We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price its a good, clean short stay hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“For the price its a good, clean short stay hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We needed a place to crash for one night, decided to stay at Sentral as it was close to the fast train from the airport. If traveling with luggage and kids you will need to catch a taxi from the station to the hotel ( should not cost anymore then 10MYR ) When you get there the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms a clean and a good size for the the price. Breakfast is nice and plenty on offer for vegetarians. The location is ok, short walk to the mono rail and or a short taxi ride to most attractions. Anyone expecting much more for £20/night with breakfast should try Quality hotel KL, at twice the price we walked out after looking at 3 rooms and being told by the manager we could take our business elsewhere.

Room Tip: The fast train is faster then a taxi but will cost you more if traveling with more then 3 and a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    420
    264
    77
    36
See reviews for
128
270
148
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

i booked this hotel through Booking.com. it was very cheap. my expectation was not so high, as i just wanted to stay there for a short time because my flight was next day, early morning.
the room has no window. no problem.
very cheap.
very clean. amenities were fine.
bathroom was okay and clean.
just nice...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms are too small and corridors are carpeted thus a strong smell of cigarette is persistent. Location is advantage, very near to KL central metro, Bus station, ample taxi available. Indian restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The aircon is spoil at night during my stay there. Luckily i stay for 1 day else i would change my room. The transportation is confusing as the location we heading to has a split in between (Miharja). the hotel never help us to do taxi booking -.-'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice, the lift was always pretty busy so we ended up walking up and down the stairs a lot. The wifi signal was pretty weak but ok if you moved to the communal areas. It was a bit of a walk out of the main city centre (but very close to the train station) but Im sure it would be easy to get a cab or jump on the sky rail. Overall we we're happy with our stay given the price was so reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradeep, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Overall stay was good. I stayed in 'Deluxe Twin' with my colleague.

Positives:
Near to KL sentral metro, lot of food options nearby, bathroom shower & hot water is a major plus, peaceful stay

Negatives:
Difficult to Check-in before 2 pm, Average breakfast buffet, no latches to bathroom door, reception is busy & rigid on rules, average hospitality & not-so customer friendly, no swimming pool

Final call: A good stay at a normal budget.

Room Tip: Prefer to choose the Superior/Deluxe rooms. Guest rooms are not that comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were small and clean, I guess as it is usually fully occupied by different tour groups specially from India as it is located in little India. So don't expect any service for the front desk or other staff. As I spend my 1st half of vacation in Bali, I found Kuala Lumpur more like a business place than a vacation spot. Adding to this I found the staff little harsh( maybe because they were busy or might be the way people speak there). They had a good breakfast which was the only plus point I found. There are much better and cheaper hotels, I would not prefer unless am going with family, kids as it has a good restaurant and I would not have to hunt/risk the street food. Overall am not happy, would not prefer again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.