We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay....great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay....great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed there for three nights for my honeymoon. Great hotel with a great location. A walking distance from the pavillion malls and the twin towers. the room was large with a large bed, two chairs and a round table, a desk and a balcony. The view from the balcony was not impressive though. One thing is that for breakfast you had to stand a long queue till a table is free and to check in the restaurant with the room number which made me a bit dissappointed, but this may be due to the fact that it was during chrismas and new year... Overall, i enjoyed my stay there...would surely recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Asubhi

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We appreciate your comments and would like to apologise for the long wait during your breakfasts. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously.
We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to KL .

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    608
    191
    56
    31
See reviews for
374
889
130
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

You really feel as though you are staying in a 5 star hotel here. We arrived late after a fight but the staff on reception had as check-in quickly. Our room was huge, on the same level as the pool which was very handy when we wanted a swim in the huge inviting pool.

We fancied a snack (it was 10pm) but not a full meal so we went to the beautiful bar on the ground floor and sunk into a lovely plump sofa and explained to the lovely hostesses (couldn't call them waitresses they were too beautifully dressed) and they produced a snack menu along with the drinks menu. We had 2 of the most delicious little freshly made hamburgers and fries beautifully presented on white plates and washed it down with 2 excellent glasses of Aussie red. Just what we wanted!

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I think I have ever seen (and I've seen a few) there was everything you could think of there, I love Indian food bit I wasn't up for it at breakfast unfortunately because it looked great. Stuck to the western which was very good, only lacked maple syrup for the naughty waffles (they had honey).

Ate at the french hotel restaurant one night, think it is called L'Hermitage. You really could have been sitting in a fine French restaurant in Paris, the decor was excellent, mirrors, Louis furniture, fresh flowers, just beautiful. Fabulous meal, with an amuse bouche to start and a sorbet between courses, really top notch stuff. Oh how could I forget the waiter was excellent as well, good English and happy to take a photo for us. Not that expensive for the quality of the food and the whole experience.

Every time we walked through the hotel we were greeted and smiled at by any staff we came across, even when we looked hot and exhausted! The concierge and his team were wonderful every time we asked a question they were happy to show us where to go and call us a taxis.

A really good big hotel experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Suzannah A,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on us. We welcome all your feedback and comments. Thank you for the generally positive gestures and kind words and glad that you enjoyed the variety choices of our buffet breakfast and experienced the French-style fine dining at L'heritage Restaurant as its also an award winning restaurant.
We hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur soon and we look forward to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton md.u.s.a.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked a package trip flight & hotel with American express travel services 2 rooms 4 nites for 6 pax....I decided to book another room (3rd room )...the hotel is about 5 mins. walk to pavilion mall...mins drive to twin tower,royale chulan is indeed a 5 start hotel,very classy...we enjoyed our night out at the hotel heritage club with local and Filipino band...both band are great perform multi lingual song hits...dancing dining and drinking...we tour the twin tower is very pretty at night with different international restaurant, we took a guided day tour to batu cave,kll tower ..our room are very spacious and elegant,from room to hallway,to lobby lounge...definitely I recommend this hotel...honorable mention our guided tour is very knowledgeable of the area which he was born and raise...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Perry986,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. I am very pleased that you were well received at our hotel. Glad to know that you and the rest enjoyed your stay and were well entertained at the Heritage Club and had a memorable time visitng some of the city attractions. We are constantly upgrading our entertainment outlet inorder to satisfy the entertainment needs of all our internal guests locally and internationally.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to be serving you again soon

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights and it was great! A five star hotel with a good location. I walked a couple minutes to reach the bridge that connect the Pavilion Malls and KLCC. No need to take a taxi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Large room, a balcony with a chair, a spacious bathroom (contains closet, standing shower, and a bathtub; all separated).Every morning, a newspaper is hung on our room's door. An ironing board, hairdryer, a foldable make up mirror; welcome fruit basket and hand towel came in nice packaging. Wifi is free, get the password from the receptionist. Overall, I found myself really enjoy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Heni 888,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. Yes, the hotel location is very ideal as it is located just next to Bukit Bintang shopping areas and minutes away to KLCC.
We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and we hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Impressive hotel which has the wow factor when you walk in.

The check-in was fast and the staff very professional and efficient. It is only a short walk/taxi ride to the Petronas Towers and the KLCC. We stayed in the apartment accommodation which had two spacious bedrooms, two bathrooms, an equipt kitchen/diner with a washing machine, a lounge room and a balcony. This easily accommodated my group of 4 adults and 3 children, even though there was an initial mix up over the bedding configuration for my children (We ended up organising an extra cot bed for one of my children). The hotels IT staff also set up my free wifi very promptly and connected each of my devices.

The breakfast is the most impressive I have seen in my travels, with any food imaginable on offer. Everything was delicious too. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming for my children.

The pool area and gym are located on the same floor and the adults pool is adequate for guests and was never over-crowded. The childrens pool however is fairly small. There isn't much to do in the hotel for kids, but to be honest, we were out most of the time anyway so this did not matter.

Any request we gave the concierge to do with our room or travel bookings was met with the efficiency expected of a five star hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Royale Chulan to any family travellers looking for a place to stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear GeezerInOz,

Thank you for staying at the Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future and recommend this property to all your family and friends in Australia.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent 1 night in Kuala Lumpur, while returning from Langkawi. Rooms are luxurious, with spacious bathrooms, complete with a bathtub. Our room had a view of the twin towers which looked magnificent. Breakfast spread was nice. Service was prompt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Buzzmanish,

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As with many hotels I stay in, I was delivering a training course, so I have a lot of interaction with the staff as well as sampling the hotels hospitality. On arrival my taxi could not get to the reception doors as the police had blocked the entrance due to the soon to arrive King of Malaysia. As soon as the hotel staff saw me getting out of the taxi with my suit case they were there to guide me to the reception desk with a smile and helpful questions. The staff were very attentive throughout my stay, especially with my requirements to room layout and facilities in the training room. My bedroom was very well appointed, large, and interesting as I could literally roll from my bed in the morning straight into the bath. A good range of food at meal times was available covering all cultures and tastes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear C4more,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and extending kind words to our associates. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. Our team is very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#1 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 4,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 7,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.