We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metro 21 Osaka” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro The 21

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metro The 21 to your Saves list
Metro The 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-13 Souemon-cho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
3.5 of 5 stars 87 Reviews
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
10
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

agree with the amazing location just metres from the hub of downtown strolling - the world's ?longest covered shopping arcade, the 2km Shinsaibashi-suji, and the similar Dohtenbori and canal. Shops seem to open from around 10am to around 930pm - maybe different on weekends, and you'll find typically 10,000 strollers around 530pm, thinning to only a few thousand around closing time - great people watching, shopping including 100 yen (around $1) stores, and places to eat.

Maybe avoid the 'all you can eat for Y1900 male, Y1250 female' or somesuch Sushi place in the middle of the mall popular with Korean tourist groups - very limited choice and quality, we felt obliged to wade through 30 odd plates just to get payback, but didn't enjoy it.

Only negatives - as non-smokers we didn't like the stench of cigarette smell in our room (so book a non-smoking room in advance), which was tiny (with 2 feet to spare on 2 sides of the double bed against two walls + ensuite bathroom/corridor) but quiet enough - only heard a couple of sirens the first night. And I hadn't expected the late-night bar action in the facing street which attracted young Western men looking for Japanese girls, some of which were for sale, including I guess the one seated outside the hotel who called 'hello' to me as I was returning. Despite being slightly disturbed by this, as it was Japan, we never felt unsafe.

we paid around US$100 per night breakfast included which was OK - as far as I could tell we were the only westerners in the hotel which had lots of Koreans staying.

In all - recommended for the memorable location just metres from 2 days worth of shopping !

  • Liked — central location just metres from the mail promenade/shopping arcade in town
  • Disliked — cigarette smell in room, prostitutes/bar touts in the street outside at night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

The main attraction of this hotel is its amazing location which is in the heart of the action. The train station a few minutes walk from the hotel. The room itself was small but very clean and comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We arrived in OSAKA at Kansai and made our way to NAMBA STATION; it's not the closest but it is the easiest. We got in a cab that was one of 8763723475 others we could have hailed. It took longer than desired but it was very close.

When you don't have your bags it's an eight minute walk, and there is a closer station but it is not on the airport train line (5 minutes walk is Nipombashi Station is the closest).

The Metro 21 Hotel is located on the DOTONBORI which is a famous haunt for food. In fact I ate so much around the hotel it was crazy. The hotel was just one block east of Dotonbori, that is in the club / red light district but don't let that put you off. The location is fantastic.

By day the place is a quiet area but by night it is a very busy area. it just swells with all the people. Bikes and people and cars mix it easy in the slow moving traffic.

The staff were helpful but the absence of a place to sit in the foyer at night was rather odd. The staff wh\ere very willing to either talk in English or at least try and if none of the above give maps and helpful tips via pen and map.

The room was a big as my wardrobe, but this is normal in Japan. The bed was against the wall and a small double. The bathroom was a lot like one you would find on a boat. It was like walking into a capsule. It had a short but very deep bath and the water pressure was excellent.

There was a RJ45 cable sticking out of the wall and there was free internet on tap if you have a laptop. The connection was VERY fast. I was downloading 3 mb per second in the morning but only almost 1 at night. Be warned the cable that is avaliable to you is about 9 inches long ONLY.

If you are an active anti-smoking activist.. don't go to Japan. The room had the scent of heavy cigarette users in the past. Smoking is very popular and is allowed everywhere.

Although I was travelling with my pregnant wife and 2 year old the staff offered no help with any bags when we arrived. All staff were courteous except when I asked for info to get a hire bicycle I was told to walk, instead of instructions on how to get to a bike shop.

When I asked for a small cot or fold out , the answer was NO and that the child is free. I alway travel with a little self inflating matters for this reason. The staff was very happy to supply extra pillows and towels without hesitation.

Breakfast was included and was really very excellent with a variety of foods avaliable. EXCELLENT...

There was nothing wrong with the hotel but there was also nothing REALLY fantastic. I rate this hotel as above medium but also very good location and value.

In Osaka do go on food benders as the area is famous for this and was easily achieved. There was plenty of shopping, food and drinking establishments everywhere around the hotel.

Metro 21 Osaka.

Julian (Sydney, Australia)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — smoke smels everywhere
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This hotel was perfect for our stay in Osaka. We did have a little trouble finding the hotel originally (probably as we were overwhelmed - after arriving in Japan from a flight from australia and didn't arrive in Osaka until 11:30pm and we didn't have an english map of osaka) regardless we a lovely japanese couple walked us to the hotel door! After we had found our base and got maps (english) from the hotel lobby we were fine. no troubles finding our way back home to the hotel after that. It was very convienent for sight seeing and for subway and buses. walking distance to america mura and other attractions, 10 mins to Namba station, and almost in the midst of the Dotombori. Lots to eat, drink and see around the hotel.
Hotel itself was clean, comfortable and convenient. like all business hotels in japan toothbrush and toothpaste, hairbrush, shampoo, conditioner and bodywash are all provided free of charge. Yukata's (japanese style robe) provided as well!
There is a bar upstairs which is quiet and a bit boring ofor young people, but would be fine for a lone business man to have a quiet drink. we had a drink up there anyway as the views are really good, so in that respect its worth going up and having a few drinks.
Reasonably priced. i searched and searched hotels and prices in osaka before settling on Metro the 21 and it was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro The 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro The 21

Address: 2-13 Souemon-cho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro The 21 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Metro The 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro The 21 Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro The 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.