We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

Save Saved
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 12 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 258 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is located in the city centre close to all the attractions, it is also next to a shopping area where you get everything from electronics to clothes at a good bargain

Varieties of restaurants including indian and vegetarian ones are close by and has good connectivity, infact it is at a walkable distance from twin towers

Rooms and bathroooms are clean, staff are friendly and helpful

Minus point is wi-fi works in lobby area only not in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just needed a stay over for 24 hours so I booked 2 nights with a 24 hour desk. The room was not as expected from its glowing self-description. No drinking water, you need to get a jug and fill it from the cooler in the foyer, no remote for tv because " drunk people throw them" and noisy renovations nearby. Staff were disinterested. Back to Chinatown next time!

Room Tip: There may be renovated rooms in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Swiss Hotel is in a great location in Kuala Lumpur, just a short walk from the Merdeka (Independence) Square, near many tasty Indian restaurants, street markets and the Masjid Jamek train/subway station. Even a Seven 11 across the street to buy supplies. The rooms are very very simple, most without windows, and are fairly clean (not spotless, but I've seen much worse in Asia). I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep in a good central location. Note that the rooms with windows to the front have noise from motorcycles racing down the street at night, there is also a night club in the hotel...which can be heard at night.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the upper floors (night club is on the 3rd floor). Take a room either with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is the most unclean places i have ever stayed, it was horrible.
Our room was on the 7th floor and we had to walk past a huge pile of dirty sheets and towels left in the hall way. The white bathmat in our room was stained brown, there was no hot water and because it was so disgusting the three of us shared one travel towel.
I didnt want to sit on the sofas in the hall way as they were filthy and the luggage store smelt of urine.
You will have no problem finding a nicer, cleaner and cheaper place to stay in KL.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked three rooms in this hotel for two nights, booking via the internet. One room, smelt and had dirty sheets, with nail clippings in the sheets. Another room had what appeared to be blood on the curtains, and the third room had no window, smelt of cigarette smoke, had a broken TV and a leaky tap.

We stayed one night but left first thing the next day because of the smell of one of the rooms and the overall lack of cleanliness. We were charged for the two nights we had booked and they refused to give a refund for the night we didn't stay. This was the only place we felt we had been ripped off in 5 weeks of travel in SE Asia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This place is great for a solo startup business traveller. You get wifi ( but buy a Maxis dongle anyway, the capacity is better), a clean room, with a newly built feel to it (unexceptional by western middle of the city standards), and quite a good buffet breakfast. The clientele is mixed; lots of gap year youngsters, middle aged traveling couples, and business people without money to splurge on hotels.

The surroundings are lively. In the evening, the streets outside turn into a maze of small shopping stalls hawking copies. When I was there, the dragons were out practicing in full regalia for Chinese New Year celebration, so it was a bit difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We booked this hotel via the website for 2 nights. When we arrived at the hotel at about 11:55pm, we don't like the room as it was completely different compare to the photos on the website. The hotel is dingy in every where, the room is too dirty and humid to stay, could't breath. We looked around the area and told to the receptionist to cancel the room, he agreed it without advise us that we will be still charged for the 2 nights booking. We thought Ok to cancel means no more charge on the room rate, but we received bill from the bank of credit card. It listed 2 nights of payment. We actually didn't stay at Swiss hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: No 12 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel lies along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman in Kuala Lumpur. It is within walking distance from the Malaysian capital’s renowned destinations and can be easily accessed from Klang Valley. Swiss Hotel is within close proximity from places of interest namely: Dataran Merdeka (Merdeka Square), Sultan Abdul Samad, and Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC). It houses 117 air-conditioned rooms, all of which have a cable TV, private bath with hot & cold water, coffee/ tea maker, a digital safe,wifi in room,complimentary mineral water and electronic smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.