We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, right in the middle of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Save Saved
You added Cross Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cross Hotel Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 246 hotels in Osaka
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location, right in the middle of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fabulous hotel, right in the middle of everything. Easy to find from the train station, you come out of the station and look up to Shinsaibashi, it is an undercover street, a shopping arcade but with a cover over it. If you can see Starbucks, you'll see this just to the left. Walk up the arcade until you get to the bridge over the river (canal) and then turn left, the side door to the Cross hotel is on the right. If you miss the side door, just turn right at the next street and you'll find the front door. The hotel staff were great and the rooms were really good. It is in a great area, not far from Dontonbori, the eating street, mind you there is food everywhere and if like to shop, well the shopping is all there as well. We really loved our stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    203
    56
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
197
82
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

For those that like to be in the midst of the action, this hotel is ideally situated. It is also on the same subway line as Osaka's main rail stations. The rooms are clean but a little dark. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I couldn't help but to write this review immediately after the trip, me and my girlfriend have had the most pleasant stay at this hotel in Japan. It has to be the best hotel stay in Japan in fact for both of us.
First of all, its location is just perfect, right at the beginning of Shinsaibashi (心齋橋), you couldn't be more close to where everything is happening, and yet its not noisy at all when you have to sleep at night.
Second of all, we all know that room space is such a luxury in Japan, not to mention its hotel facilities like bathroom, etc. In Cross hotel, you would be amazed by the size of their bathroom! I am not exaggerating at all. Everything you need in the bathroom are provided, nice and clean, two thumbs up! ( I've gotta admit that I really enjoyed all the japanese toilet seat functions. muahahhaa)
Last but not least, the hotel itself is very modernly renovated, we saw a lot of locals staying here too. For the price we paid, honestly its well worth it. Definitely recommended to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in late Nov 2012 and must say we were very satisfied with the accommodation. The rooms were fairly large for Japan standards, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was awesome. Everything was spick and span and. The toiletries provided were really nice and it's always good to come back to a nice hot powerful shower. Most of the staff were friendly and those who speak flawless english were particularly helpful.

Location of this hotel is excellent as it was in the heart of all the happening places. It's very accessible to/from the train station which is a big boost. We arrived from Kyoto station and had all our luggages with us but took note of one tip from a fellow TA member who suggested using exit 15B at the train station where there was a lift. After that it was only a less than 5 minute walk to the hotel. Food is not a problem at all in this vicinity and we had our fair if not over-indulgence! It was also near this hotel that we came across a meat shop called Harijyu. They sell the most heavenly looking pieces of beef. We had them pack it in ice for us for the long flight home.

All in all, we had an excellent stay in Osaka, thanks largely to this hotel. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first time in osaka and I am so glad I listen to people on trip advisor. This hotel seriously was the best location for everything. Close to the jr namba station and the subway lines you can get everywhere not to mention it is in the most happening place in osaka and everything is right at your door. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size, bathroom was great, shower massive, and we when arrived we didn't expect there to be wifi because of previous reviews but that has changed and the rooms have free wifi, isn't not great but hey it keeps you connected which is good.
There are so many restaurants and things to do around this hotel you wonder how your going to fit it all in. If your looking for a change of pace and some amazing food there is a Mexican place about 5 minutes from the hotel called Am Boluz dos, and it is a very small place you have to walk down some stairs but the food is amazing! Definitely worth looking for if you want a change from ramen and street food.

Room Tip: Western room on a non smoking floor is the way to go, we staying on the top floor, 14, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cross Hotel Osaka was located just a block away from the popular neon-lit area of Dotonburi, so there is loads of bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk, not to mention great sight seeing and photo opportunities, especially at night. It's also just 5-10 minutes walk from Namba Station, which runs both JR and Metro subway lines, making it easy to access any part of the city from that station. The hotel staff are polite and check-in and check-out was quick and easy. Our room was adequately sized, and the bathroom was particularly generous by Japanese standards. The bedding was exceptionally comfortable, and unlike in some other hotels, we were not cooked to death by pre-set heating overnight! It was a clean, comfortable stay and I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: It's in a busy part of town, so possibly rooms on higher floors are less effected by street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are planning to visit Osaka and are looking for a hotel, look no further than the Cross Hotel. Very well located for business, leisure (shopping and dining) this is the perfect place. I have used the hotel twice now and can report that the bedrooms are large, very comfortable and quiet. The restuarant for breakfast is great - the buffet provides extensive food choices both Japanese and Western. The room rate is not cheap but not expensive, around $90/night. Well worth while trying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#8 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#15 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.