We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dotonbori Hotel to your Saves list
Dotonbori Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0071, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The actual location of this hotel is just nice. Near to all restaurants at Dotonbori, shopping area etc. Small room & bathroom but sufficient for us. We stayed in the room with extra pillar... the pillar is not solid, it is empty inside. explore it... :-p

overall is good to stay there especially near to subway & train station. however, it may be tough if you have huge luggage because need to takes some staircase to reach subway stations.

Room Tip: Room with pillar can stay 3 adults or 2 adults + 2 kids... worth for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your experience in our hotel.
We are very pleased you had a comfortable stay in our hotel.
As you mention, the rooms are not so big nor wide,
so alternatively, we are always trying to meet the needs of our guests as much as possible,
and make the stay more pleasant fot the guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Thank you
Uro / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    177
    42
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
158
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

On 24th Dec 2013, after arriving earlier than expected from Kyoto and it was unexpectedly the front receptionist was very accommodating by allowing us to check - in, despite a peak season on Christmas eve. We like the hotel facilities of free flow of light meal F&B at lobby, which obviously it foster interaction amongst hotel guest from other countries and also not to mentioned the massage chair provided. Also would like to record our appreciation to YAMADA San for assisting my wife to call and check with few outlets to enquire a specific brand/ model shoe that she has been looking for, since the past one week in Takayama and Kyoto. With his assistance on all the checking and obtaining information...finally we manage to got it at Umeda area. Once again THANKS a lot to you YAMADA San. To All team members you deserve a two thumbs up... Keep it up. Otherwise of the room size concerns we would still extend recommendations! Simon Cheng, Room 824 & 825

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Most of our hotel guests are from foreign countries, as you have mentioned.
This is why we take our time to help the guests to have the best possible trip in Japan.
I was glad to help you find the particular shoes you were looking for.
You seemed to have a great time in Japan.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The price-service is cost effective. I think they nearly provide the best service under the price and the available facilities, as you cannot expect 5-star room capacity and 5-star facilities with the price. Although the room (including the restroom) is a little bit small, it is clean and well cleaned everyday. Also, there seems to be an air cleaner in each room, and other air cleaners at each floor. The free drinks offered at 1F are thoughtful, and washing rooms at other floors are clean. Lawson is only 4m away from the front door. The most attractive thing to me is that many staffs are able to speak fluent Chinese (at least one at a time), since I am a Taiwanese come from Taipei.

Thus, of course Dotonbori hotel would be one of my best choices, when I visit Osaka again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you had a comfortable stay in our hotel.

We are always trying to meet the needs and wishes of our guests as much as possible,
so please do not hesitate to contact us.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Thank you
Uro / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is really saved by its helpful attentive hardworking and English speaking staff as well as its location. When we complained that the room was too hot (due to central heating), the staff provided a cooler within minutes. When I asked that our luggage be stored for a couple of hours, a staff was instantly on hand with tags before I could finish my sentence. Location-wise, the crossing of Midosuji dori gets you to Dotonbori (Ganko sushi/Sushizanmei/katsu kushi etc), and Shinsaibaishi (Daimaru food hall/Ganko sushi & tonkatsu/daiso). The hotel is also within walking distance of Doguya (cookware shops) and Kuroman Market (Sanpei has nice reasonably priced sushi, sashimi, crabs, scallops etc) . Other than the pluses of its staff and location, this is a rather old hotel. While clean and maintained, it is also worn and the reception hall looks untidy and crowded because so much is happening there (multi-coloured chairs, cultural activity, coffee vending area, computer usage etc). The room is certainly clean and looks like its been recently refurbished though the choice of shiny peach coloured wallpaper and cherrywood coloured floor dates the place and gives it a jaded feel. The bathroom is also old, yellowed and very small. I do like the shower head though. It has a button that allows you to turn off the water instantly without fiddling with the taps. Hotel guests are also well supplied with amenities - coffee making facilities (though the pot is really small), shower towels, free wifi. etc. We also used and liked the laundry facilities. While I completely appreciated the efforts of staff and management and do not consider the SGD125 per night I paid to be unreasonable, this hotel really needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed in our hotel and for your comments.
Our hotel is a little bit old and the rooms are rather small as you might find.
Instead, we are always trying to meet the needs of the guests providing our hearty services.

The hotel is now planning to refurbish the rooms next year,
so when you come to Osaka again, please choose our hotel and enjoy the comfort.

We are looking forward to your next visit in the future.
Thank you very much.
Uro / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were impressed when we arrived at about 10am with our room ready, definitely didn't expect this in a very popular hotel and city. Location, as mentioned many times is superb, close to the action and transport facilities. When you are in Osaka, you have got to stay in Namba. Another thing that impressed us in this hotel are the small little things (that don't really cost the hotel a lot of money) e.g. free coffee, tea, ice, provided for the guest, without being asked for. They even have free Asahi beer and tempura on Tuesday afternoons and a luggage weighing scale on each floor. They have massage chairs in the lobby which we didn't use as we were out most of the times. This is definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in in Japan. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed in our hotel and for your comments.
We are very pleased you had a comfortable stay in our hotel.

Here in our hotel, we are trying to meet the needs of the guests providing such as free coffee and tea, free Japanese noodles 'Ramen' and beer at night, 5-min. free phone call, and rental bicycle, and so on.
So when you come to Osaka again, please choose our hotel and enjoy all these services.

We are looking forward to your next visit in the future.
Thank you very much.
Uro / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in Single standard room.
Staff is really considerate to help me check-in earlier than 3pm. Many freebies.
Provide bamboo plank to massage feet after hours of walking & shopping in Namba area. (Like!)
I used the free bicycle rental service, it was a good experience cycling around Namba.
There is also free photo-turn-postcard service. Leaves me with good memories.
Really near to Namba subway station (super easy to get around Osaka, Shinsaibashi Shopping streets, Dotonbori River Cruise, Americamura and more..
Recommended for city lovers!

Room Tip: choose non-smoking room if available or you will smell cigarette smoke all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.

Although many free bees are provided , free photo-turn-postcard service is our original one and is very popular with the guests.
We do hope every guest will have a photo -turn -postcard with good memories.

Thank you again the kind words and positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Dotonbori Hotel.

Reception
Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Shower curtains in non smoking room smelled like cigarettes. However, that really was the only negative aspect. The room was dated but clean. As others have mentioned, the location of the hotel is superb, close to eateries, shopping, and nightlife. The staff are attentive and kind. The extra amenities mentioned in other reviews, as well as conveniences like free computer/printer stations and luggage scales make this hotel a very good value and set this hotel above others of its class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed in our hotel and for the comments about the hotel and services.
We hope you had a comfortable stay.

We, hotel staff are always trying to meet the needs of the guests,
and waiting for your visit again in the near future.

Thank you and best regards
Uro / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0071, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dotonbori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.