We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel for an overnight stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good business hotel for an overnight stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A typical business hotel right in the public communication centre (KL Sentral) and good aiport link. We have booked it only for overnight stay between flights and it suited us very well. The room was clean and equipped with a tea&coffee set. The breakfast was surprisingly good and tasty. Very wide choice of indian food but british and continental breakfast was also available. Recommended for a short overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the room class and do not book the express room as those have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    420
    264
    77
    36
See reviews for
128
270
148
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights before travelling to Cambodia. Its the perfect place to overkom your jetlag if this is your first country, coming from europe.
It is a big hotel, so it is a little anonym. In the room the wifi was not working very wel.
There is a big shoppingcenter nearby: times square, they have everything you need and much more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. However I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.
Your feedback is very important to us and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the team.
I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is close to the KL Sentral LRT as well as monorail station, which will take you everywhere. From the KL sentral LRT station, you should find the exit which is the same direction as the monorail, not the one heading toward 1 Sentral tower. If you messed this up like I did, you'd end up walking a lot to find the hotel. If you try to locate the hotel on Google map, you'd better enter the exact address rather than enter the name only, it will lead you to 1 Sentral tower instead.

I like the room overall, it's very clean and modern, much higher than a 3 star standard I'd say. They also have complimentary water and minifridge in the room. There're some convenient stores around so you can easily buy other stuff. The bathroom was bright and quite fine. However, the bed probably has some bedbugs. It was not something too bad to me, but you can feel a bit itchy. Wifi was not very stable, it got on and off quite often.

The surrounding area is not nice though. I would not recommend to walk there alone. It's a bit dark and dirty. If you have kids with you,maybe try some other hotels for safety reasons.

For me overall, it's quite a good value. We booked the hotel for 1 night at a rate of $35 as we have an early flight at LCCT the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. However I would like to extend my sincere apology in regards of the insect bite issue you had experienced during your stay.

The hotel’s rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence. We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.
We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Sentral and were quite satisfied. The room was slightly but okay. The breakfast was simple but okay. The location was ideal as it is connected well by public transport. Taxis are also available easily. The staff were cordial and considerate. The neighborhood is noisy and a bit crowded. For travelers looking for decent place to stay but not much concerned about by the looks, this hotel could be a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good for 1-2 transit nights because of its location - close to KL Sentral (about 8 minutes by walk) and just 2 minutes from Monorail station. Staff is helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi in the rooms is available, but signal is not strong.
I was with my son of 6-years old and our room was very small for two. Be careful: there are rooms without windows in the hotel also. Breakfast was various, but not tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room. Small but looks clean; BUT the problem are bedbugs. One of my friend has suffered lots of insect bites in few minutes. They were given new room anyway but the damage has been there. I personally don't like the bathroom glass door. It either closes the whole bathroom area or just the shower area. Privacy in the bathroom is very important for me.

Area. I don't recommend the hotel if you are with kids. The street is so crowded. No convenience store nearby, I think 3 to 4 blocks away. A taxi driver told us it's like a red light district but I am not sure if it really is.

Staffs. They are all nice and very friendly.

Activities. There is a guy near reception who can help arrange activities with you like city tours and going to other places like Genting. Price is reasonable.

If you are looking for just a room to sleep, this will do. Just don't let the bedbugs bite. =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel’s rooms and premises had carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

The staff shall be informed of your kind comments towards their service rendered and thank you once again for pointing out to us the issues which you had faced on your last trip with us. Rest assured those issued will be addressed as well and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.