We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universal Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Universal Port to your Saves list
Hotel Universal Port
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I won't come back to this hotel again. Worst check-in experience ever. They make their guests wait from 1 pm to 3 pm in the lobby whilst the receptionist said the room is actually ready but they won't give it to you unless you pay an additional 4,500 yen. No free bottled water even if you ask. The management, if they care at all, will say there is a boiler in the room. But do tourists always drink tap water? It's not about the money but you just don't feel welcome here. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ポート太郎, マーケティング at Hotel Universal Port, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing HOTEL UNIVERSAL PORT for your stay in Osaka. Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant stay with us. We take every commnent as a valuable advice, and strive to improve our service to provide guests a better stay experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    290
    54
    24
    11
See reviews for
417
115
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in July. My wife, son and myself. Extremely close to Universal Studios, a short boat ride takes you to the aquarium, and a quick train trip to downtown. Universal City Walk just around the corner with food and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for nine days in September 2013 , it is a very short walk from Universal Studios Japan and The Universal City Station , but by far the best priced , the rooms are large and very well equipped , the shops in the hotel are nice , though as in all hotels in Japan the TV channels selection is very poor if you are an English speaker .
The breakfast selection is nice , but there is no low fat milk , I hope they do correct this issue !
Room service selection is very poor .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and checked in. We had contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and asked for non feather blankets for the room. Unfortunately, this was not arranged but the hotel were very apologetic and gave us a voucher to use in the Rex Cafe and even some free gifts which was very nice of them since we didnt mind having to wait the extra couple of minutes.

The hotel was very well placed for Universal and the Osaka aquarium over the other side of the bay. We got a great deal on the price on the hotel's website and we enjoyed the themes within the hotel of the crocodile in the water in the lobby, the 'deep sea' elevators and the T Rex set out front. The breakfast at the cafe was nice and the rooms, while small, were pleasant and gave us a nice view. The fact that the hotel had movies shown on the TV was an added bonus for late at night and in the morning while getting ready. Even if it was Jaws on repeat!

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location very close to universal studio but rooms are too small, prices are high & excludes breakfast..
Breakfast is poor, not much of options & they have a cafe/bar with limited options.
At the check out time I had to load my bags in the taxi & the baggage handler was standing beside me & doing nothing!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ポート太郎, Marketing at Hotel Universal Port, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing HOTEL UNIVERSAL PORT for your stay in Osaka. We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us. Our restaurant serves about 80 kinds of dishes at breakfast buffet, and we do offer a package including breakfast, so please feel free to contact us if you have problems finding the best plan for your next stay. Please accept our apologies for being inconsiderate on your departure. We will do our utmost to retrain our staff so that you can have a great experience with us next time you visit us.
Thank you, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was by far the best value hotel I stayed in on my trip to Japan. The location was great: a short walk from Universal studios, and it was very easy to get to Kaiyukan (Osaka aquarium). The staff were very polite, and helped me obtain tickets to both the aquarium and Universal Studios there in the lobby (saves the long line at the doors), and told me exactly how to get to each place. The rooms and bathrooms were very spacious and clean. The wifi connection was excellent throughout the hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good, and left me well prepared for the day ahead. It was a lot cheaper than most hotels in central Osaka, and was A LOT BETTER. I wish I'd booked this hotel for the duration of my stay in Osaka. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is awesome. That's why it called "Universal" Port. After shopping I spent more than an hour staying at the lobby taking pics because it's really funny there. And the location is so good. It's near universal studios Japan and subway station. It takes less than five mins to these places. But it doesn't have any pool so weird. But it doesn't matter. And the port is just behind of the hotel. Good view!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Universal Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal Port

Address: 1-1-111 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0031, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Osaka
#15 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universal Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Universal Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Port Hotel
Universal Port Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Universal Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.