We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized room, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cross Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Cross Hotel Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good sized room, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Cross hotel is a great place to stay in Osaka. It is only about a block from the Namba Station( 3 minute walk, exit 14, excellent directions from the staff by email), and is right in the midst of busy Dotonbori. I was surprised that they confirmed my reservations without asking for my credit card to hold the room, and they charged my card after we checked out.
My requirements and reviews of the hotels focus only on the rooms and location, I do not use any other facilities like fitness center or swimming pools etc since the main purpose of travel to Japan is sightseeing.
We booked 2 rooms since we are a family of 4 traveling around Japan, and the rooms are good sized, with complete toiletries ( Occitane shampoo, lotion, soap, as well as a Shiseido facial soap by the vanity). Japanese hotels include, razors, combs toothbrush, cotton pads and swabs etc as part of their toiletries. They also include bottled water in the room( a convenience especially after a long day of walking). We had a double bed ( ample space for 2) in the room,with bathrobe and slippers provided(another extra that is typical in a Japanese hotel). Free wifi included in room rate. We booked nonsmoking rooms and I emailed them ahead of time to make sure, as well as requested for adjoining rooms. We're in the comfort floor(nonsmoking floor).They had everything ready for us as requested.also had an air purifier in the room( not sure if this is part of the room or if they included this since I had emailed them regarding our aversion and adverse reaction to smoke). Not all the staff at reception speak fluent English ,but there was no problem with communication.
I booked directly from their website and their rate was reasonable compared to similar type hotels( especially on a Saturday night when most hotels are at full price). We just walked the area around the hotel and found a reasonably priced delicious Okonomiyaki place frequented by local Japanese close by called Izkaya ( this is just along the same street as the place with the big crab, located in the basement, and is right before a place selling Takoyaki on the street front).
The hotel location cannot be beat. On the other end is Shinsaibashi, which has all the high end shops, and right behind the hotel is a covered shopping arcade, with some food stands. We also tried a special cheesecake at a place called Pablos located a block behind the hotel, that sells rare( gooey soft cheesecake) and medium( softish center) cheescake that is absolutely delicious. There was a long line.
Despite being in the center of all activities, the rooms were quiet and we had a very restful night's sleep. This is the hotel to be if one likes the convenience of being at the center of action and night life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    236
    62
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
234
95
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms were large and comfortable. There was a great stereo in the room with an ipod docking station. The internet was free and had the option of both wired and wireless. The hotel was in a fantastic location. There is a direct train from Namba station to Kansai Airport (Osaka's main airport), and takes about 50 minutes. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is a gem. It is located right near Dotonburi which is a lot of fun especially at night. Dotonburi is like a huge food court will all kinds of Japanese specialties. Fugu, okonomiyaki, takoyaki, sushi, yakitori, tonkatsu, just to mention a few. The hotel is lovely. Single rooms are small but that's typical Japan. Enough room for everything unless you plan to live in your room and not go out an see the sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in Cross 3 nights and feel very comfortable. the lacation is very good ,just behind the Shinzai bashi!and the service is yasashi~~they put a bowl cover on my grass when doing the cleanning. the room is big in japan ,the bed isnt small for 2 person. everyone will like this hotel!perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is near the subway, main shopping arcade and main nightlife area. We had booked a standard room but because those were fully booked we were upgraded (at no cost) to a better room. The room was a good size with a massive bathroom. We also had a bit of a view. The staff on reception were friendly and really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for a 2 night stay as it is close to most of the main attractions as well as the subway. The staff was very friendly and spoke English very well (that we encountered). All of their recommendations for our short stay were fantastic. The rooms aren't fancy (but don't claim to be) and are comfortable, clean and have a very good layout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel which is quit clean and have big rooms, as usually the hotel in Japan are very small and tite, this is a really good choice of stay if u don't have a budget concern. Moreover, the staffs are nice and most of them know simple English, which is comparatively rare in japan. I will say u pay a fare price for a fare service and room. It is a really good choice if u want a better hotel but not those famous five stars ones.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.