We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small great homely ryokan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fujiwara Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Fujiwara Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fujiwara Ryokan
6-12 Uwa-machi, Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture 850-0054, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 17 Nagasaki B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small great homely ryokan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This ryokan is some 10 minutes walk from Nagasakis main train station. A very friendly old man ran things and made us feel very welcome. We felt immediately at home in this nice ryokan. The sleeping mats were good and the internet fast. We were sad that we only planned for one night in nagasaki.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This ryokan is located in a modern building within walking distance of the main railway station and close to a tram stop. It's in a quiet back street. Our room was lovely - spacious tatami room, with a balcony area. We didn't have an ensuite toilet but the shared one was just outside our door. It was great also having access to the Japanese bath at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing. I don't know whether it would be difficult to find time to use the bath when the hotel is full, but we found that when we wanted to use it it was always available. The price/value is exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This ryokan is owned by a charming couple who makes you feel at home :)
This place is located walking distance from the Jr station and the map provided from their website is of a great help.
Both the ryokan and the room are spotless and comfortable.
The room i had was quite big and came with toilets and bathroom but if you prefer to relax in the common bathroom after a tiring sightseeing day, it is possible.
I had booked both Japanese dinner and breakfast and enjoyed them a lot :)
I definitely recommend Fujiwara if you want to be centrally located and not wanting to pay a fortune but yet eager to have a Japanese experience.
I used it as a base to visit Huis Ten Bosh, Sasebo and Saga area.
I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A lovely place for good value, couldn't believe I was so lucky to find this!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We were here 7-9 March 2010. As with everywhere we stayed in Japan, I had the map printed off for the Fujiwara Ryokan before leaving the previous hotel, and we walked with our backpacks from the station. The location was really good for us (we are fit and active and for the most part walked everywhere) - the peace park and atomic sites are at the opposite end of Nagasaki to a lot of the temples and Dutch gardens, so this ryokan was well placed between the two main parts and close to the station (5-10 minutes walk, with 1 short but steepish hill up to the ryokan street if you are not so active).

The welcome was lovely, the rooms were clean and warm (quite chilly weather while we were there). As with most places there was a flask of water and green tea leaves left in our room for us daily, and as much green tea as you could drink.

We had western breakfast on 2 mornings (enough for our appetites, but don't expect to eat like a horse) and a japanese breakfast one morning (beautifully presented and worth trying).

The owner gave us maps of the local streets and marked a few restaurants on it for us. The owner's english was quite good (we have no japanese), so we were easily able make ourselves understood and communicate well.

I would book here again as a first choice if I make it back to Nagasaki. It was not luxurious, but it was comfortable, I was happy with the standard of accommodation for the price, and we were made to feel so welcome that it felt very personal. We have a much better holiday memory from staying here than we would have if we had chosen a business hotel for a similar price. Lovely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed two nights at this amazing Japanese-style ryokan. Not a big place - only a handful of rooms - but it felt cozy, not small. An authentic experience, you take off your shoes when you enter and slip on your slippers.

ROOM. We stayed in the family room. Very spacious and clean. Ensuite with private bath/shower and one of those high-tech futuristic Japanese toilets. Lots of amenities in room - table with tea, huge flat-screen tv with a dozen high-definition Japanese channels, mini-fridge, wired high speed internet (no wireless), yukata robes with English-language instructions on how to wear them.

LOCATION. Fantastic. Walking distance from the train station. Densha street car/tram has the "Sakura machi" stop right near the ryokan. But unless you've already paid for a densha day pass, it's only a short walk from the train station to the ryokan. The train station includes the AMU Plaza mall, which has some great eateries on the top floor. The post office (with international ATM) is just down the street from the ryokan.

SERVICE. The owners of this ryokan do everything to make you feel welcome - going out of their way to make sure you're greeted when you enter and leave. The owner is shy about his English, but it seemed like he spoke excellent English.

VERDICT. In addition to being reasonably priced, we were blown away by how great this ryokan was. The owner's attention to detail is astounding. Maybe the best place I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwangju, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is the best inexpensive ryokan I've stayed at in Japan. Authentic yet friendly to westerners, too.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fujiwara Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fujiwara Ryokan

Address: 6-12 Uwa-machi, Nagasaki, Nagasaki Prefecture 850-0054, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nagasaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Fujiwara Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fujiwara Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.