We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good First Experience of Nasi Kandar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nasi Kandar Pelita

Nasi Kandar Pelita
No. 149, Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
603-2162 5532
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 2,479 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good First Experience of Nasi Kandar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Was taken here by my mother-in-law, who wanted me to try the Nasi Kandar. We had ordered several rice, seafood, meat and vegetable dishes, one of which is Fried Chicken with spicy rice. The tastes are very authentic and the portions are reasonable. Very good for Lunch and for a hungry appetite. Service is quick and in an orderly manner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    103
    33
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Malaysian Local Food in One Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

First, it is strategically located in the city center. Reachable by walking from Ampang subway station. It is near the Petronas Tower / KLCC.

Second, it is open 24 hour.

Third, the price is reasonable. It serves various dishes, from Chinese, Indian, and Malay.

Equipped with hi-speed wi-fi internet.
Suitable for casual dining, not for business dining.
I ate a lot here. Surely will visit it again if I come to KL.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Love the food! See pictures for reference to what I ordered!

However, I felt that the "homemade" drinks were rather diluted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Malay Food with bit Indian Style....!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A frequent visitor to this place whenever at KUL. Situated just opposite to Corus Hotel and near Twin Towers in Jalan Ampang...Great value for money, Decent serving, fresh , and of course delicious. Open round the clock.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fish Head Curry Costs 45 MYR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

So this place a "best cheap eat" award in KL. They do have very good food with reasonable prices. And the range of selection they have will astonish you to say the least! Definitely a must try experience in KL!

I tried the briyani rice, with lamb curry and crab curry. My father ordered a fish head curry, and my mom ate the chicken in black sauce. They are really good, but I bet everything in this place are good.

Please be informed though that we paid 100 MYR for the total meal including drinks, but more than 50% of the cost comes from the fish head curry (45 MYR) and the crab curry (16 MYR). So if you want to stick to the low key food just avoid those seafood selection.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Kandar Pelita also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Nasi Kandar Pelita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nasi Kandar Pelita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.