We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views that almost make up for the crappy rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osaka Baytower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Osaka Baytower to your Saves list
Hotel Osaka Baytower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-1 Bentencho, Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0007, Osaka Prefecture (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Kobe, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing views that almost make up for the crappy rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The main thing about this place is the views. They're amazing. Whichever direction your room is facing you'll have a great view you could sit and gaze at for half an hour. Another great thing about this hotel is the location, right by a major JR and subway station. However the rooms themselves are not great. They feel old and are in need of renovation, but as with most Japanese hotels they are perfectly clean.

There's nothing in the immediate area but it's easy to get to all the major sites. I'd say if you can get a good deal and don't mind being out of the main area, you'll enjoy this place if just for the views!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    205
    76
    12
    11
See reviews for
111
90
61
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The view is the main point here - it was an incredible view of the city from up on the 50th floor. The hotel was also conveniently located right by a subway station which made things a lot easier. The room was not top class, but this was compensated for by the view. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, again with a great view in both directions (harbor, or city view).

I would say that the hotel is mildly overpriced for what you are getting, but we still enjoyed staying here very much.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our reason for staying at this hotel was our daughter was working at Universal Studios Japan, we wanted to visit her and this was the nearest hotel that we could find to USJ. Our success in choosing hotels for ourselves in the past had been mixed so we were a little apprehensive about what we would find. We needn’t have been. Our transfer from the airport by ‘Airport Limousine’ (coach) was impeccable. We were dropped at Tempozan (where the Ferris wheel and the aquarium is) and we asked a man at the little coach depot box how we could get to our hotel. He directed us to Osakaco underground station. When we arrived there we found the station to be up a big flight of stairs and because we had loads of luggage (mainly the shipping order from our daughter), we decided to take a taxi as they were parked just across the road.

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly hotel commissionaire who helped us into the hotel with our bags and to the desk. She was really friendly and was very interested in the reason for our visit. She had become a friend for the remainder of our visit and continued to greet and talk to us each time she saw us. We regret not asking her name.
Check in was very smooth and fast and the commissionaire loaded our bags onto a trolley and took them up to our room. Arriving at the room she showed us in and started to bring our bags in. I attempted to carry the heaviest bags in but she insisted on bringing them in herself. I offered a tip but she would not accept it – I found out later that it is not the custom to expect tips in Japan.

Our room, 4609 must have had the best view in Osaka. Everything was impeccably presented. Equipment included a kettle/flask, 2 cups, fridge, hairdryer and a curious toilet seat that would also wash your bum! (We didn’t gather enough courage to try this). Also in the room were slippers and robe. Each day the maid replaced these, along with all towels whether we had used them or not. She also changed the bedding and cleaned the room daily, leaving us a little note each day to inform us that she had cleaned it.
The hotel was convenient for both JR Trains and the ‘Underground’ stations. Each was within five minutes walk from the hotel, mainly under covered walkways. We had purchased a ‘JR Pass’ whilst in England – you cannot buy one if you are already in Japan so we found the easy access to be very convenient. The hotel was also convenient for shops, restaurants and the Post Office, which we needed to get cash from the cash machine.

During our stay we climbed Mt Fuji. We told the receptionist at the desk that we would not be in our room that night because we would be waiting for the sunrise on Fuji. When we returned the following late afternoon, our commissionaire and all of the reception staff congratulated us – it felt wonderful.

We did not try the food at the hotel because our daughter and her friends insisted on taking us to different places that she had been to during her five-month stay. I am sure that this would also have been impeccable though it seemed to be fairly expensive.
This was a fantastic experience which we hope to repeat. We would change nothing about the travel or hotel. We would encourage anyone to visit Japan. The people are so kind and helpful and we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

This is the third time in Japan. I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. I chose this hotel because Ithink that the hotel room would be big and it is cheaper compare to other hotels in the same grade. The room that I booked was Semi-double type for two people. The size of the room was 22 sq. m. which was okay but the bed was so small, only 140 cm in width. We can only stayed there for two nights and then upgrade to the standard twin room which was a bit bigger by pay 4620 yens more per nights. I found out later that the hotel website will get the lowest price, alot lower! The best thing about this hotel was that the view of the hotel was very nice. I don't konw about the food because we didn't eat there. The lcation was also good, there are JR and subway station nearby. However, ther aren't any attraction nearby in the walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Osaka Baytower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osaka Baytower

Address: 1-2-1 Bentencho, Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0007, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#23 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osaka Baytower 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Osaka Baytower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytower Hotel Osaka
Osaka Baytower Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Osaka Baytower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.