We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be the best attraction in KL but with a touch of racism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaria KLCC

Aquaria KLCC
Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre Complex | Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
+603 2333 1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 189 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the bustling "Golden Triangle" of Kuala Lumpur and within walking distance from the Petronas Twin Towers, Aquaria KLCC is a state-of-the-art oceanarium showcasing over 5,000 different exhibits of aquatic and land-bound creatures over a sprawling 60,000 square-foot space in the Concourse Level of the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Might be the best attraction in KL but with a touch of racism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I like the place very much. It is one of the best aquariums I've ever seen and I saw quite a lot :) Plenty of interesting animals and fishes. One can easily spend hours there.

What I didn't like it's unfair treatment. As a foreigner I had to pay twice more than malaysians. It's very common in Malaysia and it's pure racism. They treat me differently only because I was born in another place and don't have malaysian ID. It is demeaning both for foreigners and malay people.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good Day Ju_Travel,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    733
    366
    56
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

So many this to see here - the kids loved the sharks and the experience that this aquarium has to offer and will recommended to family and friends

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings Mohd A,

Thank you again for choosing to visit us at AQUARIA KLCC and thank you for the wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Skip the Petronas Towers and go Aquaria. 50Rm for tourists. There are all kinds of animals not just fish and sharks. Snakes, frogs, spiders, sea rats.. Didint see any food or drinks available so eat first because this one might take some time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear anssitanssi,

Thank you again for the fantastic feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, just don't visit on weekend afternoons....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Finally made it this time on a Saturday afternoon. Our kid was under 3 so he got in for free which was a good start.

However, Saturday at 4 turned out to be not the best time to visit in my opinion. There were way too many people and as a result it was quite hot in some of the tighter corridors. Plus we couldn't really see some exhibits comfortably as there were too many people crowded around it such as the piranhas during feeding time. If you want a comfortable relaxing time then you're better off coming in much earlier or go during weekdays.

Otherwise, the Aquaria was pretty nifty. Lots of variety, good descriptions and a nice layout. The place also looked very well-maintained.

My kid loved most of it, every now and then he'd go 'mummy daddy look!' Lots of close-ups with the fish and other creatures, he absolutely loved the turtles.

Can we get rid of the fake diver mannequin in the aquarium though?

All in all, it was great, just if you plan to go weekends, go in the morning it should be better :p

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There is not much to say about it - just excellent. Fishes, fishes, fishes:) Not huge, but quite big and impressive.

But I don't like the racial discrimination. Foreign tourist must pay twice more then malay people. So - I must pay more only because I have another nationality. It's racism. If you insist that it's demeaning, sometimes they allow you to buy normal ticket.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaria KLCC also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Aquaria KLCC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaria KLCC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.