We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common spaces very nice and modern, rooms a little bit overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dojima Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dojima Hotel to your Saves list
Dojima Hotel
2-1-31 Dojimahama Kitaku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0004, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Common spaces very nice and modern, rooms a little bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Hotel is perfectly located, right in the center of Osaka, just 10 min walking from the Central Station. The outside and the common areas are very clean, modern and well mantained. However the rooms are a little bit disappointing. We took a corner room (middle range one) and it was small, not very tidy and with old moquette on the floor. The bathroom is ok, but still very small. The service has been quite good at the reception and at breakfast, even if a little bit slow. For us was a perfect 1 night stay, but if you plan to stay more, you probably can find better and more spacious room at the same price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
33
25
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the second time & it was nice but needs attention. Fashion hip type hotel with fun nice rooms. The entrance will confuse most. Don't go to the middle grand entrance, that goes to the restaurant. Enter on the left, go through the library, into the glass doors on the right, take the elevator to the second floor & check in there. Escalators are involved on your way out so watch out for that too. The cleaning crew made it a point to make allot of noise outside our room. We had the " do not disturb " sign on the door & that seemed to upset them. We got a call at 10AM from a man speaking only Japanese & then hanging up on me. Three minutes later another call this time from the front desk with an english speaking girl. She wanted to know when we were going to leave the room so they could clean it. I said I did not know & she went silent. The conversation got more awkward & she said they were not sure they could clean it then. Weird. I was just was lost in translation. I've never had a hotel bug me about a timetable for cleaning the room. Especially odd because almost all Japanese hotels are nice about not bugging you. This hotel has lost its shine & needs a new housekeeping crew. Will look for another hotel next time in Osaka.

Room Tip: One nice bonus is that you can open the windows in most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

It's hard to find real boutique hotels in Japan. Yes, I can agree with the other review that the rooms are small and that most of the staff don't speak English well. This is the case at ultra-luxurious establishments. This is the way it is in Japan - I guess I almost forgot since we've been here a while. We had the Dojima room with the sliding window to the bathroom. The room is small but again it's expected (in Japan). But, the staff was nice and friendly. The masseuse didn't speak English but I managed to get a decent but overpriced massage. It's in a pretty good location. There's a bakery downstairs which is quite good too.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We are not very interested in those so called "Boutique Hotel". Without the strong training program of an international hotel brand, we always wonder if we will be happy with the level of service even some of the places look super chic in magazines.

We chose this hotel because we could not find a hotel we like in Osaka and this place looks cool in the photos of their website. There are also some good reviews here. It was only for one night so we decided to check out this place.

We booked the Dojima Grand Room which features an open bathroom with a bathtub designed by Philippe Starck. When we actually saw the room, we were disappointed. It was rather small as the bathroom took up almost half of the space of the room. It was not a comfortable layout and the room was not as stylish as it was in the photos when we looked closely.

As we expected, there was problem with the software. Most staff seemed to have problem to communicate in English even though they were trying to be helpful. A guy spoke a little better but it was still difficult for us to understand what he was trying to say. To give an idea of the situation, the guy said "destruction" when he was, in fact, trying to say "description". We did not see any foreign guests during our visit so they may be serving mainly customers from local.

We were not happy with housekeeping too. For the price they charged for the room, we expected a turndown service like the other 5 stars hotels. However, we did not know if there was one. We knew the housekeeping came into our room as they fixed our bed the way we requested. However, the used towels had not been replaced. There was also no bottled water for the night and complimentary water is quite basic for most hotels now. They did put water into the "Amadana" boiler for us to make tea. However, we found dust in the water and we could not drink it.

Breakfast was served at The Diner and that was the only restaurant we visited. The meal was included in our room rate but it was not up to standard either. Again, the restaurant did not look as good as it was in the photo too.

We were glad that it was just for one night only.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor English Speaking Staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Sleek, uber-cool, chic, yet very relaxing hotel centrally located in Osaka. The rooms are great, the bathroom & bedroom can be opened up into one room, so whilst your better half relaxes in the bath you can lie out on the huge & very comfortable bed, idly flick through the channels on the large screen telly & chat about the day you have had in one of Japans best, & most gaijin friendly cities (not that I have experience anything else but friendliness, good manners & respect anywhere else in Japan, but Osaka is very cosmopolitan). The main bar & restaurant is great any time of the day & night, the staff are super helpful & friendly & the interior of the hotel stunning. The collection of books housed in the main entrance hall can keep you fixed for ages. Loved the whole feel of the place.

  • Liked — The look & feel of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

I just LOVE the Dojima Hotel in Osaka. It is totally out of this world. I have stayed there a couple of times and now wouldn't stay anywhere else in Osaka.

The rooms are so beautifully decked out with bathrooms that represent a pampering playground.

The bathroom can be opened up onto the bedroom, contains a wet room rather than just a shower, free standing bath tubs, a super hi-tech loo!! This hotel is just stunning.

The beds are huge.....the rooms are huge.,....kitted out with Bose stereo, the hotel is something special and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dojima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dojima Hotel

Address: 2-1-31 Dojimahama Kitaku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0004, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernity developed through the examination of essential truth.The Dojima Hotel renovation entails not just a surface that modernizes the old hotel, nor does it simply incorporate isolated artifacts from its past. The entirety of the hotel from inside and out is instead molded in a modern design that is both carefully selected and refined according to its period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Dojima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dojima Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dojima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.