We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
All I Want for Christmas
Ranked #17 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I hadn't heard of this hotel prior to my visit to KL, and was really pleasanly surprised. The location is a winner - walking distance to the towers, shopping centres and markets; hop on hop off bus stop just outside also. The lobby is beautiful and grand but not stuffy as some high end hotels can be. Very welcoming staff; delicious buffet breakfast; nice pool area. Our room had a generous balcony area, with views of the two towers (well the top half of them anyway!). Spacious, clean and modern rooms. Very comfortable beds. Impressive and quite good value. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    504
    161
    48
    28
See reviews for
316
743
115
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crawley sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Chulan for 4 nights after previously being in Penang and we couldn't fault the service of all the staff .Nothing was to much trouble(we never opened a door the staff were there before you) and the politeness was second to none. The hotel has a great pool and our room was on the second floor and opened straight onto it it was nice to relax after a hot day shopping in all the malls the food in the breakfast restaurant was fresh and varied and there were different items on the menu each day. The rooms were spacous and having a separte bath and shower was very useful every where was spotlessly clean you could have seen you face in the floors. I would recommend this hotel to everyone familes with children as well as couples

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone Tasmania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this large but lovely hotel and would recommend it. Front desk was efficient, the deluxe rooms large and comfortable with spacious bathrooms and excellent amenities. We decided to upgrade to the Club Lounge and enjoyed afternoon teas and pre- dinner drinks and canapes as well as private breakfasts.It is also only a few minutes walk to the main shopping area. PS Cut through the back of the hotel as a shortcut to the Pavilion Mall etc

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We arrived late afternoon to be told they didn't have a room ready for us. Not good after a long flight. We were asked to wait in the bar area & they would come and get us when a room was ready. Well 2 beers later, we chased them up to find that we finally had a room. Our room was lovely, large, clean, comfy and had a view of the towers & over the pool. I thought the location was good - easy to get around on foot. The breakfast was outstanding - so much choice! We didn't have much else to do with the hotel but have breakfast and sleep and apart from the check in we were pretty content all round. I would stay here again and hope that my room would be ready on time. The reviewer below "Celusnek" sums it all up nicely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur and thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I do apologise for the delay in your check-in.

As much as we try to get our rooms available to our guests, there are times when this is not easy as we are waiting for other guests to check out as well. Our housekeeping personnel are trained well to turnover a room in minutes and we hope that no guests would have to endure waiting for their room.

I am pleased to hear most of everything else went well. We hope that you will visit us again as we look forward to serving you soon. Once again, thank you and have a wonderful day ahead.

Yours sincerely,
Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

i have to say the hotel is beautiful and all the staff are friendly and helpful, BUT this was all overshadowed by the hotels lack of courtesy to the guests with regards to the ground floor banquet hall!! The speaker volume was horrible! We were on the 2nd floor and twice during our stay the noise was so bad our room vibrated and the management just politely said there is nothing they can do "it is a party" and we could move rooms (which was inconvenient because our second room was also on the 2nd floor and packing everything again was too much trouble) They would not turn down the volume at all. This lack of caring by the management to the guests ruined an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We take all guest comments very seriously so please be rest assured that we are taking measures to ensure that your unfortunate experience will not occur again.

I especially apologise for the noise coming from the function downstairs at the time. It is a policy for all events to not interrupt our in-house staying guests and any complaints will result to a request to the organisers to have the volume turned down. I am sorry this wasn’t the case for you. I have made sure that such a disturbance will not be carried on ignored. Please accept my apologies.

Yours sincerely,
Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We arrived in KL by bus from Singapore. The bus drops off at a central hotel and we got a little lost. We had been walking around for almost an hour when we finally found it, so the hotel lobby was especially welcoming. The door man must have noticed our condition and brought cold bottled water to us at the check-in desk. We had taken a deal on hotels.com and sacrificed a view of the towers. But we had a lovely little patio overlooking the pool. The bathroom is fantastic, with lots of marble, separate tub and shower, and the cool closet that opens from the hallway or the bathroom. The amenities, especially the body lotion, are wonderful. The king size bed is made with high quality linens and pillows. There is good lighting, lots of storage and a tea pot.
The breakfast buffet is absolutely amazing with choices to suit every culture’s taste, from European yogurt and breads, American pancakes, Japanese pickled stuff, Chinese dim sum, Indian curries and nan, a noodle station, an omelet station, fresh fruits and juices. It was great fun to try a little of everything. Make sure you book a deal that includes breakfast.
There is a charge to use the computers in the business center, so it is nice that our room had free wi-fi.
We had a very early morning flight and had the desk book an airport limo (a taxi that goes to the airport.) It’s a good thing they told us what time to leave, because the airport is far, really far from the city.
This hotel is a good value and even though it is massive, somehow it has an authentic regional feel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear about your pleasant experience with us especially after a grueling long trip to Kuala Lumpur.

My associates will be as equally pleased to hear about your positive review on us and we will certainly love to welcome you back to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur.

Yours sincerely,
Franz Swoboda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed there for five nights. First impressions are excellent and second impressions are consistent with the first ones ! Huge bedroom, good food, very good facilities. Staff very polite. My only gripe is that the service in the bar in the lobby area is absolutely dreadful - very slow indeed - many people attending the same conference as us were similarly complaining. That needs to be addressed. However if we go bak to KL we would like to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your vote of confidence on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback as we strive to be the leading 5-star hotel in KL city.

I would like to apologise on behalf of the staff for the less than efficient service which occurred to you at our lobby lounge. This isn’t the usual standard here at our hotel so you can be rest assured, my associates have been notified and the issue.

Yours sincerely,
Franz Swoboda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.