We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly improved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 264 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Greatly improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed 5 days end of April 2014, and loved it. Had previously reviewed it in 2012 and was underwhelmed. But this time it seemed to have changed a lot and the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Rooms were still just as good, pool still great, but the place felt more cheerful. Would recommend to anyone. We had a premier room, so at night could turn the air on off and have the door to the balcony open. Much nicer that way. Really glad we went back.

Room Tip: The Premier rooms have balconies so you can have fresh air at night rather than air on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear MBKroving,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying at with us for the second time and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel and noticed the vast improvement since 2 years ago. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    752
    443
    131
    42
    25
See reviews for
276
646
98
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed there for a week for our holidays. Pavilions rear entrance is next street and also close to Bukit Bintang and Jalan alor. Very nice hotel. My wife liked the Buffet continental breakfast a lot. Royale chulan fed us the breakfast like a mother with care. Staffs are smiling, polite and very helpful. Will definitely recommend to any one.

The only negative (for the sake of) I found was the Toilet in our deluxe room. When you take shower, water leaked outside the door for some reason. The corners of the floors inside the bathroom was black, was it mould!!!?. I mention this as an opportunity to improve.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Govin R,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We always look forward to our guests feedback on a daily basis, positive and negative, and rest assured we are constantly taking measures to ensure improvements with regards to maintenance and the quality of our service.
I apologise for your unfortunate experience in your room and the bathroom. We have discussed our shortcomings with the relevant
departments responsible and have taken appropriate measures to avoid recurrence
We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip

The Good
- Location – near Pavilion Mall
- They serve a lot of options in their breakfast buffet
- The rooms are dated but well maintained
- The room that I was assigned in was huge, it has separate show and tub
- Internet provided was of good speed

The Bad
- I have nothing to mention in this area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Gilbert B,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. This hotel exceeded our expectations. the rooms were great and spotlessly clean, very spacious. breakfast was amazing! Absolutely a choice of everything you could possibly think of from all different cultures. We had afternoon tea in the lobby bar and it was delicious too with good service. Great location for the shopping malls and Petronas towers. The hop on hop off bus stops very close by to the hotel which made getting around very easy and everything is a cheap cab ride away too. Would def recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a pool view they have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear caribbeanloverlondon,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Good location near shopping hub and easy access to all KL attractions . Buffet lunch is excellent like the breakfast. We enjoyed the pool very much,. Ambiance is attractive with helpful staffs.Real value for money

Room Tip: Rooms having mountain view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear ShadatShahin,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here after a long flight from the UK and the hotel was beautiful. The room was amazing with a large 2 person bath, double shower and a really comfortable bed. The location is great and we found it really easy to get around. The hop on/off bus stop is also a 2 minute walk down the road. The pool was over crowded and not that great and the hotel does have an anonymous feel to it which i dont usually experience in such nice hotels. Still a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Seeb08,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very good hotel and cosy room but the staff service need more improvement and lack of product knowledge. Breakfast was good but not perfect. Supposed to start at 6.30am but ended up we waited until 6.45am. Just 1 staff worked at that time until 7.15am more staffs appeared to work. No hot drink were offer. The staffs busy with their paper works instead. Noodle station is self service. So u have to cook your own noodle by yourself. Actually Royal chulan hotel kl is one of the top hotel in kl and room is up to M.O, Shangri-la, Hyatt these leading hotels standard but service is just like 3 stars hotel. As I missed the last shuttle to bkt bintang and one the concierge staff who wear black jacket said " if u want to take shuttle then have to wait until tmr". Such an ridiculous and unacceptable answer..

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear ng k,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

First allow me to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We take all comments very seriously so you can be rest assured; we are looking into the unfortunate incidents which have occurred to you during your stay with us. Allow me to also apologise on behalf of the management for the less than satisfied services and inconveniences that you encountered during the breakfast and the request for the shuttle service, which are not to the usual standard at The Royale Chulan.
The respective departments have been notified of their flaws. All our associates have taken into accord that on top of warm and friendly service, proper attentiveness and time management is of utmost importance when serving our guests.
We hope that you will give us a another opportunity to prove that we are still offering the best service in the city and allow us to prove our dedication to you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;