We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay at in Bukit Bintang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Frenzy Free Upgrade Promo
Ranked #15 of 270 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel to stay at in Bukit Bintang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect for a business traveler. Stones throw away from Pavillion and the rest of shopping and dining establishments in Bukit Bintang. Rooms are big, clean, with a local charm. Excellent service from the staff. I recommend staying at this hotel if you are in KL for business!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ryan Pangilinan

Ican’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose orur hotel while you were in Kuala Lumpur. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    467
    142
    47
    28
See reviews for
287
692
104
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dhaka
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our room had a nice view of twin towers. Breakfast was good. Hotel is really big and nice. In a central location. Close to Pavilion shopping mall. Check out and check in was quick. Nice pool. Free Wi-Fi. Overall good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mashuralam

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chose this hotel from Tripadvisor. We arrived about 9am and was able to move into our room early and then we had breakfast in the club lounge all of this was not expected. Had a nine day stay and couldn't complain about anything, our room was made up early every day imaculately.
Breakfast was great and all the staff were very polite and helpful. Will certainly stay at this hotel if I visit in the future.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Blueberry93

Thank you for your stay and for kind words about our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is huge and you can really get lost in it,

I stayed in it from 1st of June till 4th of June 2013 where I stayed with my wife and a two year old,

As soon as we arrived, they up graded us to a suite which was very nice of them. The suite is nice, modern but a bit in need for maintenance. For example, some lights do not work, bathroom door does not lock for some reason,

Negative is food!! breakfast has No variety and the focus is local Malaysian food which is heavy for something to be eaten in the morning, other than the eggs stations and somethings here and there, it is very limited,

Other restaurants we tried the Heritage and the Chinese restaurants, both menues are very limited and again we may not have enjoyed food much in this hotel,

Stff are very nice and friendly,

Overall, recommended and I am sure you will enjoy their service

Room Tip: Try to pick rooms with twin tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Belal30,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously.

I apologise for the less-than-satisfied experience you had with us especially on the dining experience. We will certainly look at this matter in having more variety on the buffet breakfast selections.
Again thank you for your feedback and we would certainly like to welcome you back one day for another chance and serve you better

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed in 3 other five star hotels in KL and think that this (which is also the newest) is by far the best. The standard rooms are of a high standard and the buffet breakfast is immense. The outdoor pool area is also nice - the pool is of a good size which allows you to have a decent swim and, unlike some other KL hotels, the sun seems to shine on it for most of the day. Bukit Bintang (which is the main tourist area and where most shopping and eating places are located) is a convenient 5 minute stroll out of the back of the hotel.

One slight reservation I had about this hotel which almost prevented me rating it as excellent was the training of staff - there were a lot of them, but at times there were a few mix ups during our stay with bringing bags up to our room and, most importantly in ordering a taxi. On a couple of occasions we wanted to walk outside and get a taxi ourselves but the hotel insisted on ordering one for us (on one occasion despite us explicitly saying we didn't want it). When the taxi arrived they would be overpriced and even metered taxis would not keep to the meter. We were told that this was because the hotel took a very high commission from the taxi company for booking it. This is something to be aware of - a taxi to the international airport should cost 60-70RM, not the 100+ that the hotel quotes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear 242Paul

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’. Your feedbacks in ordering the taxis at the hotel and the staff training are very valuable to us as we can quickly take action and improve the hotel sytem.

We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon .

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

5 min. To reach to pavilion mall and they have shuttle transportation in morning not evening. I recommend this hotel to young man and who like walking in roads. The breakfast is repeated every day etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sultan A

Thank you for staying at the Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel was chosen by a conference organizers, but it was a good choice. the hotel is located in a convenient spot a walking distance from Petronas Twin tower and the KL convention Center. the building looks very nice from the outside and the staff are very decent and helpful, smiley faces where every you go, yet they don't impose on you, you can actually enjoy as if no one is around and at the same time you know they would jump for your help if you should need any. Beautiful huge lobby, beauty salon with the most amazing hair dresser "Julia" make sure to give it a try :)
the rooms is big, nice bed and super comfortable, well i can see it's luxurious kind of. if you are in a room without a view like mine make sure to go on the penthouse "Chulan View" it's basically a huge glass room almost always empty the view is sensual.
p.s the hotel accommodates a lot of conference participants and work trips apparently so breakfast is a bit of a crowd, you need to wait to be seated, the breakfast itself was not appealing for me personally so I had to skip it and try to grab something on the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear AlyakascaBilal

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. Its good to know that enjoyed your stay here. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.