We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach Everywhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Melayu

Seri Melayu
1, Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
03 -2145-1833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,376 of 2,319 restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cockroach Everywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The restaurant is not clean, cockroaches everywhere and dealing in this issue is very bad.
The taste is not good also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    5
    9
    5
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The show was nice but we did not go for the show but to try the food and it was lousy. Tasteless, horrible and extremely expensive. It was the first and the last for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“malaysian food and show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Genuine Malaysian restaurant,loved the dancing, infact the whole show is very good, an a huge buffet of beautiful food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for its food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This review is strictly for its dinner buffet.

Food - horrible, horrible, horrible. If you want a taste of local food, go somewhere else. Even the simplest dishes were a tragedy. e.g. satay - meat was hard, cold and the sauce tasted like one of those 'instant' once coming out of a packet.

Entertainment - 2 star. It's obvious you're paying for the performances, and guess what - they're not even choreographed by someone with extended knowledge of the art. Sound system ok, not distracting too much from the food.

Looking to charge everything they can - (1) I had my 5-year old daughter with me as there were nowhere else to leave her. Told the lady my daughter will need to accompany me (she rarely eats anything else than her usual food anyway) - unfortunately she asked for half of a "roti bom" (a local delicacy that'd normally cost MYR15 in a 5-star hotel, or MYR0.50 elsewhere) - I was charged a full kids buffet rate of MYR60ish. (2) I wanted mineral water, and in the menu there was San Pallegrino for a reasonable price (can't recall exactly). When the bill came it was more expensive - because they gave me a large bottle instead of the one supposedly referred to in the menu, while it wasn't stated what size it was in the menu, only one item referred to the bottled water.

That was my first and last time there. They could only sell this to tourists who're here for the first time. Not locals. Sorry. Simply one of the worst I've come across.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice malaysian evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

a pleasant evening out nearby our hotel. Good buffet with explanation what things are. Plenty choise of spicy and not spicy food. Entertaining dancing. good price .quality ratio

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seri Melayu also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Seri Melayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Melayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.