We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and considerate amenity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dotonbori Hotel to your Saves list
Dotonbori Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 269 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location and considerate amenity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is unbeatable, everything are just next door. Within 5 mins, you can walk to the shopping areas, subway stations, train stations. It is so convenient. Also, the hotel amenity are very good, the body soap and shampoo are Shesido, free wifi, free, free drinks (coffee and tea) at the lobby. The staff were also very helpful. The only drawback is the room is pretty small but can't complaint as we were in Japan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you had enjoyed our hotel and our services.
As you found out, our hotel is located in the very convenient and good place for the business person and tourists.
We are sorry,as you mentioned our rooms are actually quite small.However, we are trying to make your stay more comfortable and interesting with our hearty services.Anyway, we appreciate very much your understanding.

Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    188
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
167
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel puts a lot of thought into pleasing the customers, starting with the wonderful lounge - free drinks, massage chairs, internet access and relevant and helpful brochures. When you check in, they will also provide a folder with tips for shopping and eating in the vicinity and how to get around Osaka. An example of how thoughtful they were was when they were about to clean the room (could hear housekeeping) but they called my room to check when it would be a better time.

Keep in mind that the single room has very little floor space, so pack light! The room was also well-equipped but furnishings are a little dated (parquet floor!) Also, don't expect a much of view; my window overlooks 2 love hotels (which are concentrated in the Dotonbori area).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying us.
Our original guide book has much information,we hope it was useful for your trip.

As you mentioned our rooms are actually quite small.However, we are trying to make your stay more comfortable and interesting with our hearty services.
Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed 4 nights here with my family and the overall experience was excellent. The hotel staffs are friendly and we love the free Ramen, free flow of red wines and beer provided at the lobby every night, 10pm. If you are adventurous, just rent a bicycle at no cost and start cycling around or even farther, you will see something different that most of the tourist don't see. The hotel room is small, bath room is small and basically there is no much space left after you put in your luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us.
The free lental bicycle is one of our most popular services.

As you mentioned,our rooms are quite small,it cannot be denied.However we are always trying to make guests feel comfortable and enjoyable with various services.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Female guests will receive a complimentary bag of beauty essentials and guests will also receive a set of key chains featuring the 4 unique statues of their front facade. The lobby also has free beverages from vending machine, massage chair and computers with printers for use. There is also free IDD calls to any country for the first 5 mins.They even invited a sushi master to demonstrate for us in the hotel lobby and we had fresh sashimi complimentary from the hotel after that! For all the great service and perks we receive, we are more than willing to overlook the extremely small room size (difficult to even open your luggage) and tiny toilet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our seivices.

We all the staffs are always trying to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.Our seasonal events are always renewed.And fortunately,the key chains of four statues are sold out.They were so popular.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for 5 days, we truly appreciate the way they handle their guests. The front desk personnel are very accommodating and friendly. We loved their freebies such as candies, coffee, tea, water, cotton candy and free international calls. The 3 massage chairs in the lobby is very helpful in relaxing after a very tiring day, the hotel should add more.Every 10:30 pm they served very delicious hot noodles. The room is very clean with soft bed and pillows, but quite small which I think is a standard in a Japanese hotel. They provide guest with unlimited Shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash with a very good scent. Ask the reception area for free postcard with your picture on it or their ready made postcard. Every Wednesday at 10:00 am, they offer free used of Kimono and have your photo taken by them for free. It's very near to lots of restaurants and shopping area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our seivices.

We all the staffs are always trying to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very old with noisy air con and very small bathroom. Although the service and location are good, I am still quite disappointed at the condition of the hotel. I stayed one night at the other hotel: daiwa roynet osaka, and frankly I was much more satisfied than Daiwan than Dontonburi.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Dotonbori Hotel for this visit to Osaka this time.
And we appreciate very much for your comments.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the hotel and disappointed.
As you pointed out, it cannot be denied that the hotel is old and rooms are rather small.
However, we are always trying to make the guests feel comfortable and enjoyable with various services.
And the hotel is now carring out renovation works of the rooms little by little, although the size of the rooms cannot be changed.......

Anyway, thank you very much for your opinion, valuable feedback.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the hotel.

We enjoyed the hotel quite much mainly because the location is great as the hotel is very close to Namba station, Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi.

However, the toilet is quite small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hope you had enjoyed the stay in our hotel and in Osaka.

We will continue to strive to satisfy the customersin the future.
Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Vista Grande Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#31 of 269 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka Uehonmachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dotonbori Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dotonbori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.