We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross Hotel is a great spot to stay in Osaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cross Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Cross Hotel Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cross Hotel is a great spot to stay in Osaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

The hotel is clean and true to photos displayed. There are smoking and non smoking rooms, be sure to ask for the right type that suits you. The hotel staff are very helpful and can advise on how to get around Osaka and to and from airport. We could have used subway to get to hotel if we had more time... Exit 14 is really close! We arrived on train at Namba station and could not work out that we had to then get on the subway to get to Hotel....none the less, it was 8:30pm so we caught a cab from train station, 660 yen. With two teenage daughters in tow, late at night, this was the best option. Caught the subway the next morning, only about a block away!

Hotel is close to LOTS of shopping and good eating spots.

  • Liked — Big deep bath
  • Disliked — Accidently got a smoking room the first night, but hotel staff quickly and efficiently changed this on request for our next night.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    236
    62
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
234
95
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

It was last minute change and I booked it thru Octopus Travel...Boy, they really did a good job for an online agent. I got few disappointing experiences if booking thru agent before.

The hotel location is great, just next to Shinshaibashi and Dotombori area, which are main attractions in Osaka city.

But what I love love most about this hotel was their BATHROOM & BEST BED QUALITY EVER...even beat Grand Hyatt standard!!!

If you are stopping at Namba station, which was as mentioned, only 3 mins walk from hotel, Exit 14 will be via stair but if you go thru HIPS building just before Exit 14 stair case, you could take the elevator and exit closer to the hotel.

Another plus thing was the Airport Shuttle stop in front of the hotel entrance..

It is indeed deserved No. 1 as fave hotel in Osaka, you won't regret staying here...

  • Liked — BED QUALITY, LOCATION, ROOM DECOR
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Overall: From room quality to location to breakfast, this is an excellent hotel in all ways. I had stayed at this hotel before when it was the Riva Nankai prior to renovation, and what a difference it is!

Location: 3 minutes walk from Namba subway station exit #14. There are elevators or escalators at exit #15, just one block further, all the way up to the street level for access to the hotel. It is 4 stops south of Osaka and Umeda area on the subway, 5 stops from Shinosaka should you come from Shinkansen. The hotel is right in the heart of Shinsaibashi shopping district with plenty of nightlife and dining options. Note that Shinsaibashi Station is a much further walk from the north side than Namba Station from the south.

Reception and Service: Given the size of the lobby and the small reception desk, it seemed a bit sparse. Check-in was ok although it took the front desk a few minutes to find our reservation. I have seen friendlier Japanese staff before but everyone was polite. We left our luggage on check-out day at the hotel until the afternoon with no problem. There is a big area to do some repacking should you do some last minute shopping.

Rooms: We booked ourselves into just a semi-double, which means a glorified single, with a slightly bigger bed in most cases by Japanese standards. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the bed size and the room size as it was quite acceptable.

The rooms are decorated like a boutique hotel and very modern with flat screen TV. All the toileteries were L'occitane products. The bathroom is huge with a big shower and even a tub setup that allows one to soak as if you are at a hot spring (bath salt is free).

Two bottles of free water are provided daily. There is no mini bar but there is a working fridge. All the usual Japanese hotel amenities are includes as well (cotton sets, toothbrush, etc). Our room had ashtrays so I gathered it was a smoking room but we couldn't smell anything. There was a faint trace of smoke in the lift lobby area.

Food: Our rate included buffet breakfast and it had a large selection and good quality. You will find everything from Western to Japanese. Items were fresh and well-made and the seating area modern and comfortable.

Value: Our room was included in a package rate with airfare. On the website, the price of the double room was 15,000 Yen which I found very reasonable. Given the location and the room quality, this hotel is top notch.

  • Liked — Room quality, value and location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

This hotel is just like what other reviews describe. It's in the prime location.

We have no complaints about the going up the stairs at exit 14 at namba station. (we had 20" hand carry luggages only). But I can see that it could be slightly inconvenient if you have some full size luggage. But carrying full size luggage on the street/subway is troublesome anywhere in urban areas in Japan anyway.

Hotel staff is friendly. We didn't get to use much of their service so I couldn't rate their full services. But the staff in general are very helpful and sincere.

We booked the run of the house type room meaning they'd assign any room when we check in. We found no problem with that and they were able to give us a double room facing the main street which had a nice view.

Room size is big in japanese hotel standard (or in US standard, it's standard size room). Bath room is consider big even in US standard. They provide high quality amenities like brand name shampoo and conditioner. Bath area has both bath tub and Japanese shower area which is something that I enjoy every night.

Room decoration is modern and nice. TV provides CNN and some other English contents which is great. High speed internet was included (which may not always be the case for run of the house room).


It's really a treat to come back at night to such a nice room after a day of tiring shopping/sightseeing :P

The included breakfast is buffet style and had a great selection of food which we enjoyed very much.

We booked this hotel through expedia. The rate we got was about 180 USD per night and it also include the buffet breakfast in the morning. For a hotel of this quality and location, I think it is a decent rate.

The room look exactly the same as the pictures that other reviewers posted.

The high tech auto-washing toilet is WONDERFUL! :P Yes, they have it in all hotels in Japan, but this one is the high end model with lots of configurable adjustments. Just one tip, the ventilation is actually built-in to the toilet device but not in the ceiling of the bathroom. "If needed", there is also a "turbo" mode to the toilet ventilation and it's very effective to get rid of all odor. :P. It's one of those many buttons on the toilet control panel.

Anyway, I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Will definitely go back to stay if we go to Osaka next time.

  • Liked — Nice room decoration, high end amenities, location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Cross Hotel is a very good, modern-themed hotel (4-star?) in one of the best locations in Osaka: right on the high-class boulevard of Mido-suji, only a short walk from Namba station, but just a stone's throw from the lively shopping arcades of Shinsaibashi and the neon signs and countless restaurants and night clubs of Dotombori. You will certainly remember the decor: the exterior glows a soft pink at night, the spacious corridors are a cool dark red and black, my room was completely white, and the all-white reception area looks like it belongs in a space ship. A Japanese friend of mine said it looks like a love hotel for rich people, and indeed, if you're not here on some kind of illicit liaison, this hotel will probably make you feel as if you ought to be. The breakfast was a very good Western and Japanese buffet, and there is a modern bar next to the dining room on the second floor. Try to get one of the twin or double rooms at the front of the hotel, facing Mido-suji. See if you can work out how to flush the high-tech toilet! From the higher floors, the view over Namba is excellent. I really enjoyed my stay at the Cross Hotel Osaka, and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — location, cool decor
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This is my favourite hotel in all 12 days, 5 different hotels.

Cross Hotel is located in Namba, which is a 3 minute walk from the station.

Location is fantastic, just next to Dotonburi and Shinsaibashi. We didn't go anywhere else in Osaka. The salon downstairs also did a great job with my manicure (She's won an award for best french manicure and trained in Paris for a year!)

The facilities are new, decor is dark and sexy and the bathroom is sensational! My baby and husband fit into the tub and had a great soak after a sumptious dinner at some crab restaurant at Dotonburi. Room design and space is good. They have a big flat screen TV if you can't sleep at night.

The staff are polite and the rooms are new and well maintained. Price is extremely reasonable and I dare say it's slightly underpriced.

I'll have to go back there one day!

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

SK, Singapore

My wife and I stayed at the Cross Hotel for 3 nights on a recent trip to Osaka and we can understand why this hotel has been rated number 1 by Tripadvisor readers. The hotel's decor is smart and stylish, the room we had was of a good size and clean and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. Step outside and everything is within easy walking distance: subway stations, restaurants, shopping malls, theatres and amusement arcades in the busy and colourful areas of dotonburi and Shinsaibashi. Highly recommended but skip the breakfast as it is just adequate.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.