Clean modern, nicely decorated and views of the twin towers and city. I would recommend the upgrade to deluxe, for the nice furnishings and decorations. The hotel photos are accurate. I didn't like the look of the breakfast on offer, so it was get breakfast when out for us. There is a Deli France and grocery store just next door however. You do need to get a taxi (very cheap) to get around and at peak hours you may have to wait a while and then you will be stuck in traffic. Best to plan to travel off-peak. Buses go right past the front too.

  • Liked — High standard of rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at Holiday Villa for three nights while visiting a company

in Kuala Lumpur.

Overall the hotel provides good conveniences with rooms being

equipped with kitchenettes.

Also the location is very good with easy excess to the main Kuala

lumpur attractions.

The only complain we had was the cigarette smoke that was present

through out the hotel.

The front lobby resembled a bar filled with cigarette smoke.

Also our room smelled of smoke and we were unable to be moved to

a different room because the hotel was fully booked.

It appeared to us that the hotel does not have any non smoking rooms

designated , at least there was no indication of that.

We hope that Holiday Villa will improve in that regard by taking its

non-smoking guests into consideration.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokelau
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

A friend recommended the place and we went for it. What a disaster.

We stayed at this awful place for a month in Aug 2007. I just hate the place. The lobby was always full of people sitting around - as if it was a bus station. The location is not good if you don't like walking, there is a dead shopping mall across the road with 3 food outlets of which one was really bad (the tom yam (thai soup) was diluted = no flavour). Getting a taxi outside this hotel wasn't a nice experience. The taxi drivers just refused to use the meter and basically, I was scammed every time I took a taxi. The hotel room itself - well, there were cockroaches - we bought an insect spray and in the morning we counted our 'catch' , hmmm...50 cockroaches and I am not joking. The view from our room is good -the Petronas Twin Towers, but it didn't do much to cheer us up. I never want to see the hotel again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

Applying for a Thai visa, I stayed there for a few nights in Feb 07, but should have chosen elsewhere instead.

The view I had from my single bedroom suite of the Twin Towers was nice, but the towels in my room had holes in them, the safe wasn't working because the batteries hadn't been checked before check-in, the refrigerator wasn't turned on, the elevator made a squeeking sound that made you think twice about getting in, no Internet anywhere & the business center closed for Chinese New Year.

Combine this with being the bell man teaming up with the taxi driver saying "you can't use the meter to go the airport, the charge will be 80 RM" Once inside the taxi it clearly mentioned "Airport = taxi fare + 12 RM surcharge + toll (about 4 RM) paid by customer" All together 1 hour's drive later the total would have been around 60 instead of 80 versus 19 RM for a bus to Sentral Station (8 RM) followed by a taxi to the hotel (11 RM) on the way in. Poor breakfast & room rates charged incorrectly topped it off.

While choosing the place initially because of it's location opposite the Thai embassy, I would never come back here again and would choose the Corus, Sucasa or Royal Princess any time over this place.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Stayed at the KL Holiday Villas for three nights. We had a two bedroom apartment. Very spacious and clean. Had everything we needed. The hotel location is out of the city centre, but a cheap fare in a taxi takes you where you want to go.
Organised all our taxi's and a day trip to the Elephant Sanctuary through Zamry near the front desk. Did a huge amount of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2005

Stayed at the hotel for 3nights, upon check in, I was told that I didnt have a reservation. ( hotel error).
Staff was friendly but not knowledgable enough on tourist attractions.. Room service was bad as my food was pre-cooked and probably microwaved upon ordering bcos part of my 2 dishes was half cold!
Overall, stay & rooms were pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D-Villa Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.