We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay...if u don't mind the bed bugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winsin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winsin Hotel to your Saves list
Winsin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winsin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 & 3, Jalan Petaling | (China Town), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
kota kinabalu
1 review
“Good place to stay...if u don't mind the bed bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I was there from 21 till 23 Mar for a business trip. The only major issue I have is the BED BUGS. If you look around, you can see the big ones crawling around on the pillows and the bed. Heck...i even saw a few crawling on the walls. My stay there had really been an itchy experience and have all these bites as a memento of my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Povazska Bystrica, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It si located in very dirty Chinatown, but it is good base for trips. It is very easy to find this hotel, the staff is very helpfull and kind, but the hotel is old, and with very poor equipment, the room was clean, but old, the sheets were stainy and burned from cigarettes, ther is no wardrobe just table an TV, very old airconditioner very difuciult to control, even to switch it off. We booked the "deluxe room", but I think there is no difference between standard and deluxe, even the price for night is just 1 EUR more. I would not reccomend this hotel even the price was low....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

After a few nights down the road in the middle of Petaling Street, we moved up the road to the Winsin. This hotel was far quieter, brighter and nicer than the previous choice (Chinatown Inn Hotel, which was so noisy). The reception and cleaning staff were very friendly and immediately fixed the WIFI when we could not connect. Budget hotels are not known to be great in KL, but this was just fine for our needs and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Yes its budget, but we had just spent the night on the train which was cleaner.
After 5 minutes in the room we went down stairs booked a mystery hotel and checked out, not even bothering about a refund we just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

My parner and I, having stayed in budget places in KL before which had bed bugs, no space and a severe lack of breathable air or windows, decided to spend a little more on a hotel this trip. We found Winsin very friendly and willing to negotiate on price for stays of a few days or more. 80RM for a deluxe room, air-conditioned, fair size (though rooms vary slightly), BBC news/star movies. There's free wi-fi on the first floor, as well as a water cooler/heater. Glasses are provided. It's close to both central mkt and china town. Our room was always kept spotless, with friendly cleaners asking if you want the room serviced daily. We ended up staying longer than anticipated and have returned twice since.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Winsin Hotel after leaving the hotel we booked online after one night. We were a walk in and they gave us a good price on an upgraded room. We were on the 4th floor facing the street and had an amazing view of the towers. The staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that the wi-fi only worked on the 2nd floor and you had to pay to use the internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

This is a no-frills hotel, and good value for what you are paying for. It is located just a few minutes to the Chinatown and Central Market, good consideration if you wish to visit these 2 places. No cafe facilties though. Rooms are basic but clean. Not for those who want to spend time in their room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winsin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winsin Hotel

Address: No. 1 & 3, Jalan Petaling | (China Town), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Winsin Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Winsin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winsin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.