We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Coming directly from the Kyoto Monterey, the osaka Monterey was rather disappointing.
Condition: old, dark and not up kept
Neighborhood: though close to Osaka station (5min walk fm the Sakurabashi exit) it's next to the train tracks, can hear the trains going clearly
Rooms: small, dark, no English Channel TV
Overall: not worth the stay for the price paid

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    261
    104
    24
    6
See reviews for
87
97
107
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I got the hotel for a business trip on a 50% off website and based on that it was a great deal. It is a fairly new hotel designed in imitation European style even having a fake chapel for weddings The room I was given was very large by Japanese hotel standards and free high capacity wifi was great. Security is good with key card needed to get into the rooms on the floor. The only slight complaint is that even though I had an internal room, you could still hear the trains coming and going on the train track as the hotel is right next to the track and they do not seem to have done a great job at sound proofing, Still, overall given the nice big room and modern facilities I would stay here again especially if I can get a cheap deal, Make sure you get an internal room as I think the ones facing the train track would be a bit too noisy. It is close to Osaka JR station and walking distance to Umeda and Hakyu Umeda department store.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great find, especially with a 50% off sale on Hotels.com. The location is within easy walking distance from the Osaka train station and there are lots of conveniences nearby, including restaurants, the airport bus stop, shopping, etc. Although my room overlooked the train tracks and highway below - with the Osaka skyline beyond - it was very quiet. I also appreciate the nice, European-style décor, good lighting, and high-speed wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Natalia K,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We are thrilled that you like our architectural design, location and hotel amenities. Thank you for your kind compliments.
For your information, on our hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Monterey Osaka is part of the Monterey group that leans towards European style design (including very often a chapel -- but it is very secular place to stay). Expect some antique style lifts, especially the dial inside the elevator that tells you what floor it is moving towards. This hotel has a lot of wedding receptions because some Japanese like this Euro-Asian feel of the place. Book queen bed even if you are single, and you don't need to complain about small rooms. Service is very good -- I came one day in advance, dumped my luggage and next day when I checked in, my luggage was inside the room. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Osaka Central station (NOT shin-Osaka where the express trains stop -- you need to transfer to Osaka station). Location is conveniently 5 minutes from Herbis Plaza where you can take a bus to the airport for 1,500Yen.

Room Tip: Book a queen even if you are travelling solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading most of the reviewed here, we booked this hotel. My hubby, 2kids and I were happy to find the hotel just nice and exactly like the good reviewed in tripadvisor. The church in the middle of the lobby, the entranced, we didnt have any difficulty to get here.

Down stair there was supermarket and beauty supply store.. 10 minutes walked to shinsaibasai n Dotonburi a must place to see the crowd, find place to eat and shop..

About the tear and down review... We didnt see it bother us, everything was clean clean clean, nice toilet at the lobby, the hotel just feel warm.

This was the right hotel to stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Monterey is walking distance to JR trains and major shopping, dining areas; safe; clean (though feels a little tired); double rooms are very small (twin rooms are a little better); Reception staff are friendly enough; wifi is excellent..but, the trains are very audible; there's always a strong sewerage smell at ground level where you enter the hotel and once inside (probably not hotel's fault but unpleasant nevertheless).

We're staying 5 nights and using it as our base also for day trips to Kobe and Kyoto which are half an hour away on the JR Special Rapid service.

The downside is not an issue because we leave in the morning and return at night - by that time even the trains have just about stopped operating so we get a good night's sleep!

Also it's a few door up from the Hearton Hotel which has an inexpensive coin operated laundry available in the basement for non-Hearton guests as well. You may need to buy some washing detergent if you want extra clean, though it is supplied. If you're on the road for a while like us, this is the best discovery!

Good hotel at a good price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place that with convenient location, this is it.
My room with great panoramic view of Osaka. Really beautiful!!
Room is no doubt clean, but bathroom and bed is rather small.
But good enough for traveler like me.
Hotel staff understood my English, except i have to speak slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Despegar.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.