We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Hub to your Saves list
Travel Hub
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15-17A Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 265 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Asten, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very good hostel in Kuala Lumpur. Perfect location, good service, free wifi and pc, clean shower/toilet and very nice staff!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
18
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Travel Hub is definitely the best hostel in KL. And I claim that without having seen any other place. It's a wonderful, relaxing oasis on the edge of Chinatown, which is conveniently off-side from all the city's noise and hassle, though still in the center and perfectly connected to all public transport, restaurants and shops.

The place is absolutely charming, nicely decorated and for the very reasonably price you probably couldn't find a better value. The big and very comfy common area has the right atmosphere, you'll meet a good bunch of other travelers of all sorts, and staying long-term makes it rather feel like a sort of community where everybody comes back to when in KL.

However the best thing besides all that and free tea and coffee and breakfast is the owners. In this family run place, the incredibly lovely loveable staff with an ever big smile is doing everything they can to make your stay most pleasant and happily provide you with all the right information for getting around KL and Malaysia. And once in a while preparing very nice traditional Sri Lankan food for the guests. All this in fact makes it quite hard to leave. Which is to their advantage, of course (=

Staying there for nearly four months, they really provided the best temporary home for me, and I'm very happy to have found the place. So, don't expect a Hilton, of course, but the most decent, honest, easy-going and wonderfully nice place that easily becomes your temporary home after just one day.

Thank you guys.
-Moritz

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

From the first ring of the downstairs entry bell I was greeted with warm smiles and down to earth hospitality by adorable mom and her daugthers of Sri Lankan heritage that speak beautiful Brittish English. The night clerk is a very sweet Persian boy whose humble and helpful attitude made me feel protected. He even offered me some delicious walnuts from Iran. What a gem of a person. Beautiful people always make beautiful surroundings. Super clean and happy environment. 4 showers, 3 toilets, a large pantry area for having some free coffee supplied by the family. There is also FREE WIFI, cable TV in a large sitting room, and a house computer to connect if you don't have your own. There are security lockers and place to keep you bags behind their check-in desk. There are also private rooms with single and double occupancy. There is also a smokers room.The dormitory is just wonderful w/15 beds available bunk-beds. I slept like a baby each night in a very comfortable top bunk. You would imagine a dormitory to be noisy and hard to sleep but everyone is so conscious that it is as if you are in a private room. I took advantage of the valuable experiences of other travelers while here. That is the beauty of a hostel. The location in the heart of China town is near two train stops. The Monorail, Maharajalela and the LRT Pesar Senai are both a short hop skip and a jump from the Travel Hub. Fresh coconuts from Lawrence a very friendly Chinese man just up at the larger road made me happy each day. I will always return here to their smiling beautiful faces when I return to Kuala Lumpur. And the city is not so packed w/people. You can breathe here even in the trains there is plenty of places even in the city where you just don't see anyone. Makes me feel at peace being here. And the city is very clean and the people almost all speak english and are very very helpful. Very nice smiling people. They all look intelligent here. Such a wonderful place Malaysia. Now I am about to go out of the city and explore the islands. Love you Angelo Dinoto Amrtamsa [Naidee] on Facebook

Room Tip: take a dorm room no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I read great reviews about the Travel Hub - it seemed to be the only budget guest house with no reports of bedbugs - so booked in for a three-night stay. The place is ostensibly clean; it's very quiet (so quiet that a sleep-in after a big night out is easy); the staff and family who run it are very friendly; and it's cheap as chips (around RM 29-30 for a single fan room, with breakfast and WiFi included). At this price the room is, predictably, little more than a bed with walls; and one must walk between the ever-present lounging backpackers and TV set to access the bathrooms, kitchen or reception desk, which makes things kind of uncomfortable.

The most disturbing part of my stay, however, was on the third night when I discovered multiple red bites appearing on my lower legs after sitting on the bed for a couple of hours. I spent the next few hours picking off what looked like tiny little black mites. Bed bugs are probably unavoidable when tourist traffic if busy, particularly in budget accommodation. But I have since written to the Hub to inform them of this problem and received no response.

If you want a cheap place to crash as you explore the metropolis of KL, this is a good place to do it; and parasitic nocturnal companions are, presumably, an unavoidable component of budget travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very happy to arrive safely after dark and be met by a kind smiling face. My room was clean and the bed comfortable, and thankfully with a reliable air-con. I stayed 2 nights as a stop over. Hearing the call to prayers outside the window was a treat. The shower and kitchen were basic but clean and functional. Situated in a great location 5 min walk to bus, train, monorail and night markets. The buildings in the area are old and difficult to maintain so don't expect modern sparkling luxury. The staff are efficient and quite adorable. I remember the youngest daughter singing and dancing as she cleans and paints freshly the walls. The place is kept neat and clean, with sweet homely decoration. The family touched my heart with their lovingness. Thank you so much .. <3 ..... I will be back !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of guest houses in KL, and so far this is one of the best. It's a family run business, and they're all really friendly and helpful. If you have any problems, they'll do whatever needs to be done to resolve the issue. The guesthouse gets a good cleaning every day, and most importantly, there aren't any bedbugs. There's coffee and tea 24 / 7, toast for breakfast, if you can get up that early, and a sink and fridge in the kitchen area. The location is perfect, hidden in a quite part of Chinatown, and as the name "Hub" implies, right in the middle of a triangle between 3 different metra lines (yellow, green and purple lines). The premises' are secure, you have to be buzzed in, so need to worry about non-guests wandering in and disappearing things. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff bend over backwards to make each and every person feel valued and important. Not to mention the fact that they run a very efficient place. While the place is definitely "budget" and meant for the budget traveler, it makes up for it in its location and staff. Moreover, the staff is more than happy to give all sorts of advice of where to go and what to see in KL.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hub

Address: 15-17A Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Hub 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Travel Hub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hub Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.