We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Tatami and Onsen Experience at Budget Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kuramoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kuramoto to your Saves list
Hotel Kuramoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-7 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Please check our website!
Ranked #142 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Tatami and Onsen Experience at Budget Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Don't be put off by the smoky lobby and 1980s lighting. This was a great, sizeable hotel room with a lovely public bath to boot. Matcha is provided in the room. Good size TV. We knocked a star off for damage to some of the paper panels. But overall, this is just what we were looking for. Thanks also to the friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Me and my friend spent few nights at hotel kuramoto since our original hotel had to relocate us due construction work.

The hotel has old look and feel to it and the lobby seemed little bit intimidating at first due the smell of people smoking cigarettes like there was no tomorrow. Luckily, that was only our first impression of the hotel.

Our traditional japanese style room was very spacious and had all the necessary items available that you need from a room (safe, good wifi, comfortable tatami to sleep etc.) You can also order a massage to the room if you need something like that.

Im addition, kuramoto has a simple public bath for you to use. Nothing relaxes you more than a hot bath after a long day at Osaka.

The location is very good. Dotombori and Shinsaibashi suji are literally right next to the location and there is Den Den town 5min walk away for anime and otaku goods. The location also means that there are loads of places to eat and of course, you can take a subway to get where ever you might want to go.

Overall it was a good experience. However, don't expect anything too fancy. It is an old hotel, with old feel to it but it is a good place for you to crash.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and this was one of the worse hotel I've ever been: room very small, overpriced, stinky, humid, super small tatami and in general everything looks old and badly maintained. We stayed in Kyoto in a fabulous hotel with a room double the size and superclean for the same money. To avoid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Kuramoto for 2 nights in March 2013. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. They have limited English, but a little Japanese from our side and we were all able to understand each other enough.

The room was traditional tatami matting and futons, and was very large by the standards we are used to in Japan. There was also a small table and floor chairs. A personal touch was the tea produced by the owners of the hotel themselves which was delicious. The bathroom was small but perfectly fine and clean. There was wifi available free of charge in the lobby and cable internet in the rooms.

Although the room was a non-smoking room, outside the room was a vending machine and ashtray, so often outside our room was very smoky and this would come into the foyer section of the room. If we kept the door between the foyer and main room closed this didn't cause a problem, but if you are particularly sensitive to smoke you may find it irritating.

Overall, I would stay at Hotel Kuramoto again if I was in Namba. The price is reasonable for a good sized room in such a prime location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Difficult to rate a place not knowing the market in same city. I believe 120$ per night in Osaka in good, especially if the location is excellent, the staff really nice and willing to help, the equipment working very well in the room.
This is on the simple side. I was in room 605, supposedly a double room for single use. I suppose this is by Japanese standards. Two North Americans would really have found themselves tight. Was OK for one.
At the time that the maid was cleaning other rooms on the same floor, I took a look at other rooms. They were way bigger, although the price certainly was different. ( 601, 606 and 607 are bigger and nicer ).
This is tatami room, very clean. Tiny bathroom, but very clean. Equipment works very well, so it worked for me.
Not for romance, though ( again, too small for two ).
Hot coffee in vending machines downstairs was very handy and actually very tasty.
Internet was working only in the lobby ( wifi). Perhaps it would have worked in the room with a cable ( as mentioned in the advertisement), but I had not brought a cable with me.
Limited English but good will very much there, so all my requests were granted.

Room Tip: enquire about room number and surface of the room, especially if you are not going alone. A room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Three nights with my wife, 2 y/o baby girl and her 7 y/o brother ...
December 2012, three beds rooms at 5th floor ...

It is very convenient;

Appropriate price, can even say it's quite cheap in Japan.

The people were very nice and polite, sometimes it feel
awkward because they are much more senior than us..

Very clean room, comfortable and cozy,
very usefull short tables and chairs,
well-functioning heating.

First time staying at a tatami room and loved it,
theres no bad smell, nice and comfy beds.

Pretty good bathrooms with small bathtub,
24hours high-pressure hot water.

Location is so perfect, plenty of places to eat,
coin laundry is just right next to the hotel,
located in the middle of two train station;
Nipponbashi and Nagahoribashi and to get to
the station, you can just walk along the Sakai-suji street.
Even the Dotonbori, place to shops and eats, its just
10 minute walk from the hotel. <-- Glico is here ;)


If I visit Osaka again, I would definitely go back to stay at this hotel :)


Just a little suggestion, maybe a small area when we entered the bedroom after passing the bathroom that are currently filled by the useless two small sofas and little tables can be replaced with a space to store suitcases and a coat hanger. So the bedroom atmosphere will be more spacious and it will be more hangers available. And it will be a place for our baby stroller ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I spent 1 night with my partner at Kuramoto in late February. The place was very clean and felt very authentically Japanese style-ed. Yukata was provided for those who wish to experience traditional Japanese clothing. Although the clothing was not brand-new, it smelled very fresh and felt very comfortable. Our room was equipped with a private bathroom, but the hotel itself offers a Japanese-style bath room at ground floor. For those who wish to experience how a Japanese bath house works - try it out! The bathroom was very clean and the water was very clear. It was very relaxing for both of us since it was after a long day of walking. Food was great! One of the ladies sat by us and grilled takoyaki (grilled octopus cakes) while talking to us.

The owner is Japanese but speaks basic English, there's also an elevator in the hotel for those that might be carrying large luggage.

I would really recommend this hotel to family or couples!!!!

日本に6ヶ月を留学して、勉強が終わると観光客として、彼氏と二日間くらもとに泊まりました。くらもとのみんなはすごく親切で楽しく一夜を過ごしました!
部屋は非常に綺麗だし、晩御飯はすごく美味しいし、大変満足しました!
日本に留学生として、日本のみんなのおかげですごく幸せな生活を過ごしました。
そして、くらもとのみんなのおかげで、私が日本にいる最後の日に素晴らしい時を過ごして本当にありがとうございました!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kuramoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kuramoto

Address: 2-11-7 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kuramoto 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kuramoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramoto Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kuramoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.