We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-22 Shiromi Chuo-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 540-0001, Japan   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Room was small, and double bed was against a wall, so someone has to sleep against the wall. Room was big enough that it could have been arranged differently. Hotel is close to a rail station (three stops from OSaka station, but on JR line so rail pass worked) restaurants, a market, and starbucks. Unlike other places we have stayed in Japan, you have to pay extra to use the baths at this hotel - 1000 yen. It is a nice enough bath - separate mens and womens, indoor and outdoor, but would prefer it be included in the price. Staff was helpful and many spoke some English, which is not a given in Japan. They held to a 3:00 check in - so we had to leave our luggage when we arrived and walk around. If we were to visit Osaka again, we would likely look for a hotel closer to Osaka station.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    240
    83
    24
    4
See reviews for
165
92
92
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was probably the best of the three hotels I stayed at in Japan, its location was good (very close to rail transportation) and the room was about 50% bigger than the other hotel rooms I'd stayed in. I arrived at Osaka Kansai Airport and bought a 4-day Kansai Wide Area Pass for the JR (Japanese Railway) – 7200Yen and it allowed unlimited travel for 4 consecutive days including the Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama.
The hotel is connected via a long walkway over a river to the Kyobashi JR station on the Osaka Loop line. To get here from Kansai Airport use either airport train (express or rapid) to Tennoji then use the Osaka Loop line to Kyobashi. At Kyobashi follow the signs for West Exit and Business Park , the hotel is near the end of the under-covered walkway, across the water on the Business park side - approx 300m.
Check-in was quick and efficient and I was given room 2133, a larger than normal room with queen bed, TV, desk, fridge, kettle (actually it was a big dispenser flask with push-down top), wired and wireless internet and bathroom with usual WC, washbasin and bath/shower. There is an ice machine and drinks can dispenser by the elevators.
The rooms were very clean and quiet although the view out the window was to an inner-balcony which connected all the rooms (somewhat reminiscent of a Motel), I'm not sure if this made me feel secure (in case of a fire) or insecure (in case of a burglary).
I can't really comment the hotel's suitability to Osaka's subway system as I spent my days using the JR lines going to Okayama, Hijemi and Kyoto (you need at least 2 days here).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay was generally fine. The rooms were not small and very clean. Although the hotel was very close to the train station and subway, it was far away to the city centre than we thought. You have to change the train at subway to get to the centre. We have stayed 4 nights but could not use spa. They close it at about 10 pm. The supermarket next to entrance was useful. As a last comment no kettle was available in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

why did I give HMLO an excellent rating??

Well, I spent rather a long time studying reviews from fellow travelers in Trip advisor, and wasn't over-expecting. I chose HMLO due to its modest cost for my family holiday a 20 yr old son and 13 yr old little madam in tow).

A number of comments such as rude staff, cleanliness, and location popped-up. I have no idea where these folk stayed, but it can't have been this Monterey (there are 3 in Osaka, which confuses taxi drivers).

Poor English? Come on; duh, you're in Japan. I never faced any communication issues, even with my zero Japanese. Even the old geezer on reception, who seems hesitant to answer, managed ok, and his colleagues chipped-in

Rude? You must be joking. Even the room cleaners bowed to me and greeted me as I passed them merrily working. Sheesh....show me any American or European hotel where "rude" staff bow to you !????

cleanliness? Hey, my wife is a cleanliness freak, and she said this was the cleanest hotel ever. We have stayed in 100s of hotels.....

So, anyhow

Location
------------
Just 5 mins from JR Kyobashi under covered walkway.to get from Kansai, take the JR line, change to the JR loop at Tennoji on platforms 11/12, exit JR Kyobashi. Look for the yellow sign for "West Gate"...JR stations are badly designed, there's mostly no common concourse, so you might get lost going up and down escalators. Out of the West exit, enter the walkway on the left of 711, to the end, then left. If you want the subway, exit to Twin 21 towers going away from the river, closest is Osaka Business Park, About 10 mins walk. Keihan railway station is past Starbucks in JR Kyobashi, best way to get direct to Kyoto for only Y470, no messing about changing like JR, and they leave every 10mins or so. Osaka castle is only 15 mins walk.for food, McDonald's, subway and a few places in Twin 21. Pretty well connected; why stay in Shinsaibasho, it would be suffocating after a while

Property
======
Small lobby, 6 quick lifts, neat corridors and with drink vending machines and ice on each floor

rooms
=====
Size is decent enough, duh, this is Japan. Polished spotless wooden floor, desk, smallish 32inLED with only Japanese channels. Great views of the city, we were on 21 facing the YTV station. Beds are typically Japanese firm, but not rock hard; I don't have a great back for hard mattresses, but slept soundly. Clean white duvets, pillows average, but funny Japanese ones with rice or pebbles on the back side, so you can't flip them over after dribbling. Small wardrobe; fridge, kettle etc.

Bathroom
========
One of those pre-fab ones, quite small. Shower over bath with piping hot water and precision mixer taps. Loo with a fangled seat which auto flushes time to time, squirts and fumigated your rear. Tons and tons of decent free toiletries, and impeccably clean. Aside from the size, perfect

Service
=======
As mentioned, basic English in reception, no queues, always willing to assist me with any questions or directions. A pleasure to be served by them. Room cleaners are super efficient and perfectionists

Overall,...I would highly recommend, and you can get some fantastic deals online

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

quick and appropriate service, reception counter offer very good guidance service when we had some specific needs, excellent room cleaning service, location is convenient for traffic, hotel kept promise when we joined environmental protection program, but limited choice in breakfast meal offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The accommodation is very good. Hotel room is just enough for 3 persons but still allows enough space for other things. Room is very clean.

Hotel front desk personnel are accommodating and speaks english.

Location is good since its connected to the JR Kyobashi station. Perfect for those with JR rail pass.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Excellent breakfast and SPA; Hospitality showed by staff; Comfortable room facilities in connection with faverable price; Excellent Location for Sight-seeing to Kyoto and Nara by JR; Quiet Envirenment for sleeping




  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka

Address: 2-2-22 Shiromi Chuo-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 540-0001, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#16 Family Hotel in Osaka
#28 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#33 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey La Soeur Osaka
Monterey La Soeur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.