We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“famous chicken wing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wong Ah Wah

Wong Ah Wah
1 Jalan Alor | Golden Triangle, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
+60 3-2144 2463
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 2,503 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
KL
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“famous chicken wing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

always take visitors from overseas. like others, i am also a fan of their chicken wings. other dishes are also very delicious. it may be overpriced but i like the dishes there. it always make my friends and myself happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We came upon Jalon Alor by accident on our first night in KL and decided to come back for a meal (had already eaten). We returned on our 2nd last night in KL and having read about the chicken wings at Wong Ah Wah we decide to give them a try.
They were beautifully cooked, very moist and tasty. We also had mixed satay, garlic clams and spinach. The clams were beautiful. We enjoyed our meal so much we came back again the next night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best chicken wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have eaten here five times during my holidays to KL - the chicken wings here are the best I've every eaten. Even the drumlet section is moist and juicy. This time round me and three family members ordered 10 chicken wings, two small plates of hokkien mee and fried dong fen, one small fried salted egg sotong, 15 chicken satay sticks, one bbq stingray, four lime juices and 1 big bottle of Asahi beer. Total bill came up to only RM100+ which was pretty reasonable considering the restaurant was in the town area.

Go early and order the chicken wings quick as they take quite a while to be ready. Atmosphere is like a typical street food kind of place - noisy, greasy - but that's where the charm lies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Chicken wings were average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The is a "zi-char" restaurant common in Malaysia and Singapore, and serves many different Chinese stair-fried dishes.

We ordered a few simple dishes: Salted egg calamari rings, sweet and sour fish slices, stir-fried long beans, chicken satay/"sate", and the famous chicken wings, and a pot of Chinese tea.

All the dishes were delicious, except for the chicken wings which were unfortunately far too burned - I know it isn't meant to be like this as some other batches of wings on others' tables look better :(

Conclusion: Our meal for 5 cost us about MYR 95. While this as a zhi-char restaurant is certainly considered to be on the cheaper side by Singapore standards, it is considered expensive in KL. Take into account how long you are requested to wait, before deciding to stop here for your meal - remember the entire street is filled with zi-char restaurants.

TIP: Request for "sambal belacan" (pronounced 'sambal blachan') - it's an awesome self-prepared hot chilli sauce and it's really really good here. Doesn't cost anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food full stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been there for many times but never thought of writing comments. Heard of Jalan Alor many times before but not until my friends came from HK insisted going there for dinner. Apparently, this Wong Ah Wah is so well known in HK and they were on HK television programme. The most famous dish is their chicken wings, absolutely gorgeous. Other dishes we eat every time are char kway teow, yong tau foo (stuffed bean curd), satay and etc. Always full and you might need to wait a bit but it's worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong Ah Wah also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Wong Ah Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wong Ah Wah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.