We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Derby, England
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel with excellent rooms which were well appointed ours had a view of the Petronas Towers which was a bonus. The location was good with a short walk to KLCC Park, and one of the main shopping streets. There were warnings of an increase in bag snatching in KL that the hotel did warn us about be did not have any problems. Make sure you bargin for taxi journeys which are cheap but they do like to ask for more, also the airport is 70km away.
The breakfast was fine although the room was very busy and in general more directed to Asian rather than Europeans as the hotel has many more Asian guests than westerns. The staff were very friendly and helpful, my one major gripe is the concierge desk whose information was limited, inaccurate and very very bias towards selling the hotel ( expensive) trips. I have complained to the hotel about this as I find it particularly annoying. The concierge told me one morning at 8am that there was no chance of tickets for the Petronas Towers that day as there would be a queue and they would be all gone for that day and that the ticket office opened at 9am but i could book the hotel trip at about 8 times the ticket price. I knew that it opened at 8.30 and I went anyway, arrived at 8.15 and half an hour had my tickets for that day at 11.30. There was a queue but not that bad.
Do your own research about KL sites and take the information with you, if you want tours source a reputable one before you go.
In general Hugh a very nice and well staffed hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    507
    161
    48
    28
See reviews for
318
746
115
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent four nights here at a Club level room. The hotel itself is very large and has an opulent foyer. We had no complaints about the room itself, good bed and good bathroom. However, their service left something to be desired. Down in the Club area the only maps of KL were inadequate and the concierge said he would get a map from downstairs for us but never came back. On the first day we rang down three times to have our laundry picked up for cleaning. It was only taken when the night time service came to see if we wanted a turn down service but they obviously weren't expecting to pick up our laundry.

Our room rate entitled us to breakfast either downstairs or on the Club level. On the two occasions we went downstairs both times we were told that we were not entitled to a free breakfast. When I said doesn't our room number which clearly indicated we were staying on the Club level, show that we would be entitled to breakfast ( everyone booking into the Club level is entitled to breakfast) they said yes, but they would have to check with reception. The following morning we went through the same procedure. As to breakfast itself, there was a lot of variety but we were not overly impressed with the quality. I would prefer fewer choices and more time spent on the quality of what was offered. The two breakfasts we had in the Club Lounge were better.

I do have to say that the free afternoon tea and drinks and canapes at night were very nice.

By no means did we have an unsatisfactory stay and the price was quite good but we would choose elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with a view of the Petronas Towers if that is what you want. The extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Royale Chulan is impressive in design, combining Malay traditions, and this is evident not just in the grand lobby and public areas, but in the room as well. The hotel is very clean, the room we had was large, well appointed and well maintained, with a comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was large, with a separate shower and tub, with thick soft towels. Breakfast was simply superb -- when we were searching for a hotel to stay in, we saw very good feedback about the breakfast even with some commenting that this was the best buffet breakfast in KL -- so we had high expectations. That, plus being a foodie, I set the bar high. So happy to find out that their breakfast lived up to the hype! The choice is enormous with the international fare available -- with hot dishes and cold ones being served. You name it, they got it -- Malay, Indian, Japanese, Western -- and the important thing is that it was impressive not just for the quantity but for the quality. The only thing which could be improved is to include more in the choice of Western food, more and better types of bread (integral, rye, etc), cheeses and cold meats.

What was a bit puzzling for us was the way to the pool -- it was not to be found easily, there are no good signs and when we did find it, it was just a small door which seemed to even be an emergency exit. Didn't seem at all to be a 5-star thing. The location is great too, it is beside the official souvenir shop where quality souvenirs can be bought, and close to some interesting places, including the Petronas towers. The Hop on-Hop off bus stops in the souvenir shop beside, so it is convenient for hotel guests.

The only downside to this stay was that there was no good wifi connection. We had to go to the lobby every time we needed to connect to the wifi.

Otherwise, we would certainly return to this hotel again -- the breakfast alone is attraction enough! Great place for business, for couples, and for family -- we certainly saw an even mix of all these types of guests, which says a lot for value, quality, and functionality of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have spent three days in Royale Chulan in Kuala Lumpur and I have been impressed by the quality of this establishment.

Location: excellent location in the heart of Kuala Lumpur, 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street as well as to Petronas towers.
Rooms: very big, clean, comfortable beds, spacious bath
Breakfast: lots of food, mainly Asian

Overall, a very good impression.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Checked in with my family of two kids to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we arrived late evening and the hotel was quiet and the lobby was empty. Room was ready but not up to the expectation as the room carpet was dirty and the room was overlooking a roof though I had requested for a better view as we were staying for 5 days.
Reception staff was not courteous at all and I felt as I had walked into a two star property. Though I had informed him about me being an hotelier and was expecting for a better service.
I found my way to the room as I was not offered to be assisted; luggage was not delivered for more than half an hour so I had to call the concierge to request for my bags as we had friends waiting for us in the lobby.
We were given room 312 and the room carpet was in a very bad condition which I had informed to the bellman but nothing was heard further from the hotel for a solution.
Room cleaning was very below for a five star hotel as the room was dusty with carpets not being vacuumed, no towels were replenished. On our second night there had been no turndown and therefore I called the guest services to inquire and was told this would be provided “upon request”.
I had spoken to duty manager (Balgis) in regards to the issues and highlighted my disappointment but this was not acknowledged at all. As the room cleanliness was getting worsened day by day I had to call for the housekeeping management to highlight the issue as I was worried for the safety of by baby. I was met by one of the housekeeping manager (Rose) and I had explained how disappointed I was as an hotelier working for a leading hotel chain and having to spend my anniversary in great disappointment. Rose was so thoughtful and apologized to the shortfall and also had a thorough clean given to the room (this was the previous night to our check out).
Overall the hotel lacks service efficiency to be a 5 star and I would rather rate this as a 4 star hotel and if it is not for the hotels interior this would go as a 3 star.
Never coming back to this place as there are better options to select in KL.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I wanted to try a 5-star experience with a Malaysian flavor; the Royale Chulan did not disappoint. Top 3 positives of my experience: 1. spacious room, nicely laid out (I had a suite) overlooking the pool; decor throughout the building and in the room reminded me I was in Malaysia (big plus for me); 2. gym is not large but large enough and well equipped; complemented with a pool long enough to do laps, could keep to me regular workout habits 3. food options onsite are ample though also 15 minute walk from KLCC/Petronas towers (or 4 minute cab ride) Found the best rate on their own website: www.theroyalechulan-kualalumpur.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel and I’d like to recommend this hotel. I found a very good deal in booking.com, there was 50% discount and I was so lucky that I had an upgrade upon arrived. My room was amazing, it was an apartment, with all the comfort that you need: big bathroom, large shower, bath, Queen size bed, 2 sofas, TV 42” kitchen and table. After a long flight, you’d not ask more… The hotel is in a safe area, 10 minutes walking distance to the tube station, close to the centre and the Petronas Towers, the staff is very helpful and friendly and the swimming pool is the cherry on the cake, especially when you need some rest after a long day… Breakfast was astonishing: me and my girlfriend could choose between different kind of food: European, Malay, Japanese, Thai… You can imagine how happy we were… My mouth waters if I think about it…
Thumb up to this 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.