We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Hub to your Saves list
Travel Hub
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15-17A Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location was great, though it was a bit difficult to find the hostel at first. The rooms were nice and clean, the beds comfy. Free simple breakfast included with the rooms. The staff is friendly. The hostel is located in Chinatown but just off the side so it's not noisy at all. But it's close to trains and buses and night markets. There's a swipe card to get into the hostel which is nice and makes it feel even more secure. There are free lockers in the rooms - the hostel provides a key. You just have to give a key deposit. The dorm room dorms don't lock though, but as long as you put your valuables in the lockers it's fine. Each bed has it's own plug and lamp - so nice and convenient. Rooms also have airconditioning. And towels are available for a few dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
18
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been using Travel Hub as a base in KL. It's good value for money, especially in KL, as well as in a good location. It's in Chinatown but a block away from the markets so it's fairly quiet. It's a 5 min walk to the bus and train station.

We have been staying in a private room (shared bathroom) upstairs. Although basic, it's clean and spacious. Wifi signal is temperamental from these rooms, it's best to use wifi from the common area downstairs.

The staff are friendly and helpful with information and can organise ongoing transport as well as walking tours and cooking classes.

A basic breakfast is included in the price (coffee/tea/toast) but it can get busy in the mornings in the small kitchen area.

If you want a simple, clean room at a good price, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Opt for an air-conditioned room - it gets pretty hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a good base to explore KL City. The guesthouse is just off the main drag in China Town, so you do not get as much noise as if you stayed within China town.
The entrance looks new as there is very little in terms of signage telling you that you are here! The staff are friendly and even though the accommodation is basic, it is fairly clean.
It is located just a few minutes walk from Pasar Seni station, so a great place when you need to get into town or use the train system.
Breakfast is very basic - just bread and there is free tea and coffee all day.
We did look around a few other places close to us and this seems to be the best in terms of location and money you will find in KL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Likes: location is near sentral market and near pasar seni MRT station.
there is a direction from Maharajalela train station to the hostel.
I stayed in a single room. It is basic and clean, toilets are clean too. There's a lift to go upstairs. Breakfast is basic: bread and jam plus tea and coffee.

Dislikes:
wifi only works on some part of the lobby so people are crammed in a small room just to get the wifi.
There are only 2 toilets on the third floor that has 10 rooms. Taking turns can be really annoying. I had to take a shower at midnite due to the queue.
No mirror in the room. It is a problem if you were a girl needing to put on some make up.
The entrance for the hostel is very small so it is rather hard to find.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Travel Hub is an excellent backpacker's in Chinatown, near the Pasar Seni MRT station. The place is slightly hard to find with signage being very non-descript and the front door gives no indication of the place, which isn't a typically good indication as to the quality of the place.

I was pleasantly surprised though as the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The cost of a single bed room was just under $25 Australian per night. While the room looks uncomfortable, the bed and pillow were surprisingly soft and the room was fairly quiet when considering that the floors are wooden and the floor I was staying on was fairly full. The street noise was fairly continuous throughout the night, but not a major problem.

Perhaps the only problem is that the bathrooms need some more maintenance. One had a broken door handle, while the other bathroom had a broken shower system and the lock was falling off. While the shower system was repaired earlier in the week, it was busted again by the end of my stay and the lock was coming away from the door. This left only one functionig shower for 16 rooms.

That aside, this is still an excellent stay and should I return to Kuala Lumpur, I will definitely stay here again. The location, staff and comfort of the room were well and truly worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hostel is decently priced for what it is but I had a few things I did not like about it. They do not let you wear shoes inside the hostel, and will come knock on your door to tell you off if they see you doing it. I hated that I could not wear flip flops into the communal bathrooms. If they have to put up a sign in the toilet telling you not to pee on the floor, surely it would be reasonable to let you wear shoes? At least provide you with flip flops for the bathroom only. I really hated having to go barefoot into a communal bathroom, especially when floor was wet.

It was located very close to Chinatown. This may be a good thing for some people, but China town in KL was definitely not the nicest part of the city. Staying in Little India may have been nicer here. (New little India/brick fields)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The furniture looked new.

My room wasn't ready when I arrived (7PM) and I had to wait about one hour for it. You have to leave your shoes at main entrance. The Wi-Fi signal was very poor in the room. I asked the guy at reception how much would be a taxi to KL Sentral at 4AM in the morning, he told me 30RM. I managed to get one on the street for 15RM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hub

Address: 15-17A Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Hub 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Travel Hub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hub Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.