We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Fujiya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Osaka Fujiya Hotel to your Saves list
Osaka Fujiya Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-2 Higashi Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the OSAKA Fujiya hotel in our last travel to Japan. It is reasonably priced and great location. There are three of us and we get an additional roll-in bed for the third person. The hotel is closed to shopping district and metro and is a safe area to be at.
The bathroom is small but clean, a robe, kimono, was provided for each of us.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
15
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My best friend and I - two girls - stayed at this hotel while in Osaka from May 9th to May 14th (just after Golden Week). We were put on the Ladies Only floor, as per request of our travel agent, who recommends this hotel to all of his clients.

The room was fair in size, and the cleaning ladies were very sweet to us. So were most of the staff behind the front desk...others were incredibly standoffish and made it clear they did not want to speak with us.

The hotel itself was lovely otherwise. Great location for Dontonbori area, near a great set of restaurants just across the bridge (okonomiyaki, takoyaki, etc.) and Den Den Town, for anyone interested in buying anime merchandise. There is also Starbucks and Forever 21 near by for anyone who might be interested.We also ordered Pizza Hut to the room at one point, and the English speaking staff helped (got a little homesick). In the opposite direction, it's a ten-fifteen minute walk to the train station, which connected us to places such as Umeda (for the Pokemon Centre) and Morinomiya (the station to access the Osaka Castle).

There is something like a Host Club next to the hotel, as well.

Other than that, I only had a few complaints:

- On our first night, at around ten p.m., I heard a knock on our window from outside the room... It was loud and clear as a set of three knocks, but our room was on roof-level...really strange and kept me up a bit.

- We specifically requested a non-smoking room, as my friend cannot handle the smoke...and she could smell smoke coming through our wall constantly.

The area is lively too, so you will hear people coming and going throughout the night, but primarily around the 10:00 - 11:00 p.m. time slot and afterwards, it quiets down. It is a great area to be in if you're really enthusiastic about getting involved in the Osakan culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very near to the Dotonbori area, good staff that can speak in English! (and i think Korean as well! saw them speaking to a customer in Korean)
has free wifi in the lobby, sometimes can be many people using it tho!
If you're coming on subway, go to Nagahoribashi station and go for Exit 7! I think when i went for Exit 1 or something and ended up walking in the opposite direction!

Because also the signage for this hotel is not very obvious, at one direction its kinda blocked by its neighbouring building.
But all in all its a good hotel, good location too :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

i have visit Osaka on 25-28 Jan 13. We stay at Osaka Fujiya Hotel total 3 nights. It convience & nice hotel. Walk around 2 mins is reach the 7-eleven & a lot of department store. There have 2 station is nearby, that is Nagahoribashi & Nihonbashi station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This isn't the most fancy of hotels, but it had everything we needed - and a couple of comfy chairs as a bonus. Everything is tired and used, but it was (mostly) clean and functional. Kind staff.
Pretty close to a lot of places to shop and eat.
I had two gripes: the bathroom was very squeaky, and the breakfast buffet wasn's as good as I've come to expect of a ¥800 affair.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a good hotel which located in perfect location, it is closed to the JR station. It provides daily clean services, and if you don't require room cleaning services, they will just provide you the new towel and tissue when you back hotel everyday, and additionally send you a small gift.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from the JR Namba/Nanba station. If it's raining, you can enter the underground shopping centre to walk most of the distance in the dry. Getting around Osaka from Namba on the JR lines is a bit of a pain, as you always need to change to access the main Loop line, but it's not terrible. There are underground stations closer to the hotel. Although Umeda (main Osaka station area) appears more wealthy and upmarket, it seemed beneficial to be in the more modest Namba area. The hotel is on the outskirts of Dotonbori, which can be a little instrusive with it's slightly seedy intentions (host clubs, strip clubs, people vying for business on the streets, etc), but it also holds many friendly, legitimate bars and restaurants. Bamboo Bar and Rock Rock Bar are both recommended. Shopping is good in the local area and, as usual in Japan, there are several convenience stores in the local area. The hotel itself is let down by a lack of modernisation. Our twin room was quite large - kitted with two semi-double beds and a small lounge area, which was a nice surprise. The decor suggests that the rooms were perhaps kitted out in the 70s or 80s, and the bathroom was quite small and also dated. The bedding was of fairly poor quality, which made it slightly more difficult to sleep comfortably. When booking, we didn't have the option of non-smoking rooms, so there was a slight tolerable background smell. They may well have non-smoking rooms, though. Free internet is available using a wired connection. Also dated was the use of a room key rather than key card. The staff seemed fine, although we only really spoke to them to check in and out. Limited by few hotels offering twin rooms, £50 per night offered good value, but mainly for the location. I would recommend considering higher-quality alternatives if you aren't so restricted or are happy to spend considerably more money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osaka Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Fujiya Hotel

Address: 2-2-2 Higashi Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osaka Fujiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Osaka Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Fujiya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.