We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Osaka!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cross Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Cross Hotel Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Osaka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This review is long overdue yet well-deserved by the hotel in question. Guys, if you hate walking but the wifey loves shopping, you won't find a better located hotel in all of Osaka.
Look for Daisuke at the front desk. He's very efficient and helpful with advice :)

Firstly, the hotel has a modern design with a predominance of reds and blacks (vampire glam, some may call it) which some may hate but others will appreciate. Everything is CLEAN though, as in spotless. The rooms in contrast, are an angelic white and though small, everything has its place. Think luxury cabin on the Space Shuttle :) Beds are comfy and the showers are a joy to use, plus, you WILL be tempted to bring home the smart toilet!

Secondly, the hotel faces Midosuji Blvd, which means you wake up to a semi-busy yet tree-lined street. Now, as I mentioned earlier, location, location, location. Just BEHIND the hotel though is the main shopping area in Osaka, the extremely long Shinsaibashisuji. The wifey and/or you can shop for days to your hearts content. Just
BESIDE the hotel is the main eating area, the restaurant packed Dotonbori. You'd need at least a month to try all of them! Our recommendations include any place with Okonomiyaki and the noodle houses with the dragon on top :) Skip the wagyu, you'll go broke filling your belly! Don't bother with the free buffet breakfast either, go out! Enjoy!

Only problem is, with all the temptations being in a 5-15 minute walking radius, we didn't feel the need to explore any other part of the city. It was only when we took the shuttle to the airport on our 6th and last day that we realized how big Osaka actually was! Oh well, have to go again, I guess... ;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    236
    62
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
234
95
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We also stayed at the Swissotel on our last night in Osaka and we wished we had stayed at the Cross Hotel instead! The Cross Hotel is clean, modern, new and the design is very cool. The standard double room is small but big/comfortable enough to chill out in when you need a break from all that shopping! The location is fabulous for food, shopping and an easy walking distance from Namba Station. Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The hotel is brand new, lobby is small but they are extending it. Breakfast excellent! The rooms are nice but small if you have 2 big luggage and 2 handbags. The bathroom is huge! it has shower and bathtub and they even provide a plastic stool! Which is great specially when you convert the bathroom into a steam room! Great for the skin and for colds since i was sick at that time. The toilet is sepreate from the shower room, so you can do toielt and brish your teeth without disturbing your roomate who is taking a shower.. The toielries giveways are very helpful. Shiseido is the brand they use for liqued soup, shampoo, conditioners, pretty cool! Hotel dont have Wifi and cant use your ipad inside the room, need laptap as they only have LAN connection. The location SUPER GREAT for shoppers! in the middle of shopping! Front street are lined up with branded shops like Prada, LV etc and the back street are lined up with local & international brands! Also with second hand stores! Imagine you can buy a HERMES BIRKEN so easy! Lots of restaurants, cake shops, noodle house and more. A haven for shoppers!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel was quite easy to find from the train station about a 10min walk. When we checked in they told us they didnt have a double room available which is what i booked so they put us in a twin room and gave us complimentary breakfast for both mornings.
The room was quite large to what i was expecting and the single beds were larger then your standard single which was nice. It's very modern and the toilet seats are heated!!
The breakfast buffet is your standard hotel stuff with eggs and bacon, weird asian food and plenty of muffins and sweets. I'm glad we didnt pay for breaky cause it was a bit average for our liking. The staff were very helpful and could speak english very well.
I would definitely stay here again if ever in Osaka.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This place was great, big brand new rooms, huge bathroom, great location (in the middle of the shopping district). The only thing that let it down was the no internet, no computers or wi-fi. They do have cables if you happen to bring your laptop.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Cross Hotel, Osaka for three nights in February 2011. We were visiting Osaka from Tokyo to eat out and shop. The hotel was perfect for both of these. It is located next to Dotomburi, the nightlife and eating centre of Osaka and there were a wide variety of restaurant within 200 metres of the hotel - the crab restaurants that Dotomburi is famous for as well as Okanomiyaki, Takoyaki and a range of Izakayas.

In addition, there was every famous brand name shops as well as some of Japan's famous Department stores such as Daimaru within the vicinity (and for tech freaks there was even an Apple store 200 metres from the hotel).

The rooms were very clean and large for a Japanese hotel with a separate bathroom/shower and vanity room. The bedding was western and very good - no roughing it on the floor. The staff spoke very good English and checking in was easy and quick as was checking out. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough for anybody wishing to visit Osaka

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is a great hotel with a wonderful vibe. We booked the Cinema package as it was the last leg of our trip in Japan and just wanted a place where we could veg out for 3 days. The cinema package give you free on demand movies and a big screen TV. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge even by western standards, The rooms and public areas were beautifully decorated but ours looked a little tired(scuff marks, torn wallpaper) however it was still impeccably presented and clean. The day spa on level 5 gives great shiatsu. I had two of them a day after each other. The first one I got the lady was fantastic but the second was really ho-hum.
The hotel is in a great spot within Oaskas' shooping hub and easy access to the subway or the JR line if you want to walk about 15 mins.
My only gripe is that house keeping started cleaning rooms far too early. Like all japanese bathrooms, most are made of fibre glass and they started banging around in the bathroom next door really early, it was so loud it was like being in the bathroom with them, this woke us up. Im sure they could have started in another room being that our room had a "Do not disturb sign" on our front door. It was really annoying and detracted from an other wise great stay.
The toilets have got to be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0085, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.